Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Oozin' in Space!

by bclikesyou - Jam Entry

My first LDJam AND first completed game! Overall I had a blast.

//GAME//
Left and right arrows to move.
Up to hide in a closet and down to exit closet.
Shift to ooze an astronaut. Meter in the upper left will turn green when you're close enough to ooze.
If they turn and face you while you're in their room, you're vaporized!

//DEV NOTES//
The game feels as finished as it can be. Next time I'd definitely take Monday off of work and continue to work on it. I ended up rushing sfx and just using a song I wrote a few years back. Would've like to spend more time on those two aspects.

The game has a few slight issues. Sometimes you can get shot right before you go in a closet and nothing will happen until you exit the closet. Also the astronauts can spot you even if you're off screen. Would've liked to fix that with more time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#436Graphics(Jam)3.57
#503Theme(Jam)3.48
#715Humor(Jam)2.42
#757Mood(Jam)2.80
#808Fun(Jam)2.67
#834Overall(Jam)2.86
#875Innovation(Jam)2.52
#1942Coolness30%

Comments

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:33pm

The basic gameplay is solid, but also repetitive. This is mainly caused by there only being one game mechanic (oozing) and the level consisting only of rectangular rooms with one or two spacemen each.

With a few more mechanics like jumping, dashing or changing shape (you don't need to hide in a closet if you can turn into an innocuous fern!) and more varied level design with multiple passages around the place and exploration (try Metroidvanias and Gunpoint for reference) these faults could be rectified.

I like the graphics and music (too bad audio isn't one of the rating categories). Overall a good job for a first go.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I just left this on to listen to the music.

superpatch says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Music is super cool!

GFM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Even if you did rush things, the game came out quite fun and cute! The game is quite simple but, for what it proposes to do, it's quite well done!

I really liked the slime sfx while moving. :)

robshaff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Game didnt work for me melted as soon as I enter first room. Likein the music tho go daddy go daddy go!

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:19pm

The music is really nice, and honestly I think this has quite a potentital. The stealthy monster gameplay sounds fun, however in it's current form it's extremely repetitive, in the end the challenge and the solution stays the same, and the game only really requires patience to be completed.

Big Cow says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Haha good work on the theme. Also love the sound it makes when you hide in the cupboard. Took me a while to work out you died if the space men face you so very frustrated at first. Great idea love the retro mood.

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:13am

Great retro style music and nice graphics. I enjoyed the gameplay too.

Simple but well done.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45pm

The game is really cool !
The only miss is to make a more understandable door system. I think it's not clear that astronaut dont shot you when u are behind a "wall part".
But overall, it's good !

And thanks for the comment :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Great job for your first game! At first, I was quite confused, but once you get the game - its pretty good! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/NqmWO8MUX6c

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:43pm

This was pretty difficult, the guards seemed to be super-human blob killing machines! I liked the overall look of the game

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Great artwork and fun gameplay. I enjoyed gooing the astronauts. I'd love to hear some sounds under it, but it was fine that way too. Nice to see an other C2 game here.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26am

Very nice visuals. It would have been better with a bit more variety, and as you mentioned, there are a few things that feel unfinished. Congrats on your first games and LD! Hope you participate again.

rudra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Awesome game, Really liked the gameplay and the animation of the player. Well done!

colludium says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Good first entry. Enjoyed the music and animations/art. Some triggers weren't robust (running animation when at idle) and some of the astronauts were off screen for a long time... and I'm impatient :). Nice one!

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Good game. ^^

psychonull says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Fun Game, but after you kill 4 or 5 astronauts, it turns a little repetitive and boring.
Nice retro game music. xD

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]