Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Harold - The Overly Destructive Flying Monster

by Ethan Allwood - Compo Entry

***Installer issue is fixed, now downloads as play-ready .exe***

STORY:
Harold was an alien, discovered on our planet almost 40 years ago. For all this time he was kept underground, always wanting to get out, but he was told he couldn't because he was a "monster" and people would be scared. Today is the day that he finally escaped and fled into a nearby city. Realizing that his ship is broken and he cannot leave this planet, he decides to get revenge on the government who locked him up by destroying as much as possible before he is inevitably killed. Your job is to control Harold and help him get revenge by destroying the tanks and helicopters sent to kill him.

Good Luck!

INSTRUCTIONS:
-Fly around and destroy as many things as possible
-Tank=2 points
-Helicopter=3 points
-Bombs and bullets can damage tanks
-Only bullets can damage helicopters
-Enemy bullets and helicopter blades can damage player

CONTROLS:
-WASD controls for up, left, right
-S to drop a bomb
-Mouse controls in-game cursor
-Space bar to teleport to cursor
-Q to shoot bullets towards cursor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#372Graphics3.26
#528Audio2.58
#572Overall3.00
#574Humor2.45
#611Theme3.16
#625Mood2.73
#658Fun2.74
#765Innovation2.49

Comments

gilborn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13am

Link can be corrected

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16am

The link for Windows was broken, but I figured out how to get to the game. If you just click the link it gives you a DNS error. You have to use the http://allwoodgamedev.itch.io/harold-the-overly-destructive-flying-monster link.

I really did not like how the game had an installer. I don't want to have to install the game to my computer to play it.

Also the game seemed very hard to me. I flew around but I kept dying very fast and I couldn't really kill much. I feel like this could be a better game, but it needs more health and for better controls (It was hard to fly up and launch bombs at the same time.).

otato says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24am

For those who don't want to install, you can always just extract the contents using something like 7-zip.

Anyways, game seemed solid, but the hyper restrictive view and the amount of health the enemies had meant I kept dying rapidly.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Hey there, I thought that this game was pretty good. Controls were a little spotty but nothing that ruined the experience for me. Overall 4/5.

Cosine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

The graphics were sweet! The teleporting mechanic was interesting, though I rarely used it because I could n-jump. The controls were kind of confusing. For example, I frequently pressed space to jump, or clicked instead of q.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

The amount of options was a bit overwhelming, but it was fun once I got the hang of it. Nice work!

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Neat. fun shooter. a little hard to control but fine once i got used to it

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:31am

4/5 LD33 Helicopter killed me all the time :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:33am

I loved the particle effects! I loved how well you channeled the classic monster terrorizing the city tropes. Great job!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

Cool game. Not much to say about it.

misterwalter says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18am

The installer was a bit annoying, you can export gamemaker games to a single .exe if you poke through the options a little.
That said, it was a fun little game. The art was really tight. The screen dimensions were a little weird, but they made the game work so I don't mind at all.

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:00am

When you die, sound goes very glitchy.
Not bad, but at first hard to understand what's going on.

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

Very fun! The controls were a little finicky, it felt like too much to coordinate, but its something you can kind of get the hang of. Overall, I enjoyed it!

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:16am

cool

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:35am

Hate that you have to install the game. The screen is very small. Hard to control.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:49am

You'd probably get more ratings with an installerless version. Hard to control! Like the heli art.

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18am

Reminds me of a game I played when I was a child.

Mattress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48pm

You probably remember me from Uheartbeast's stream. It was fun then, and it's still fun! Especially since you took the controls advice from me, its a lot better this way.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10pm

@demy The sound does not go glitchy unless that is a problem on your end. That is probably just the helicopter sound.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:13pm

@cosine I had actually tried click to shoot controls but i was having strange issues with that.

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Very simple and arcadey, I like it!

This certainly has a lot of controls to juggle, though, and I struggled playing it with a trackpad.

treeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice simple game, I liked it! I found it quite difficult though.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Nice idea. The screen was way too small (hard to see or do things), and the controls overly complex (why Q to shoot and not left mouse button?). Having to read a whole block of text outside of the game (story, instructions and controls) is really a pet peeve of mine. :( Would have been nice if it were part of the game (intro screen or a mini-tutorial or something).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]