Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kill All Fairies

by TackoramaLtd - Jam Entry

Her impressive elegant queenage, Frogmella Imanokcuf, hereby grants clemency most extraordinaire to all monsters of the realm upon successful execution of all fairies in thy precious kingdom within two minutes.

PS Beware of the sugar plum fairy.

---------------------------------
Controls
---------------------------------
Click mouse. That's it.
m disables music in-game (it can get annoying).

---------------------------------
Bugs
---------------------------------
Issue: When going to the options screen in windowed mode the game automatically resizes to the large possible window your display will allow.
Solution: set options once and leave them alone after that.

---------------------------------
Notes
---------------------------------
Game defaults to windowed display of 1280 x 720 - change in options screen.

All versions are 32 and 64 bit compatiable
(Tested on Mac and Windows. Linux - sorry - you are the guinea pigs.)
PC users download either 32 or 64 bit version.
Mac and Linux - the file is universal (32 and 64 bit compatible).

I've opted out of graphics judging because:
1) The paper scrolls on the title are clip art (stop looking at me like that).
2) The fairies are based on a free font.

Everything else is original and created within the 72 hours, by one man and his Apple Mac.

Enjoy killing the fairies.

Tackorama
www.tackorama.co.uk

---------------------------------
Download Links
---------------------------------
https://github.com/Tackorama/LD33

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#455Audio(Jam)2.96
#502Humor(Jam)2.83
#883Mood(Jam)2.60
#892Theme(Jam)2.88
#966Fun(Jam)2.43
#989Overall(Jam)2.63
#1043Innovation(Jam)1.92

Comments

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice polish overall! fairies had a bit simple movement and the last 6 fairies where outside of the screen so I couldn't kill them :(

Reyn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Hi. I was trying to play this with a macbook pro track pad, it was impossible to kill all of them in 2 minutes :) Have a look at this video: [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlBR1z-ue-I] not that my game is a good example, but it feels like your game needs some differences somewhere. Nice menu, wish I actually spent time making one. Thanks.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Hi, thanks for letting us play your game!

What we liked: The sound of squashing Fairies, it makes me feel good! That you had a version people could play on windows/mac and Linux.

What I would like to see developed: I know you opted out of the graphics category, but the mix of art does some disservice to the frantic Fairy squashing. Perhaps something to work on?

Well done!

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I had the same problem with the fairies being outside of the screen, it'd also be cool if there were a countdown timer.

What do the giggling fairies do? They had some visual impact but I couldn't tell what impact they had on the other fairies.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:25pm

This game is made to relief stress. Or grow anger. I still can't decide ! ;)

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Nice one! I love the choice of background

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13pm

TooMuchPete - the faires are meant to be outside - it's not meant to be that easy! And there is a count up timer (game ends after two minutes) as I thought it would be nice to see how long it took instead of panicking as time ran out. Giggling fairy signals that the sugar plum fairy is on screen!

Culturebosh_games - point well taken about the graphics. It's not a cohesive style which given time I would alter. I would love to keep the photos as backgrounds (real places, photoed by me) but cannot think of a way to blends those with drawn/modelled fairies.

Ulukai says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Simple Gameplay but beautiful graphics and sound/music.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Not my type of game. Seems to be unsolvable since there are still 15 Faries left when nothing can be seen on the screen.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06am

So i got down to 1 fairy left. I figured you kill the fairies on the outside first before they spread out so far that they are off screen. It would be nice to at least have a chance if you miss the fairies on the outer circle before they spread too far. Maybe have them cross the screen real fast? I had 15 seconds left and didn't see a single fairy. Even with that being said. I LOVE this game! I would definitely play it over and over again.

LavaGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Too dark and creepy D:

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Loved the menu! :D

celisoft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Your game is well made but I do not like killing...

misson20000 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Linux build works fine, but fullscreen mode didn't work and 15 of the fairies wouldn't come on screen

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:33pm

The menu was awesome, didn't even need to press apply for the options. The game was much less polished, with fairies stuck out of screen, and difficulty understanding the main idea behind the game. I think you may have spent too much time on the menu, and too little on the gameplay.

farnsworth2 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Very well polished with a simple idea that is well executed. The only thing that really bothered me was the ability for a fairy to leave the screen and never come back. My first game I went for center-of-fairy-mass, and ended up with 6 fairies off the screen and 90 seconds left. The clicking to hit felt a little off because I couldn't click in the same place a bunch of times, so I had to fling my mouse all over the screen to be doing something all of the time.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:27pm

This is the most epic game I played until now...
I can not stop laughing!

Gorgeous audio+humor+mood+FUN, right on the theme! :D

The gameplay is really poor ... But I think I'll keep this game for all my moments of intense relaxation, playing hours! haha!

kles4enko says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Nice!!!! I've killed to many fairies))))

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:07am

I always hated fairies!

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:39am

Very colorful! Couldn't get the last few fairies...

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:28am

Very well done game. I liked the pretty backgrounds, and the plum fairies added some really nice twist to the gameplay. The only problem I had was that some of the fairies would go off the screen completely trumping my chances of beating the game. Other than that, though, this was a really fun game. 4/5 :)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Good job! But fairies used to go outside of screen area, so I could not finish the game :s

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I too had fairies that were off screen... :/ I _really_ wanted to kill them all. I like the juxtaposition of cute fairies and music and the blood splats!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I like the background story on the menu.

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice graphics. I personally think that the amount of fairies to kill and the time to do that was both a bit much. For the simplicity of the gameplay I think a shorter time and less faries would have resulted in a better pacing. But nice entry.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Was really fun to kill fairies :)
I would change the pacing a bit, as in the beginning, it is a pure clickfest (which is really fun, as fairies are dying every click :) ) and later on it's pretty frutstrating, as they are on screen for a too short period of time. I preffered the fairy-massacre part in the beginning :)

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Best UI EVER!!! I couldn't kill all the fairies or it seems like so...

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Charming game! Nice music and good gameplay. Looked nice too.
Some fairies went off screen I could not kill them (like 9) I guess you have to kill them before they go away? It was not that clear.
The main menu was great. Very polished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]