Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pushy Monster

by anarbitrarymustache - Jam Entry

You are a dungeon monster that is tired of being "pushed" around by his monster peers. So, one day when a hero shows up, you decide to help him find his way through your dungeon in an attempt to get even.

First LD entry. Bit off more than I could chew (even though I had been thoroughly warned about that rookie mistake).
This is still very much unfinished. I am really only posting because I told myself I would submit no matter what. This is the closest I've ever made it to completing a game. I put it here as inspiration for next time.

For right now, just some tutorial levels (3 to be exact) are here to play. I wasted a lot of time on asset creation and trying to streamline my level building process that never came to fruition - and left me without levels in the end :(

You WILL find game breaking bugs!



Game created in GameMaker Studio Pro.
Art created mainly in Adobe Photoshop (some Adobe Illustrator and the GM built-in editor)

I didn't even get close to creating sound/music.
The background tune that you'll hear is "Sneaky Snitch" by Kevin MacLeod.
(http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100772)

Controls
WASD or arrow keys for movement
R = retry level (uses a life)


Change Log
Fixed the bug when pressing "R" after player leaves the room freezing the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#234Mood(Jam)3.52
#261Graphics(Jam)3.92
#304Innovation(Jam)3.30
#330Fun(Jam)3.33
#386Humor(Jam)3.04
#564Overall(Jam)3.17
#637Theme(Jam)3.30
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

I now wish I had just called it "Pushy Monster".

Pomb says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

really great graphics man :D but I think I ran into some game breaking bugs too soon to even get to play that much.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:27pm

I liked the concept and art, but I DID find game breaking bugs! Seriously though, excellent solo entry and a great first try. I also liked the small size... made it feel like a GBA game... Nice job!

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:15am

This is really cool! I like the concept, graphics are cute and it's fun! A mix betwenn an top down dungon game (something like Zelda) with Sokoban like littke layrinths...

Well, I like it!

Romaing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26am

Not bad, graphic are good and music fits well with the game. I like the idea of the monster helping the hero too.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27am

I have not encountered any bug!
Really good work! It looked already really polished (until the game starts over again after 3 levels) xD
But disregarding the lack of content: This is really great. One of the more beautiful and original ones i have seen.

Keep up the good work and maybe finish it and put it somewhere online!
I think people might actually like to play such a puzzle game :)

But you should uncheck "get sound ratings" if you did not make the music ;)

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:46am

Neat concept and a great first and solo submission, I really like the aesthetic! Unfortunate about those few bugs, but with those fixed and a few more levels I feel it could be really solid.

Koneke says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Pretty cool! The controls felt a bit unresponsive, and I managed to hit R once after having gone out through the door which made the game lock up (but that was on the second run through), but other than that it was pretty neat.

Only having limitted time to set things up feel like it could create some pretty fun, chaotic moments where you have to set things up as the hero is already walking. A bit short, would love to see a couple of extra levels added :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:17pm

@Team Klappermann - thanks for pointing out about the sound rating. I didn't really catch that when submitting. Made the change.

Aelius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:25am

Really cool idea, but the game froze for me when I hit retry. Maybe you shouldn't have put all the levels into the preview. You could have made the game for the compo if you'd cut the music (or wasn't that an option because of the time?).

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:32am

I think this is one of the best game concepts I've seen so far, it's really fun to be playing a cute monster that helps a hero in the background! Too bad the game breaking bugs are there but keep working on your game ;) Nice graphics and music too.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:49am

@Aelius - time ended up being the main reason. I ended up trying to change some game mechanics near the end of the compo and had it so broken within the last hour that I gave up, thinking the extra day would allow me to get it working smoother and finish out the rest of the levels. Unfortunately I was only able to put a few hours in on Monday, so the game wasn't really any better off. I think I will have a much better approach for the next LD.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:00am

Really great graphics. The Kevin MacLeod "Every Minecraft Video Ever Made" music really rips you out of the immersion though. The gameplay is pretty cool too but it hangs if you hit R while the hero is wandering around.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:14am

Have had a busy week, so I haven't looked at my code since my submission. Finally sat down to take a look at the "R" bug this morning - took less than 10 mins to fix. It's easy when you aren't running around panicked. I now wish I had fixed it sooner. Pressing "R" when the player is already out of the room will no longer freeze the game; at least within the conditions I tested ;)

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

FiSilva says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Very good mechanic, I loved this concept! And I like the way you presented the tutorial. Too bad it's so short. Graphics are pretty too

I'm guessing you fixed the bugs or I was lucky because I had no problems.

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:14am

This is a five star entry for sure! This is perfect! I mean, graphics... music... gameplay... theme... even good tutorials! Congrats! :D!

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:00am

You are really talented. Awesome graphics and animations. Your BG music is also good. Solid entry

Literal Games says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Nice concept, shame there weren't more levels. Could become a fun game!

bombjack says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:51am

I'm so sad I have no Windows machine on which I could test it.
It totally looks like the type of games I like. Any chance you release a Web or Android version ?

Louspirit says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice and beautiful game really! Need more levels ;)

theBobcatte says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:22am

This was a really great LD submission! both the art and idea were rock solid, too bad it starts over after two levels. Enjoyed it quite a bit!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]