Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Hero

by rotpar - Jam Entry

You are the Hero is my first entry to a Ludum Dare ever and also my very first game!

I'd appreciate any feedback and comments you guys might have.

I worked really hard on it and I hope it can entertain you for 5 minutes.


###
Z to jump
X to fire
Arrow keys to move
+/- to change volume
###

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#518Audio(Jam)2.80
#562Fun(Jam)3.01
#655Mood(Jam)2.95
#694Humor(Jam)2.48
#745Overall(Jam)2.98
#1007Innovation(Jam)2.17
#1053Theme(Jam)2.29

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

That was fun! Rather difficult (especially the last real room), but I made it to the end.

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Great job for your first game! Keep it up!

hinerz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

This game had really great level design! all of the little crooks in the walls were essential in clearing the stage... and required lots of good rhythm >_<

I do have one suggestion, when a player leaves one stage, they should be approximately on the same area of the screen. Between the stages, I got confused about where I was and got killed a lot.

Great job! Great content for such short time :D

yajiv says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

Cute graphics! My only complaint is that the arrow projectiles were a bit hard to see against the gray background. Great job for a first game, though :)

Divitos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

Very good for your first game!

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27am

The character selection telling me "wrong" was the greatest. I honestly laughed out loud.

Nice work. It's actually quite hard, and I think that's a good thing.

Aumni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56am

Good gameplay. Some weird collisions here and there but overall, I enjoyed it! The levels seemed really well thought out too. Awesome work for your first game, keep it up!! :)

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59am

Nice art! The game plays along really nicely.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29am

I love the character "selection" screen. XD

By any chance, is it possible to clear without killing ANYONE? It seems there's a few places where it's impossible to get through without killing.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:41am

Hey Ryusui, thanks! And no, you can't win without killing anyone. I had the idea of having a no-killing route but it was really boring :c.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:32am

Nice

dan.marchand says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

Fun! Great work, especially for your first game.

ekajjake says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42am

This is a really hard game! Music was sweet!

LordKawaii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47am

Very good for your first game! Much better then my first one :>

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35am

Highest rated game i have rated so far! love the feel and the art especially! i almost dont believe that this is your first game

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:41am

That was really good! Reminded me a lot of the early Mega Man games! Very challenging and good level design!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

Awesome level design!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:37am

With there was a way to play through without having to murder something and get that wish.

Then I'll wish for all the monsters to die.

Still, jolly good show!

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:57am

Neat! Really good level design for first game. Do another! :)

Reisen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:08am

Good gameplay.

One thing though, when you leave room X through the right, you'd expect to enter room X+1 from the left, not right. (The first 2 screens are fine, then suddenly it's flipped.)

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51am

Well, those were some weird but cool graphics. I liked this a lot. Had one of the people I follow on Twitch play it. :D

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:59am

Awesome first game! Keep it up. The graphics are nice, sound effects are great. Also I like that you have just 1 health, makes the game harder.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01am

Nice job on your first game!

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03am

traditional style game with interesting level designs

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05am

traditional style game with interesting

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35am

Great first game! My biggest issue is that the continuity between each screen seemed off. If I exit screen 1 form the left I'd expect to be on the right of screen 2 but that wasn't always the case. Keep at it, you're doing great!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:51am

Good job with the graphics and the level design here. I had a bit of issue with the controls, as the jumping feels a bit airy and weird. Generally though, quite a good game, was fun while it lasted!

Scripturus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Tough game! Liked it. The controls were a bit wonky for me (in the Flash version), sometimes the character gets stuck on walls or keeps jumping.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Congrats on making your first game!

You should make the jumping more quick. It feels more like levitation than jumping as it is.

It's a bit annoying that you'll jump again if you're holding the jump button when you land. You ought to make it so it only jumps for the initial button press.

I'd also give him the character more jump height since the jumps seem to be very precise vertically. I think the peak of Mario's jumps are around a half-tile above the highest platform he can reach.

The enemies would be more fun to fight if they died faster. It's better to have more enemies with less health than less enemies with more health. The former is way more satisfying than standing there firing at the same enemy.

There's more I could say but it'll all come to you as you continue to make games.

terop2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Finally found one game that works nicely on browser. Looks excellent, the dart-throwing monster was a little too difficult, I couldnt figure out how to protect yourself against the darts :( But anyway, good job.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07pm

The movement was odd. It seemed to speed up and slow down at random.
The jumping felt “floaty”.
The visuals and music were good.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39pm

fun game! controls are a little floaty, but overall very well put together.

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I was really enjoying it, then it locked up on me. (Safari). Nice graphics and cool idea so far. I'm hoping/assuming there's a twist to the story eventually.

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I liked the enemies that fired projectiles. Good progression of difficulty. The jumping felt a little 'floaty'.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Pretty good gameplay wise a bit hard with the one hit and your dead. enjoyed the little tune that plays, graphics were a bit plain and jumping was like floating up. Pretty good game and especially for a first completed game.

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Cool game, quite difficult. One thing that seemed a bit weird are the physics, the falling takes quite some time, which makes it way harder, but I really like that you can block other projectiles.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Not bad, but not really great. Really weird jump mechanic. I liked the character art. Gameplay got repetitive after a while.

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Player movements could be done better, but otherwise it's a surprisingly nice game!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:00am

Nice first game! Congrats! the controls feel a bit floaty but I had fun :D

superpatch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

Solid and hard to beat.

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56am

real good level design. and i don't say that lightly.

physics and controls could use a bit of work but are good enough not to be frustrating.

great work for your first game. design is harder than programming, so really, good work.

(not sure if this was intentional or not, but the way the monsters behaved and some of the level design reminded me of 1001 spikes -- which has some of the best level design of any game i've ever played, so good taste if that was intentional)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:24am

props for using the kenny assets! got through maybe 10 of the rooms, well done!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:56am

Funny start at the menu. Nice work on making it not too easy and yet each one was beatable if you thought about how to pass each part. I thought the random parts of the maps that had nothing in them were interesting because i saw them, yet didn't have to go there. it was nice. The controls were a bit laggy for me where i would click and my char would throw himself into the abyss of a "monster" and kill himself. Trying to pass the one room with 6 walking slimes, 3 tiny gumdrops, and 2 big standing slimes that held the lipstick arrow-shooter was the most difficult. They kept running me over when i would drop down. I eventually figured out you can skip teh last two and that lead me to beat the game. :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:04am

It feels strange when jump, it needs more gravity. Music is repetitive too.
But overall, it's a good game!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:14am

Couldn't quite finish your game but I managed to get through like 6 levels. I thought the gameplay was really nice, the only thing problems I saw was that it was really difficult particularly in the areas with the guys shooting arrows. I would recommend slowing down those arrows to allow for more reaction for the player. Also, there's a game breaking bug where I fall off the level outside of the screen. It happens at the starting area of most levels. I'd check those areas out for a post-LD release. Besides those two things, I saw nothing wrong. It just an overall good game in my opinion and I'd really like to see it improve. :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34am

I'm really impressed at how well you balanced the difficulty of each room. The game really pushed me to explore the extent of my in-game abilities (jump height, shooting). It wasn't mindless; parts of it definitely made me think "wait a minute.." while I was thinking of a better way to approach the situation.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:57am

Little Bugs with the arrows fly trought without hiting the enemy, and the little ones stucked under the earth by jumping on them. Good Music and overall a good game.

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Great work for a first game ever :)
The audio is just a bit repetitive.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Pretty nice graphics :D Made it too the end. very nice.

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Nice level of difficulty, good ominous music and lovely chunky graphics. Great game overall!

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:58pm

The graphics are cute and consistent, and it's very fun to play through. The controls feel a bit unresponsive but that could just be me.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Hahaha I laughed at the hero select! Good job if it's your first game, keep going!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:19am

Wow! This remember me the old times. Good job with the mood :D

But the theme of this jam is you are a monster, not a hero ^^'

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Haha really funny character selection! :D

Nice game! Real good level design!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:23am

Good try at a first game!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:07am

The music kinda drove me crazy and the jumping feels kinda weird but the level design was nice, had fun

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:37am

There are definitely things that could be improved upon, many of which have already been mentioned, but it's fun, especially with it being your first LD game.

valid4life says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:15am

Great for a first game! With a solid understanding of whats needed you will do great!

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:00pm

That is a really solid entry. And when considering that it's your first game ever, that's just amazing. Congratulations!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Pretty impressive for a first game!

petitpois says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:20am

Simple graphics, like the gameplay. Enemies were a bit hard to destroy. Great game.

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:41pm

nice first entry. The controls could be improved.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Impressive for your first ever game, good job! I agree the projectiles could stand out a bit more, plus the jumping felt a little floaty, but overall this was a really good first attempt! :D

Sparrow says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Fun game, frustrating at times, love your take on the theme!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Nice twist ending, but kinda saw it coming. Decent pixelart, OK sfx and music. Not sure if it was deliberate on the part where the enemies turned around when you shot them, but it made the game a helluva lot harder, which is not a bad thing.
Overall a pretty good entry, especially since it was your first attempt at making a game.

alhvi says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:09am

Awesome job for your first game. I loved the graphics. The story was good too. Also the character selection screen was very funny :P. Good job :D

Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I wanted to love the game, but it got so frustrating :(

I did love your character select screen, could have just had you playing as the ranger, but your humorous touch edged me onto finishing!

Demy says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Good work, a little bit uncomfortable controls (jump feels like something long and controllable, but it shouldn't), but hthey're the parts of the design, so ok.

Oct 20, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/t2uXuiSquSk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]