Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monsters In The Dark (Bugged)

by markoburzan27 - Compo Entry

You are the big monster and you must kill the red monsters by squashing them, kill as many red monsters until the time runs out but it will also be hard to see them. This is my first ever Ludum Dare Jam I have participated in.

(Warning please to not play in fullscreen mode and set the game from fantastic to fastest for best result.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#658Audio1.76
#757Humor1.90
#779Theme2.80
#833Mood2.19
#876Graphics2.03
#920Innovation1.63
#928Fun1.91
#953Overall2.05

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 22, 2015 @ 10:35pm

The game is terribly broken, the menu doesn't work, and the loop is super annoying.

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 6:26am

I had to rush it and i could`int fix the bugs because of something important happened.

Croze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

It's pretty broken ngl...

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18am

The game will work if you turn it off of full screen mode so that you can click the menu options.

In the game you run around killing the red blocks.

Things that could improve this:

1. I didn't like how I couldn't just use WASD or the arrow keys, but I had to use both to move the character. This felt unneeded.

2. Better graphics and an explanation for what the red blocks were (I assume people?) would help improve the game.

3. I wasn't sure what the objective was. I saw the timer running down, but I wasn't sure if the blocks hurt me or I was supposed to run into them.

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

Very difficult to control, which kind of puts a damper on doing anything else.

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:21am

why WS and left right arrow and the looping yo

NSoul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:21am

Game works fine... Music is a bit annoying :D
score 25^^

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:29am

I was able to run the entry. I had to click some where along the side in order to get it to work. Anyway, I thought it was a pretty decent game. Obviously this is your first jam, but you know what most people can't do even that. Excellent work, and I hope to see more games from you in the future. 3/5

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35am

thanks

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

Took me a few seconds to figure out the controls, a bit weird don't you think?

Also this is just me, but the menu buttons are blank for me, probably you used a font that I don't have so consider including that in the download.

You've got the basics of a game at least. Good job putting something out on your first try.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Too simple, I think. And how to move left and right?

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

I don't think tank controls work well for this. Would have been more intuitive to just use arrow keys. I will say that the discordant music and constant yelling and being trapped in a room with no windows or doors does a good job of setting the mood.

Enrymion says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Music(?) ruined the mood.

Cosine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42am

The game felt too easy to me.

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01am

This game had a lot of bugs. Red ones. That I squished. I liked the sound effects but the music was kind of crazy

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

that was the first time i have ever made music on my computer.

Piotrek says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:45am

I think that you should change controls scheme.
Now it isn't very intuitive

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:52am

please take a look at any game you like and consider everything it does well then try and implement this into your game one by one. I think you will learn allot :)

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:19am

Couldn't start the game.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Cool game! i think you need to run it on windowed or it wont work properly.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

23 kills. Song managed to get my blood pressure up! I can appreciate the effort put into this, bravo!

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

A lot of bugs in the game making it difficult to give a fair rating. Concept was OK but needed better graphics, sound etc.

Well done for your first attempt though. Hope you come back for LD34

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

The control setup was a bit weird, and the music loop was reeeally short which made it a bit annoying. Not sure what the objective was, and the menu didn't show any text?

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03am

I had some issues till I was able to run it, but after it worked I think it is a good game. After all my entry is a little bugged too.

the31 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:06am

Worked fine for me in full screen on fantastic mode. The "throttle and turning" movement was unexpected from a 4-direction game, but it wasn't confusing once I understood it. It was somewhat amusing that the red rectangles screamed. :) The loop and sound effects were kinda repetitive though. Good first LD, it has all the components of a game which I can't always say about my entries! You'll only get better the next time!

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:52am

Not bad. Not bad at all. You did good for your first entry. You monster model was good. Maybe you could have crated the same kind of model for the humans (i assume) but probably smaller or different color. But nonetheless.... congrats on submitting your entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]