Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Labyrinth of the Minotaur

by cdunham - Jam Entry

WASD to move

Shift to sprint

The Minotaur will aim at the mouse

Every year, 14 people go into the labyrinth. Your goal is to hunt them down to get points while being hunted by Theseus.

If you enjoyed this game, I have 3 other games that you can play! Check them out on my itch page :D http://cdunham.itch.io/

I also use Twitter a lot to post about game updates and stuff, so if you're into that then check that out too! https://twitter.com/ColeDunham

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#597Theme(Jam)3.37
#654Fun(Jam)2.89
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#775Mood(Jam)2.77
#854Innovation(Jam)2.56
#940Graphics(Jam)2.37

Comments

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Interesting idea, I quite like the mythology roots, but it seems a little too difficult. Or I'm bad at games. Looks quite nice, but could probably do with some way to have extra lives

cdunham says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02pm

@mincrmatt12 Thanks for the suggestion :)

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05am

nice game good job man :)

cdunham says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14am

@BoskoSokolov Thanks, Im glad you like it :)

Aaranos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20am

I found it to be a little easy, since after the enemy got stuck in a wall and I got some distance he stopped trying to get to me and I was free to eat all the people forever.

airfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:59am

Kinda fun. Theseus kept jumping around, I'm not sure if that was intentional though since it seemed a bit glitchy. Overall I had a good time though.

cdunham says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

@Aaranos You probably found a bug, thanks for trying it out though :)

cdunham says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

@airfrog It was kind of intentional since I don't know how to do 2D pathfinding yet. Im glad you liked it :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03am

I like it. The random spawn of Theseus is frustrating though. Having health or more lives or having him spawn a set distance from the play would help.

Great job!

cdunham says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17am

@Andrew_Deem Thanks for trying it out :D

MomoyoSeiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Good job! It was a lot of fun, chasing while being chased is a lot of fun, the map helped a lot with planning your route and changing it dynamically. xD
Love the music & the atmosphere too!

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Lots of fun! Im a sucker for greek mythology!

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Had a bug early on where Theseus spawned out of the map and apparently got stuck somehow (he would rotate but wouldn't teleport anymore), which I'm not sure how that happens since his main method of travel would seem to solve that.

I might be somewhat biased with this aspect, but the minimap bugs me soooo much haha. I generally don't care for games where my focus is drawn to only ever look at the minimap, making the main scene take a backseat. The map is essentially a "better" view of the game, so in this case I was almost solely looking at that. Seems like the map bit came from some crossover with the "a map will be useful" theme.

I didn't personally find the game to be terribly challenging, but I could see some places where you could easily get cornered by Theseus. Sometimes his teleportation works against him though ironically, and he'll be in a position near me but will poof away haha. Seems like his movement could have been rounded out a bit more. Though it is an interesting solution for not having to deal with wall collision and pathfinding stuff haha.

As others stated, the mythology aspect is an appealing setting though and the movement and whatnot works fairly well. The mouse rotation aspect seems like you had an idea there that wasn't implemented, since it doesn't seem to be used for anything. I almost think it would have been more satisfying to have a set amount of people in the labyrinth rather than being endless. This is because the difficulty doesn't really change throughout the experience, so it's fairly easy to lose interest when the player realizes that they'll just keep doing the same thing in a loop.

- Dylan

cdunham says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53pm

@hoqjed Oh, thats a weird bug XD And thanks, I figured I had to figure out a solution to pathfinding that wasn't too time consuming or complex. I was recommended to put the mini map in, but I guess I made it too good. Thanks for your input though, I hope you enjoyed the game! :)

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:28am

Very simple and cute graphics, but the physics seem a bit glitchy. The music was good but it wasn't hard to recognize as I've heard this song a lot before :P

Nice entry.

cdunham says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:55am

@kaype Thanks :D

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Really nice concept. I found it a little too difficult at times, it seemed that the enemies were spawning always in front of me.- Anyway, great job!

cdunham says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:02am

@rodobodolfo Glad you liked it! Also glad it wasnt too easy for you :)

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:19am

There was a bug when I played it - after the things that chased me vanished they all spawned outside the maze. Good idea though.

sprawl says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:51am

As Aaranos said, sometimes the enemy respawn to far and doesn't seem to chase until we get back in range.

It's a simple game but fun. I'd be nice if the teleportation of the enemy would be more predictable. It's hard to guess where's he will appear next.

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:47am

The hunter/hunted mechanic really makes for a tense game! It was a fun chase. It didn't happen often but once I had Theseus teleport literally on top of me and it felt cheap. Another time I lost him completely on the other side of the map and it was too easy. I think his movement needs to be balanced more.

I also think it would be cool if the maze was procedurally generated each time instead of the same maze to mix up the gameplay a bit as I got a bit used to the same maze every time. I guess knowing the labyrinth makes sense for a minotaur though.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:48am

I like the graphics and the mini map. However, your Theseus AI should use path-finding, but if you can't program that then make sure he doesn't teleport outside the labyrinth.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]