Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kraken Skulls

by Razbury Games - Jam Entry

Kraken Skulls is a four player couch co-op tentacle beat 'em up. Protect the Kraken's head while trying to rack up a high score! All assets / music are original too :)

XBox controller recommended, and required to do more than one player. You can play single player with just the keyboard.

*Note, google drive's interface is weird; click the download button (downwards arrow) at the top of the screen. Sometimes, it's hidden, so move your mouse up there and jiggle a little.

UPDATE: We got really excited by the positive reception of Kraken Skulls, and have taken your feedback to heart. We're creating a new build which fixes the bugs described below, fixes the art assets, and adds a ton of features: new ships, new modes, new levels, new attacks. We really think this could become a cute little party game!

We've posted a greenlight link below. Please please please! Head to the greenlight page and give us a quick thumbs up, it would mean the world!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#110Theme(Jam)4.02
#199Innovation(Jam)3.46
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#303Overall(Jam)3.48
#331Humor(Jam)3.16
#373Fun(Jam)3.26
#416Mood(Jam)3.28
#556Graphics(Jam)3.34

Comments

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

The game plays good, and it's a good thing it has multiplayer, but the graphics are pretty downscaled or just pixelated overall, which makes it look like it was cobbled together from a lot of assets.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Cool idea. It takes some time to get used to control both arms at the same time. Nice graphics and nice music. Well done.

TomBoogaart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17pm

nice i dig the game over text and the tentacle animations

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Cool Idea. It's something special.

Arnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I would recommend raising the deadzone on the controller sticks. It seemed like the menu was broken, but it turned out one of my controllers was just constantly changing the selection.

Other than that I like the concept and the chaos. All the arms can get quite confusing, but instead of feeling annoying it feels more like an Octodad kind of endearing clumsiness.

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Came for the kraken bad pun, stayed for the kraken good fun! I LOVE IT!! I had a great time playing this game; controlling both tentacles was a great kind of challenging. Can't wait to try it multiplayer with a friend, and would love to see more enemies and more polished pacing in a post-comp release. Still one of the brightest gems of the compo so far.

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

oh also -- it'd help a lot if the tentacles had colorful 'P1 left' 'P1 right' floaters for the first five seconds of the game. I started out pretty disoriented.

Dukio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:32pm

It reminds me to "Brothers - A Tale of Two Sons". The multi-tasking gameplay works nice and it's fun to play. Overall it has a good ambientation.

If you want to do some upgrades in the future I suggest you something for the gamepad input. Instead of use bumpers for attack, I would try it with the "clicks" of the joisticks. Your fingers would be tentacles <3

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:22pm

great title, great eyebrows, great job!

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I gave this a straight sweep of 5 stars. Loved it.

Keyboard controls weren't working for me, but controller was fine. Obviously best with a controller anyway - it's quite challenging to move both tentacles!

Vennril says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice little game. The gamepad controls are mind-bending sometimes, but in a fun way. I also love the attack animation. Well done :)

+1 for being a Kraken ;)

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Hmmm, yeah really hard to do with the keyboard. Intresting idea and the multiplayer function is nice. I like the art and the design of the ships.
My only real complaint would be that the menu buttons are very unresponsive.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Ha, this will get top marks in humor I bet. Hard to control via keyboard but really nicely done, music helped a lot too! Best entry I've seen yet!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

As a fellow Kraken'er I can appreciate the effort put into this. Played it with my girlfriend and was lots of fun. Excellent job.

Mogwaii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Pretty fun even if you are playing the singleplayer. Still have to try the multiplayer. Arms move a bit slow for my taste and it happened quite often that I mixed up the tentacles. But other than that great job!

Lou Byrd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I loved the concept.
Gameplay, howevers, wasn't super easy on keyboard. And it was me or the tentacles were always failing to hit.
Would love to try it with gamepads.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Cool game and nice enemies! Apparantly only a few times the tentacle attacks worked, most of the time I was banging my keyboard with nothing happening! I loved the kraken and the enmies look, was really fitting graphics and the audio was very well made!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Playing this in multiplayer is quiet fun. Unfortunately, inputs don't work correctly sometimes

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:49pm

The attack controls were very unresponsive for me. I found you had to spam the buttons to have a small chance of actually attacking. I got the idea of the game, though.

Razbury Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Hey @Ceosol! If you see this, I'm curious to know more about the problem you're experiencing. All of the other bugs etc. we kind of knew were in the game, but you've described a problem I've never experienced before. If you see this, it would be awesome if you could email me more about your set-up and what was happening - dean@vidarthegame.com

Thanks so much for playing, and hopefully we can get it fixed for you!

GameQuester says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:43pm

One tentacle got stuck on the buttom border. Beside that I had a lot of fun with this. Also the music and sfx were very well fitting.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06am

Fun and crazy. 2220 in single player!

jrhee says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Crazy game, had a blast- seems like it'd be even more fun with 4 players/8 tentacles!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:30am

A Krakengood time...sorry, had to go there. Fun game, especially for those like me who tend to have their tentacl...I mean human hands into many things at one time. It got pretty chaotic when the ships started coming in faster. I got 1100. Fun game play! The graphics and audio fit nicely together. Cool entry!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Really nice concept, very hard controls when playing on 1player mode. Ufortunately didn't have someone to play with but this looks like a lot of fun when playing with 4 players. Nice animations and music.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:19am

If the tentacles could high-five each other this would have been THE perfect game.

Oct 8, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Neat game! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZV7CU8j_StI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]