Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

who' s the monster

by IronSquirel - Compo Entry

My game is a Client/Server Multiplayer game so to ease testing i strongly recommand you to come try it at exact hour to fully fell the spirit of the game and gather enough player. What i mean by exact hour is 9:00, 10:00 11:00 and so on. Hope you will enjoy it as much as i had fun crafting it :)

W-A-S-D to move
Left click to fire
Left Shift to activate turbo
E to kill other player in melee range

Game start when 10 players or 5 minutes from first player to join.

On game start you will eiter be a traitor wich mission is to kill all blue while pretending to be one before the red army perish or a Blue defending from the red army.

Blue player need to remain vigilant and suspicions of their friends while gathering turbo and ammo to kill the evil red. They can also sacrifice teammate to heal as every player around a blue player when he die will be healed to 100% (traitor included). You can kill any blue player by pressing E while looking at him from close or shoot at him, but that isnt your goal this is the traitor goal so dont help paranoid to much or you might end up killing ally.

The traitor will lose hp over time as his desguise fall off he will slowly turn back to red unless he kill blue to regain hp and color. If any player go down to 0 hp he will die and turn into a red AI. Keep in mind that blue player slowly fade to red as they get splashed by their rival so if you dont pay attention it will be harder to spot the traitor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#652Innovation2.70
#777Humor1.75
#789Theme2.75
#828Fun2.42
#846Mood2.12
#875Overall2.52
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

Was kind of like Gamer to Game Developer. very nice. Not really following the theme though. Turbo was pretty nice, and the melee too.

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

the tutorial text box didn't disappear for me :\
seams interesting though.

IronSquirel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

Im watching the server i can force start game and join you if you hop on

haloguy397 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:32am

Cool Game! wish there was sound?

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33am

I don't know if I played this right, I couldn't get the tutorial box to disappear and I guess that prevented me to know what I was supposed to be doing.

Next thing I know I'm dead. :/

So maybe I screwed up somthing but this didn't quite qork for me. :(

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41am

I don't get it.

otato says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:44am

Tutorial box definitely took a while to disappear, but then I felt insignificant as the giant wave of red dudes crushed me and the two other blue dudes. Not sure if that was intended or not, but I feel like this game is a decent explanation away from being enjoyable.

Jimbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

This sounds like a game I'd love to play... no one online though (presumably needs 3 or more?). Will leave it up in my other monitor while rating other submissions and hopefully a game will start eventually... =)

Jimbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

Needs some AI Blue players for when there's no one around to play with, I think =).

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40am

Tip: Don't force the game to be online for competitions, especially when you can't guarantee there'll be enough people playing.

IronSquirel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I had i problem with my internet yesterday sadly so from 4 am i wasnt monitoring server and starting game...
But i do know it would be problematic to have games, altough this gave me some good insight on what to look out when deploying a multi game and i will improve process for next ludum :)

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Game concept sounded fun, but even after joining on the "exact hour" there was nobody to play with :(

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:55am

the tutorials box won't disapear, there nothing really to do I tried lots of buttons to disable it, there no red things

IronSquirel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:38am

Server remove the box when game start

MAnimal says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:33am

I love your simple artstyle.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]