Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tentacles

by crafteverywhere - Jam Entry

Control the tentacles to destroy the ships through the sea.

How to play:
Press ESC to open the menu and check the skills you have learnt.
Left click anybody you want to kill to attack it with one of your tentacles.
Right click anywhere to cast the skills.
Use mouse wheel to switch your current skill.
Your dead tentacle will raise up after a while.
When they are all dead, the game is over.

Engine: Game Maker Studio
Graphics: GIMP, Spriter pro
Sound: Most are made by ourselves using BFXR, Audacity and so on.
Text edit: Sublime Text 2
BGM: They are all from the humble game making bundle.

We created most of assets except bgm and some sound effects and all the codes of the game in only three days from scratch by only 3 men.
It's significant for us, but faces the challenge is not small - Almost no sleep and keep coding and coding and debugging.
Thank goodness it has been finished before the deadtime and it looks not bad at least for us.

NOTE:
This game is designed for PC at first time, so if you want to have best game experience please try our windows version. The UI seems too small for a mobile game.
And there are some unique vision effects in PC but not in Andriod.

I've already been overwhelmed by the positive feedback I've received from you and
there is THE PLAN ABOUT THE GAME AFTER JAM:
#0#(have done) Build the game in web.(Need to revise some codes dont work in html5.)
#1#(-w-) Sleep until I feel energized again.
#2#(have done) Tweak the difficulty.
#3#(part have done) More enemy types.
#4#(have done) Rewrite the enemy spawning system and make the enemys coming from both directions.
#5#(not start yet)????????

About us:
We are from China, and this is our first ludumdare.
Hope you enjoy our game and can vote it for us.
Thank you!

How to contact us:
acaly (twitter: @zhenwei_wu) programer, you couldn't see so amazing tentacle animation in this game without his efforts.
kuso(www.facebook.com/baxgames) artist, he drew almost every art you could see in the game.
crafteverywhere (twitter: @crafteverywhere) programer, he designed the poor skills system and the ugly ui, it's almost his bad to make the game isn't balanced very well for now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Theme(Jam)4.08
#100Fun(Jam)3.74
#152Overall(Jam)3.72
#159Graphics(Jam)4.14
#223Innovation(Jam)3.42
#336Mood(Jam)3.37
#380Humor(Jam)3.05

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39am

Please build web also :(

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

really relaxing destruction!

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08am

Really nice graphics! I kind of cheesed it by strictly sticking to the right. Poseidon's fart is abnormally loud. Overall really good!

Nek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08am

Very addicting game,very easy though,great job overall.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13am

Really impressive jam! Loved everything about it! The gameplay was a lot of fun, and all of those upgrades were fun to get- although they started coming in really fast at once point, like I would get 2-3 level ups at once and then when I maxxed out I still had that flashing level up arrow with three locked choices. I think it would be interesting if your body was down in the center and you had to use your tentacles to protect it from the attacks - because it is the difficulty goes down as you level up and can just sit there clicking in the top right corner and almost never get hit. Another option might be to have had some of the ships come in from the other direction- that way the small boats would be able to shoot to the other side and hit your tentacles.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:35am

not too much a challenge for twist skill, but it's quite fun.

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39am

Insanely fun! My fingers are tired from clicking so much destruction! Excellent game! Nearly five stars (dropped some from humor as it's fun, but not funny). This is great work!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57am

very addictive

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57am

Addicting game. Love the abundant unlocks.

Super chill, super fun, super tentacilly.

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58am

Solid jam, kept me entertained with the different enemy types

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:19am

Very nice tentacles of graphics and movement. I like the skill system. I play a long time. Very fun!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40am

This game fulfills my dreams of being a kraken. Nice game overall with a cool upgrade system.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54am

NOOOOO NOT WINDOWS ONLY

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Good game! Thought the start was too slow and would like to have it start harder, sooner, but it was pretty fun to smash ships once I had all the powerups and tidal waves etc. Good stuff. Needs some balance as at about 20 million points and 4000 or so alert status I was just clicking the middle of the screen and surviving. Neat idea.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:11am

Saw this when you posted to the main page and *really* *really* wanted to play, but am web-only :( From your gifs it looks absolutely stunning perfect fun. A really polished looking clean base defender inverted. I had started this LD thinking of building a Kraken that attacks ships, but I was thinking 3D and it was not workable in the timescales with my programmer approach to graphics. Anyway, such a polished looking game as yours deserves to be admired, kudos :)

tGiant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20am

Very nice game. A little bit boring in the beginning but over all very well completed and executed. Much potential.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:19am

This was a great game, loved the music and the sound effects. The tentacle animations were amazing. Great job :D

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:21am

Tentacle animations were super smooth and the game had a lot of power ups. Good job!

tMalicet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:44am

Good looking and fun to play but really too easy.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:29am

This is pretty fun once you get used to the attack timing and the music is pleasant!

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35am

I can't download it, but it looks amazing. Also, I love the idea

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:16am

Really cool game. Just one minor thing. You could have made the ships coming from both directions. Other than that, I enjoyed it :).

martymon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:21am

A game where you play as a giant multi purple tentacled monster? +1!

ajopart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Huge content for a jam ! Congrats. A little bit slow at first but quite addictive. Relaxing music for such a carnage !

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

@A_K_ , @Tuism , the web version is available now! Not test yet but hope it works well.

NineBears says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Made it to 10 million points and then I died, Loved how many enemy types you had

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:43am

This is so awesome! Excellent graphics, really addicting, perhaps the tentacles should move a bit faster though, but anyway - just great!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very nice looking, and a nice mechanic! I would have preferred if the difficulty ramped up much faster (a 1-2 minutes long game which you can play several times). Now, it felt very slow. Nevertheless, you have everything here, I would just tweak the difficulty a bit!

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Im sure the Japanese will love it. Good idea, reminds me of the old Jaws or Echo the dolphin games.

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Pretty fun and addictive game, it's very satisfying to fire all your tentacles as fast as possible when you have all the upgrades :)
The change in the music was surprising but cool.
The level ups seemed to come very fast though, even towards the end.
Good job anyway!

broknecho says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Really nice entry! That was a lot of fun. Only criticism would be that progression was pretty slow but that can always be tweaked!

Great job!

kmiitz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very impressive game, very fun and well-finished! You've done so much in only 72h!
Two things (already said by others):
-the game is way to easy
-the music is not appropriate...at all ;-)

Excellent jam entry overall, good job!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:33pm

The game was an interesting concept at its heart, but the balance definitely needed work. The early game was good, but I was getting upgrades too often: it felt distracting to have to open the upgrade window every 3 seconds. Then, seemingly all of a sudden, everything was way too tough for me to kill and I was maxed out on upgrades. If you can get the balance figured out, I think you'll have a much better game. :)

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Very smooth graphics! I'm impressed you were able to put an entire skill system in the game in just 3 days.

The levels did seem to come fast at some times, and I did end up selecting a skill I didn't really want because it was the only one available (as 3 different levels). Locking skills to progress from 1 -> 2 -> 3 and so on may be a good idea (example: not being able to select level 2 without first having level 1).

Overall, very nice! Good luck with this game in the future.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The game was nice and I played it for a really long time. However I found that the game was too easy even though there was a massive spike in difficulty around 200. At that point I would just repeatedly click and never miss but ships would get away and I could not die.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Got to 17692000 score, at that point the tentacles practically only killed subs :D

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Pretty neat game. Tried the android version, worked well except for some UI rendering problems.

Really besutiful tentacle graphics!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:13pm

PrettyCool~! How excellent it is ~~
and the real feel is really more great than i seen in the gifs before~~ ☆゚

UI,controll feeling,the type of enemies.... esp the part of art Resources~ so completeness, Whether it is this one or that one all pretty cool~!

(And it also reminds me a game about submarine which i often to play when i was a littleboy... but your work is more excellent!)

on the other hands,during the late stages of this game , i feel it is so like a boxing game which is super smooth cool~~! i think this a appropriate metaphor ~XD after all the tentacles with moster just like the hands with a boxer~~

Air force is powerful, they actually expected me to use the lazer-wapon!!!aaahhhh~~ even though some part of the difficulty-curve are also really steep ! but i also have a fun experience~ Only the skill appear too late,I once thought that is because my ignore some method/method operation...

your other game <EED YOUR BEAST> is also pretty cool
( when i finished this game , my appetite improved dramatically~~333)
Oh yeah~~ also so interested in your credits(member division) this time~~ (for example the art section)

----

可能一些小需要改进的地方:

-首先是那个气泡技能-水下攻击,释放声音过于跳大了
-如果一些高速移动的物体会多一些就好了,因为在后期,普通速度的物体基本已经逃不开我暴风骤雨般的拳头的连锁攻击了!
-音效略单调 比如入水/爆炸 声 .另外强烈觉得如果攻击命中时能够产生和船体碰撞的声音 那这种反馈就会就更完美了
-技能出现的时间比较晚这点曾一度令我困惑我是否忽略了某些操作才会如此?(或许因为主动技能和主动技能的区分或许不够直观?)

In short, it's a great game~~Thank you for making this~!keep up the good work`~☆゚

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:40pm

@Tanton-H2X
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Now I have uploaded a new post-jam version which has been improved in many ways, welcome to try it again.:D

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:45pm

WTF!
Wow, That was Fantastic!

The game was amazing, pretty, fun. The stats got a little broken near the end, but overall a great game!

spindizzyMR says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Good game, well made.

Constructive criticism :

I feel there needs to be some kind of a more immediate threat to keep my interest level up. Seemed like nothing could really harm you. Might just not be my sort of ting.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:48pm

@spindizzyMR
Thanks for the feedback. XD
Have you tried the post-jam version? It's much harder than the jam version.

nomand says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:26pm

This is the 4th swat-ships-with-tentacles-kraken game I've played in this LD, so can't give you much on innovation. Good art though. Probably not so much fun for me because yours wasn't the first one I played, but I recommend going over those to see what they've done differently.
That's some crazy amount of upgrade options :D

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Alert level 133 hehe at least got all the power :D

RiaDelva says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:59pm

that was way funnier than I expected it to be :D
Good job! wonderful graphic and some cool ideas

Sparrow says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Excellent entry! Loved it! :)

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Quite a nice entry! Great graphics, good set of skills. I had a bunch of points to say about the jam version, but the post-jam version covered I think all of them! Great job!

Azlen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Could not figure out how to cast skills (on trackpad). Other than that, great game.

kles4enko says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Relaxing game, as mentioned before)

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice game! Was fun to play for a bit. :) POSEIDON'S FART!

thedashdude says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Alert Level 2486, High score of 19532000. Very fun!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Good idea, poor management of levels and difficulty, but great fun :D

Enrymion says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:24am

Maybe you should darken or move to background the tentacles once they've done the attack to make it clear when they finish dealing damage. Currently it's little annoying when a ship moves behind the space that still has tentacle retracting. Other than that it's a fun game, ran out of stuff to level up.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Nice entry fellow krakener! I like the graphics and it's a good game to unwind with!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Awesome game! I really liked how more and more new enemy types appeared even at the end. :)

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Really good! I loved the art for all the different boats.

allinlabs says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:26am

Very nice and polished game. At first I didn't notice that I could level up, you could use something more visible than a flickering button. Maybe a text near the middle of the screen "Use your point to level up" when it's available

Vennril says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:35am

The game looks and plays really good, especially the tentacles. The music changes were also a nice touch. Well done :)

Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:03pm

This must be USA's secret naval weapon for the world's war! The game is very fun to play (I played the post-jam web version), so I'm assuming it's a lot more polished. Great job and the visual and the cool upgrade-mechanics. There is a bug however, I couldn't get some of the first few upgrades in regards to the tentacles attack to activate. I also wish there were more tentacles, say like, eight.

My only gripe is the music, not very consistent with the game play? But I'm sure some people will enjoy the relaxing bits while destroying ships.

Cheers,
-Loi LeMix

Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:25pm

@roaringcatgames
Thanks for your feedbacks.
I will fix the bug as soon as I can.
And adding more tentacles is a very cool idea.
How about unlocking some skills to get the extra tentacles?

marvalgames says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:31am

Really cool but don't know how to cast on android. Graphics and anims are great

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Cool concept, graphically well presented with nice animation details.

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Really fun!
I am impressed by the number of different boats, and all the improvements we can farm!
Amazing! :D

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:00am

The graphics are outstanding, especially the tentacle animation, that's gotta take some serious math! Whatever trigonometric voodoo Wu did paid off, the effect looks excellent!

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Great and funny game!

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:27pm

A bit too imbalanced gameplay values. Ships start spawning a bit too much and the damage received from them is too marginal for a mistake to really feel as one. It's not satisfying enough to level up and wreck ships like I hoped, but it's decent.

LeoM says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice one,
Could be easily addictive.
The difficulty curve is a bit rough, first 10mn are too easy and than it's fu***ng hard, just when it start to be fun with the meca tentacles etc... Bit frustrating ! ^^
Nice job anyway. (I played the post jam)

KeyboardCat says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I love the animation of the tentacles :)

Great work !

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Cute and relaxing little game! Although those tentacles remind me of something...

Deity says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:21am

Really fun and the upgrades and animations are nicely done. Nice work!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:35am

good job! the gameplay is original and the music is pleasant.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Very solid entry. Felt it might have been a bit to easy, as I only got hit one time the entire time I played (and I played until I had gotten every skill and such). Agree that Poseidon's fart was much too loud compared to the music. Really well done though! :)

pixzleone says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:54pm

I like how it was relaxing in the begining and intensified, and the upgrades were really cool.
I didnt seem to be able to use my 2nd or 3d power unfortunatly.
Good job!

dollarone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really well done. Interesting gameplay, upgrades, and challenge. Great fit for the theme. Web version works really well. Awesome work.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:47am

Tentacles are, without exception, a fun and essential game mechanic to any game they feature in.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:15pm

this is really a enjoybal exeperience to Enjoy different kinds of boats~~
the new version's experience is pretty cool! more great!
-the bgm have stronger sense of presence than ever (when the scores than 800000 i get another bgm~~ so amazing! ),also the progress feel more relax( not means the difficulty)
-it become more chanllange because the lazer-boat's appear earlier, sometimes,i feel it is dangerous to attack the lazer-boat(Best program may is avoid to attack it...orz)

-其他还有特殊技能的前置化让技能体系更有存在感了
-因为激光船前置后的特殊威胁 治愈技能也变得更加受到重视了
-视觉角度上看 整个海面的元素移动更加有节奏感了(从战斗体验上感受同样也更加连续了) 这令精神状态更加专注~
-激光在释放瞬间就不会因释放体被破坏而消失了..不知道是好是坏,但确实让我在下手之前更谨慎了
精致的作品果然让人更有食欲~>u<
btw e....:( It'd be all right if there are a save-button
Overall, very polished and nice!
well done~XD

Sep 15, 2015 @ 11:24am

@Tanton-H2X
=w=感谢如此详尽的评测,ld33终于告一段落了,12月的比赛如有机会参加的话,再一起努力吧!

Thanks for your support again!

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Fun game, nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]