Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Sad Kraken

by Erlend Aakre - Jam Entry

A 2D top down action game where you must help a tiny sad kraken back to the sea to reunite with it's mother.

Swim around and grow stronger as you devour ships and their crews, watch out for stars and keep going until you are strong enough to break the dam separating you from the ocean.


==================== TIPS ====================
There are 3 towns (north west, north east, south east). The dam is in South West!

Ships will spawn at the towns, and they will head to a different town.

Your size can go from 10 to 70. being size 10 lets you attack the size 10 boat. Boats are size 10,20,30,40,50,60. Attacking a boat too big gives you a small amount of damage.

Sharks do a lot of damage and spawn randomly, you have to outrun them and they will stop chasing. Turn down difficulty level to have fewer sharks be active at any time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#99Theme(Jam)4.04
#168Audio(Jam)3.59
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#191Mood(Jam)3.59
#302Graphics(Jam)3.85
#352Fun(Jam)3.30
#412Innovation(Jam)3.15
#565Humor(Jam)2.71

Comments

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

i enjoy it, i like the idea and concept

bladesatoshix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Really fun game with gorgeous graphics!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

I like getting the boats but it felt as if they should spawn a little more. i was swimming through a lot of nothing for a lot of my play time. maybe an indicator to point you in a decent direction? looks good though

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

Two things: 1. I am downloading this game to play fully later. 2. You scared me half to death when I attacked my first ship. I thought I had died. Great game. I'm hugely happy about the tiny sad kraken.

Monkokio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

It feels like there's a good game locked away in here, but the pacing is too slow for me to find it.

I wondered around for about 10 minutes and couldn't find any ships small enough to consume. I got knocked around by some sharks and when I tried to eat the smallest ship I could find, I found I was still too small. Oh well.

The atmosphere was great. It was neat to explore around as the little Kraken and find island towns. There was just too little that I could actually do during my time playing.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

HINT: there are 3 cities and 4 ports, ships of all sizes will spawn at the ports and travel to a different one.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Cool game. I really enjoyed it.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

One of the best game I played. The mood is excellent as well as the animation.

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Awesome arts and sound, the concept is really interesting but more level design would be enjoyable.

A big map with nothing I had to move long time before finally understanding that I only have to camp before the port xD (alos lot, lot decoration all around the sea, but we cannot do any interactions with it, so sad).

And, sharks are really OP, I was a 53 size and get killed in few seconds, no way to go faster than he, when it's on you you can just die :/

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:50am

See, monsters don't have to be mean, he just missed his mom! Having a clear indicator of which ships you could take on would make things more clear, but the guessing and learning was also enjoyable.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice graphics and really good music. However, you should make sharks spawn out of the screen area. I had sharks spawning 2 pixels next to me way too often... Nice job ;)

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:06am

Cute. Krakie could have moved a tad faster. The mood and setting are very calm and soothing for a game about destroying ships, but it all seemed quite natural. Nice.

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:35am

Nice theme, graphics, sound and gameplay. Well done sir!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Small bugfix added: There was a bug in the code that allowed sharks to spawn on top of the player, and to have their attacks counted several times due to the knockback effect. those bugs have now been fixed

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Super sweet :) Great concept, good gameplay and nice graphics :D Could be nice if there is one enemy ship right at the beginning, but that's cherrypicking.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Nice audio (love that music) and graphics. I also got lost at first, but ended up camping some docks which worked.

Maybe this could be more fun if the pacing was faster and sense of space was easier (minimap? ship indicators/objective indicators?), or just a smaller mapsize in general. OR spawn more ships for more places so you don't have to hunt so hard. Maybe the trade routes could be marked more clearly somehow? Maybe movement speed boost/attack button to make exploration more exciting?

I'm digging the different sound effects for ship sizes and the shark animation/follow/ai is spot on !

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Very peaceful and mellow, I ended up roaming around as the kraken for a good hour! I liked how big the map was, as it promoted the feeling of exploration.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

It was sometimes hard to tell if I was bigger than other ships and I could only find out by injuring myself.
I like how big the world was with different biomes and villages with people running around. At the same time it felt difficult to know where to go.
The music was pleasant and I liked the art style.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:04am

Overall very nice entry. The music felt aquatic, which for someone without music ability is impressive to pull off. I enjoyed the style, flow, control, graphics, a lot of things were right.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:19am

Good game. Great Graphics.

BobMorate says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:00am

Very enjoyable game, good work! As a suggestion for an improvement, it would be nice to have some sort of indicator of where the ships are, like arrows pointing to them, if you are very far away from one you can eat. Also, I was not able to finally beat the game since I didn't know how to break the dam on the south east city. Nevertheless, an excellent entry, lovely graphics, good music and very enjoyable overall :)

liquidmedia says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:34am

I spent a long time swimming around seeing nothing that I could do just endless lakes, maybe 1 enemy in 5 min.

psychonull says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:09am

wow awesome graphics and music .. nice mood really neat game. were there some potions under the water? I'm pretty sure I saw some but I couldn't get them xD. the sfx was too high, first ship attacked made me jump on my chair haha.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Really, really fun. This was a hard game to put down. Also, I now hate dolphins! I really liked the graphical touch of the terrain, ports, campers, etc. great work.

AndyBrown says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Loved the tile sets and the boats and their animations, nice job! The gameplay did have some pacing problems, it would have been great to start out with little fish or something to eat at the starting area and then allow the player to venture further out to tackle boats etc. Great job for your first entry!

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Wow, really polished game, music, sound and graphics are really nice!!! solid entry

grynca says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:00am

great, much fun crushing all those evil ships ;]

RovingSquid says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Cool game!

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:22pm

As a developer of a tentacle monster game, for me it was especially interesting to play yours. Your game is really great, I like the whole world you built!

The video reviews of the games I played: https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 22:01

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]