Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Stay Angry

by RovingSquid - Jam Entry

Pro Tip
----------------------------------
The best way to dodge the girls is to fake them out... move one direction, then when they get close, switch direction.


FOR THE BEST EXPERIENCE
----------------------------------
For the best gameplay expereience, make sure to download the desktop native version (Win, Mac, and Linux are available below). Unity's Web Player is somewhat limited...

Description
----------------------------------
Billy is an angry little boy. Today is an especially angry day. Billy is so angry he's seeing red! Angry Billy is quite the little monster! Betty and Sally have noticed Billy is angry and they want to make him happy! Billy wants to stay angry though, and keeps finding items that make as angry as can be.


In Stay Angry, the object is to keep Billy an angry little monster for as long as possible. Grabbing certain items make Billy angrier and give him points. However Sally and Betty want to make Billy happy by giving him flowers. Stay away from the flowers!


Gameplay
----------------------------------
The in game screens will explain the controls and which objects to avoid and which objects to grab. For a quick overview, avoid the flowers and little girls, grab everything else ( except trees and rocks). Flowers and little girls will make you less angry, other objects will give you points and make you more angry.

Game can be controlled by Keyboard or XBox Controller

Move - A/D or Left/Right or Stick1 or Stick2
Skip Intro / Start Game - Space or [A] Button
Exit Game - Escape


Credits
----------------------------------
Stay Angry was built by 2 members of Roving Squid Games:

Howard F. - Coding, Unity Design, Development, Concept
Laurie F. - Graphics, Design, Play Test, Concept


Built Using
----------------------------------
Unity 5
Photoshop
Illustrator
Blender
Audition
various other tools


More Info & Updates
----------------------------------
For more updates and future development on this project, visit:

http://RovingSquid.com/StayAngry/

Windows link Below is x64, for x86 build download:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_CpP07VnqDiY2RZTFFoRmIwRHc

Switched the Web and Embed version to itch.io, so it will load a bit faster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#321Humor(Jam)3.18
#400Overall(Jam)3.36
#417Innovation(Jam)3.14
#490Graphics(Jam)3.47
#519Theme(Jam)3.46
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#599Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Love the pop-up book style, but those girls are hard to avoid!

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I think the idea with having the game take place on a cyllinder was quite novel. I would suggest moving the camera out a bit.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I liked this!

COol graphics.

CoOl intro.

Them girls are quick though!

My favorite part was the ANGER INDUCING power ups! Like F- and the Bee.

nice one!

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

strange fun game, with a neat art style

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:39am

Really fun! Love this little grumpy monster!

pkenney says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:08am

Tried to load the web version, and kept getting errors saying "Introscene couldn't be loaded because it is not streamed in yet."

That made me worry for what lay ahead, but I downloaded the windows build and it was totally worth it! The aesthetic is just awesome, the lighting and the models are great and it really all works together for a unique feel.

I only made it 2 minutes, but my lady made it 3 and a half.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Quite fun game ^^
Graphics are very neat, music is nice too, the gameplay is pleasant, and it made me laugh to see the screen becoming less and less red while hearing those pesky girls sneer at me! Maybe the best rating I've given so far!

LordKawaii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:42pm

The art style it wonderful, and I really liked your choices in anger pickups (Though I didn't understand the tea cup).

I was shooting for 5 minutes but only made it to 3min 52sec

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:12pm

He would be a bigger monster if he would have to get them pretty gurls instead >:)

kles4enko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Really like that style... I forgot about it)

jgthespy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Cute idea. I really like your take on the theme.

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Cool scrolling environment, but very simple at this point. It's a little too easy to keep your health pretty stable near the top. Really liked the style though!

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:06am

Interesting rolling game with a nice mixture of 3D/2D and it's has an intro too.

careless says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Really nice look and feel to the game, lasted around 3 minutes. Would have been nice to have some other events occur, like getting revenge on some of those flower girls! Maybe like in Pacman where you can eat the ghosts if you collect powerups.

Sounds really made the experience quite creepy.

The graphics were fun and well done, I liked the idea of the moving floor and have the items pop up at you.

With more variety and some levels could make a nice mobile game.

Well done.

fafastudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Good idea ! I liked this game, and especially how it is clean and well presentated ! :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:44am

I made it 5 minutes with a score of 26161 :-) cool game

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:52am

Girls are surely cute! And everything is kind of weird...
No way to get angrier?

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Geez Billy why are you so angry for? You're a real player y'know ;D

Anyway, this was a pretty fun entry. I like the graphics style and I loved the use of colour grading to indicate the anger levels. As a suggestion, you should have the anger go down constantly to keep things a bit more fast paced.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Cute game! The graphics and perspective really work well on this.
Maybe the camera could be a little further out but other than that top quality!
Goooood job!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Damn those girls! The music reminded me of a circus, which didn't really fit in, and it was really hard to get to things other than girls (opposite of real life, maybe I should try being more angry?). Nice entry altogether.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:02am

Interesting concept. I never thought I'd be juking little girls with flowers, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:44am

Wow!!! Love the art style very much! I enjoy play games like this one!
Overall, a great game with great graphics and music. (Why I cannot rate for audio?) Nice job!
I would try the android one later.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Love the graphic style! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/fxtKngYPsCg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]