Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Gorgezilla

by Jelinib - Compo Entry

Engorge yourself to the all-you-can-eat buffet of city people to stay alive!
Fling them out of buildings if you must!

SPACE to take a step (for moving forward, one step at a time)
UP for a high chomp (for taking down helicopters)
RIGHT for a mid chomp (for busting down buildings and finding the people)
DOWN for a low chomp (for eating people and destroying tanks)

=========WEB ISSUES=========
The audio seems to be much softer in the HTML5 build. For the best worst audio, try the standalone version. Thanks! (I have no idea if the Mac or Linux builds work, but I tried)

---

If you are experiencing issues with the space/arrow keys messing with the page on the HTML5/WebGL build, I shall offer these generic maybe-workarounds to try in case one of them works:
- Hit the full screen button
- Try a different browser (Firefox is my go-to for this)
- Try the Unity3D player (must use a browser other than Chrome unless you have NPAPI enabled)
- Try a standalone build
- Wait for me to change the controls in a new version after judging is over, LOL
- I have no idea what else can be done. Give me ideas if you know anything!

I can't test these solutions myself since I didn't experience this issue to such a degree (using Chrome yesterday, the game's "frame" remained stationary while the page still moved around behind it--but today it's not doing that anymore, page is totally stationary, whaaaaaaaat, I don't get it. Computers are weird)

Thanks for playing (or at least trying)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Humor3.88
#134Theme3.92
#179Fun3.48
#203Mood3.40
#288Overall3.35
#296Graphics3.42
#308Audio3.07
#509Innovation2.93

Comments

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

Fun Game. Made me think of Rampage if it was a side-scroller. Controls are a bit funky but once you get used to it the game is easier.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

I really liked the control scheme, seems like it would be a great fit for a controller.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

Control does not work properly in the web version. Arrows and space affect the page instead of the game.

Windows version is asking for a .dat that isn't included.

The game looks fun, so I'll check this page for fixes.

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

The controls were interesting, and the graphics and animation were simple but well done.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

Love the graphics! :D

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

Oh snap, thanks for the heads up TerraCottaFrog! I've updated Windows link so that it now includes the Data folder I overlooked. Hope it's A-OK now! :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06am

Looks really cool, but the controls weren't working for me in the web version :(

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

that made me laugh !

greysphere says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:16am

Definitely reminded me of rampage too! Lots of cool animations in this.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:32am

This game was really cool. Loved the monster and the game mechanics! I went ahead and submitted my score, doubt it's going to stay at that rank for long. The art was also really cool and had some silly animations. :D

Pheonise says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:10am

Everything felt so silly, I love it!

WebGL version wasn't receiving input, so I had to download the Windows version.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

very fun game! thanks!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:28pm

This is a really fun and unique game!

The controls would be little better in my opinion if space were forwards attack the right were move, but that's just personal taste. I know it would be less consistent, but I think it would improve the game.

Good work!

demogorgon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I really like the instruction screen for some reason. It looked good.

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

This was fun, and the walk animation made me laugh :) Had an interesting meta game where pushing up and down also scrolled the webpage so I had to keep the game in view while still playing it ;)

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Could not get the web version to load :(

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44am

This was a nice cathartic game after a long day, and very funny too. I did specially like that you had to be pretty frantic with the controls to stay ahead on health, so the challenge was pretty balanced. The game is also pretty funny, and while I initially though the controls where space is movement and the arrow keys were actions would be kind of messy, it did actually work well.

My highscore was about 18,100 or 181,000 (it disappeared quickly because I was mashing space when I died).

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

Funny! I think the monster walking need some improvement, though... It's a bit clunky, in my opinion. Maybe bigger steps?
Good game overall.

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08am

Wow, very funny and playable game! It is a shame I almost all the time missed my score, because I was clicking spacebar too rapidly :)

tGiant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16am

I am giving you high scores on this one because I really enjoyed all aspects of the game. Very nice. The sound could be better. I wouldn't have used music as background but nice spooky sounds.

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:23am

Ministry of Silly Walks !

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01am

Hey guys, I just fixed the bug where the spacebar automatically hits the Retry button. Let me know if I messed up any of the builds!

Thanks everybody for the comments, the input, and for playing! :)

SamH says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Difficult but fun! Nice choice of keyframes, too!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Hey man! What a brilliant concept and game! Best concept ever :D

I loved the silly walk and the people screaming. They cracked me up! All the derpyness that I missed is here. Nice going!

Mikhail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice game man thx for helping me fix a bug in mine. Great job!

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33pm

The game is fun, but controls must be reworked. BTW, be sure to check Days of Monsters flash game.

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 33:17

Snowdrama says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:55am

Got a high score of 9170 Thought the game was super fun.... SO MUCH BUTTON MASHING THO

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:40am

A bit hard control, and it's almost funny, but i've seen this theme lots of times

van noctar says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Good idea but inputs are bugged

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Interesting control scheme in a tried and true rampage game. Eating the tanks is totally pointless though, which could be seen as a design flaw. I'm a total sucker for games with highscores though and seeing as how a simple decision of just letting a tank shoot you will actually BOOST your score made it actually more interesting on some level. The silly aesthetic is a nice contrast to the rather gorey gameplay.

The keys used, while logical are a bit unwieldy, I would've probably used left, up and right instead. There's plenty of content for a compo entry, but as it is it gets stale pretty fast. Random powerups and/or collectibles would've been a cool addition!

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Sweet input, nassi--I really appreciate it! Thanks for putting in the time to give a detailed comment, and thanks playing! :)

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Good game. I usually dont like button mashing, but for some reason I like it this time. Well done.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:15am

Quite hard, but very enjoyable. Loved the walk animation.

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:17am

Haha, very funny. I like the difference bass sounds for the different feet!

It's a bit hard and too hactiv for my taste, but it looks amazingly hilarious.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Super fun game. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Jf2dZyQpNFE

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:00am

Silly little game, controls were a bit awkward though.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:09am

The control is kind of a hard to get get used to at first. Had some fun factor to it. Good job!

-Loi LeMix

Nurbs says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:00am

Cute little game, I like how the dinosaur gets bigger the more people you eat. Takes a while for the difficulty to get any higher (if it does?) so it can get a bit repetitive.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Thank you for your extensive review on our game! Your issue must have been a Chrome related browser error. We haven't come across that issue yet in Safari, Firefox, and IE. We realized how clunky the control layouts were after submission and instead, should have went with A-S-D-F key-layout for player one and J-K-L-; for player two.

We will fix that along with music-beat synchronization, and a few other polishing touches before sending it out on our website or possible free app release.

Cheers,
-Loi LeMix

n9Mtq4 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:40am

Great fun. The tanks would sometimes be behind the mouth before they got eaten, but other than that I loved it.

Zeriver says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:31pm

After reading descriptions i was expecting something like QWOP monster edition :)
Anyway game was pretty entertaining to play, it actually requires good reflexes and ability to quickly make decisions (quickly going forward, destroying building -quick break to chomp helicopter, continue destroying building and now chomp any slow pokes who didn't run fast enough).
I like this light / more humorous approach on the theme, well done!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:15am

I love the animation/movement of Gorgezilla, very hilarious.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Haha nice, I really like the dino's walking animation, made me chuckle
Nice art, nice sound and fun game! good job!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:39am

Really nice game! It's really fun ^^~ A bit hard for me though, since you can't dodge and humans escape quite fast xp Although I don't really like button masher I liked the controls! Graphics and audio were very nice too! All added to the "silly" mood xp A lot of work was done~! Congratz!!

handkor says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:43pm

This was really fun and pretty. Very nice art style.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 6:39am

This is super fun and amusing, great job ! It feels like all the good bits from Rampage, without the spongy controls that made Rampage a little frustrating at times. Would translate well to mobile.

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:15am

Very fun game, I really enjoyed! The difficiluty is well balanced :)
I downloaded the windows version because the input does not work for me in the browser version.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:39am

I just loved how you manipulate gorgezilla, really made me laugh at some occasion when i see i could chomp those poor stickmen running away from me.
haha, well done!

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:41pm

It's pretty funny :D
I can't judge audio, as I cannot make noise right now... :/

Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

didn't expect those controls!

really quite good

fun

and

unique

and

enjoyable!

thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]