Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Feed the Monster

by humanatee_studios - Jam Entry

Feed the Monster is a platform game with a film noir aesthetic and detective narrative, set in a late 1930s New York. Join our main character, Mac O'Bannon, a P.I. on a small journey of discovery all the while battling his inner demon, his massive drinking habit.

Collect items, while avoiding certain death in the process, to solve the case and unlock new areas in the over world and interact with some of the city folk to guide you on your way.

Couple of recommendations:

Controller Required/Xbox Controller Recommended
Make sure Direct X is up to date to avoid Shader Issues

Controls in screenshot above

Hope you enjoy it. Play it, rate it, send it to your friends. Let us know what you think!

if you dont have Windows/Controller, there is a walkthrough video in the web link below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#61Mood(Jam)4.00
#63Audio(Jam)3.92
#116Graphics(Jam)4.28
#137Fun(Jam)3.64
#167Overall(Jam)3.68
#334Innovation(Jam)3.27
#340Theme(Jam)3.68
#352Humor(Jam)3.12

Comments

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:10am

When I try to run the game it shows a message:

"FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shd_multiply

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_main_menu_lighting_Draw_64"

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:08am

Hey Ninja Garage - I know on some Windows machines Shaders wont compile correctly, this can be fixed by updating your Direct X is up to date: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=35

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:55pm

I loved this, for the most part. Only probelm I had was with the laser beams in the second room. Maybe I'm just bad at games but I couldn't figure out the wait/go factor in that room.

As I said I'm probably bad at games and very impatient. I loved the fact you had an inventory and that you could chech each item out. Also kudos for the gamepad emulation (I don't know if it games standard in gamemaker or not).

All in all a very solid entry! I have to keep my EYE on this one. :P

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Wow this is an excellent game! Graphics, music and mood are very well executed, and I had fun finishing it!

The only thing is that it doesn't really fits the theme. Apart from that it's probably one of the best game I've seen in a jam :)

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47pm

This game is really great, the graphics are nice, the atmosphere is well done, the audio is fantastic. The platforming sometimes feel a bit clunky though and the constant gamepad vibrating gets a little annoying. Great game nontheless

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Very nice graphics and sounds! Like it!

van noctar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Hey, very good entry!

It's funny, i like this idea to play an eye!!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Great premise and looks like it'll be an interesting story - but I couldn't complete it because I kept getting a bug where if I opened my inventory ingame it wouldn't show up and the game would freeze :(

Also: I guess the rumble mechanic is telling you you need a drink. Great idea, but can be a bit much to have the controller constantly rumbling. Just slow pulses would probably be sufficient.

freaknarf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:18am

Cool visuals and music ! I also liked the storytelling and the gamepad rumble idea... Having multiple gameplay styles mixed together, i mean a bit of adventure, a bit of a platformer, is a good idea. Good game start, with a bit unfocused gameplay :)

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Nice game. Moody graphics, interesting style, and the music's great. The platforming parts were infuriating, but it was nice. Oh and the drinking mechanic is cool too, though I feel it could've been a little more involved. I don't have any particular ideas though

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Man!!The Game looks pretty awesome!! Congrats. The gameplay is really nice. Keep it up!!! :)

Beanalby says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:47am

So many great little details. Loved the drinking mechanic (chewed through batteries tho!), loved the scuba mask, overall mood is excellent.

andreiichim says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:09am

Awesome game. Very polished. I liked the story and the mood/feel of the game.
I like what you did with the controller but it felt too distracting after a while. I got stuck on the conveyor belt for a while... I can still feel the vibrations in my hands as I write this :)

Flaid says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:49pm

This is probably the most polished, most complete game that I've played in LD33. The premise is solid, the graphics are great, and the music is absolutely amazing.

The platforming part seemed really hard; I kept getting stuck on the corners of platforms. Some of the obstacles seemed really difficult to get around, too, requiring study of the scene and careful execution.

I am glad that I own a controller so that I could play this game!

5/5 would drink 6.5 litres of whiskey again

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Well done on the mood and the audio :)
feels immersed and well executed!

nicely done!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:30am

Awesome game! Loved the concept, the artwork, the music, the style! Story was great, really cool effect for Mac getting the red eye!
I just think that maybe the lack of alcohol could influence more the controls. Just the rumbling didn't really do anything for me. Also it was a bit annoying that Mac would always look right. Some collisions problem at the edge of things, but that's just details.
Anyway excellent job!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Oh a minor complaint would be no support to keyboard/mouse, but I understand the lack of time...

Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]