Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Drunkula

by Drunkteam - Jam Entry

Drunkula is a puzzle adventure where you'll have to guide a drunk vampire up to his coffin.
You must click on the objets of the levels!
Will he make it...?

Drunkteam is a multidisciplinary team of six friends who love video games.

Programmers:
- Manuela Ruiz Montiel
@ManuelaRMontiel
- Francisco Moyano Lara
@francismoy

Graphics:
- Antonio Zamudio Pérez
@AntonioZamudioP
- Alberto Allegri Rodríguez
@SSpellboy

Level Designer:
- Esther Páez Sánchez
@wikiseps

Music & Sound:
- Oliver Moya Bueno
@Oli_mus

Some silly bugs have been recently fixed:
- In full-screen mode, it's possible to exit the game by clicking Escape key.
- Fixed a gravity bug that made the character not flip at random times.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#153Humor(Jam)3.58
#211Graphics(Jam)4.03
#212Theme(Jam)3.84
#274Audio(Jam)3.37
#351Mood(Jam)3.35
#417Innovation(Jam)3.14
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#503Fun(Jam)3.09

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

Really like the artistic style

Antonio Z says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26am

Thanks!! We really appreciate your comment ;)

Xinelu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Love the art style! Good game

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

That name ... !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Best game i have played so far!
Really good work!

You should mention that this game is a point and click game! Go forth and rate a lot of games because this really has potential!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Got stuck on the third screen in the castle, the count fell in the hole and wouldn't climb out. Spent a good 5 mins clicking everywhere lol. Also noticed the platforms are a bit buggy. On the second screen it flickered back up and he would walk across when it was up (over thin air) and fall through it when it was down >.<

Really liked the art style, the intro made me laugh, and though the music was a bit grating it grew on me :P

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I couldn't play your game too because of some resolution issue. Some part of the game I could never see or reach.

By the way you told me that Play button doesn't work for you, can you somehow set the resolution to 1920x1080 and try again? The problem might be the same as I had with yours. Are you using Linux or Mac? Because I haven't tested the game on those operating systems.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:13pm

I don't know what's going on but you could try to run it on different resolutions or with windowed mode etc.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Good idea, we played the game together and also got stuck in the castle. The intro artworks are really great!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46pm

The introduction story drawing are extremely nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46pm

The introduction story drawings are extremely nice!

fafastudio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Probably one of my favorite of this LD ! :D
Please check out our game ! It's about vampires too, but with less ambition ^^

JaviCepa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Really nice approach on the theme! I almost got stuck in the third screen but I did find the required web eventually. I encountered some bugs with the gravity but I made it to the end. Nice work with the music/sound too!

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:37am

1st Thought:
I love the mood.

Pros:
Nice use of theme
Art style was good. I really like the silhouette level elements.

Cons:
A bit buggy.
Music was fitting, but after a while it was kind of grating as others have said.
Not really a con, but I wanted to bring notice to a bug.
in the third level, if you use the 1st cross to alter gravity as he is just a little bit past it, he winds up under the table, and then walks off screen. I had to restart.

Overall:
I love the concept, I love your take on the theme. If some of the kinks were worked out, and you guys continued development, this is a game I would definitely be interested in :)

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01am

Short, but sweet. I like the idea and the execution is solid. The graphics are really nice as well.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:15pm

The art is pretty cool, and I loved the premise for the game.
It's a shame it's so short, I would have liked to guide Drunkula for a few more levels.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Thanks so much for all the feedback up to now! We are aware that there are some bugs, and we will work to fix so many of them as we can...

As for the music, our musician intended to represent the vampire's drunkenness, hence its grating orientation :)

@commodoreKid: the thing with the resolution only happened to us with a screen that was supposed to support 1920x1080 but it actually didn't support it fine (because it was a TV, not an PC screen). Can you test it on a different screen?

Galan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Like everyone else, I really love the art, and the music fit the game perfectly. Gave me a good laugh, too.

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Il love the plot =) the art is really good.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Quite origial :). It have been so long since I've played that kind of game. The plot is really fun, the gameplay's cool.
Hearing the vampire puke is a bit boring after many times.

Well done!

reheated says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:40am

It's strange and beautiful, great work.

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This game needs menus! I some bugs during the game and there was no menu that would pop-up with Esc or F1 or whatever that would let me restart or quit. Also, it was a little hard to understand what to do at first. These things aside, it was quite a fun game and the art & sound design was very well done. Good job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:50am

Cool game! Loved the art and the background music! Was a bit hard to click on some objects. Liked how it followed the theme and the intro was awesome! :)

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:47am

Great intro & premise! The idea of getting the drunk count home is cool. :D If your cursor would have been a bat, you could have been his helpful friend. ;)
You should explain the controls (ie clicking on things) in the game itself though.

nwdg says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:30am

Awesome game! Really like the concept!

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Loved the art style, running at 1080p I couldnt see part of the screen though.

napoleon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Nice art !

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Hah, what a terrible night to have a curse (of drunkenness)! This is a great implementation of a fantastic concept! Well done!

intXparts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:36am

Well done! The art and atmosphere are quirky and unique. This is an awesome puzzle game.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:46am

Pretty short but I like the art style plus the walking animation was quite amusing (something I'd expect from a drunk vampire). My only gripe is that there's no way of indicating clickable objects in the game when you hover over them.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Funny use of theme. Drunkula's walk is hilarious. Love it!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Beautiful game :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:22pm

It looks like the game doesn't fit on my screen (1920x1080) seems like stuff is cut off. Is this a known problem?

AlexSet says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:35am

I find the concept very amusing! Great intro, the art is very well done but its a bit too short and not much gameplay. Great entry!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Love the story xD The graphics are good, audio too,gameplay is limited but it's fun! I like this entry! good job!

garygreen says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Great looking game and audio and clever control system.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Good game, it was quite buggy however the style was really nice and the audio was fitting too.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:13am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:18am

Awesome artwork, music . The idea its really nice. its fun. good work!

Vennril says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Funny idea and great art, especially in the intro. Well done :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Love the aesthetic! Good game. A solid project. Thank you ++

oakus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:56am

Funny idea, good theme, nice graphics, sounds too are creating good atmosphere. The game design is such that if you know what to do, is it very easy, replayability is really low here. If you want replayability it would be good to think about some skill based gameplay maybe combined with what you have. Still fun entry though :).

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:53am

Thank you @JaviCepa I got stuck on that third screen and thought it was a glitch in the game. Once I figured out that there was something I was missing I was able to finish. I love the game otherwise. Would like to have had more levels to play.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:44am

I thought the gravity flipping aspect of the game was cool, but under-used. The knocking-tree-down part only occurs once, too, making it hard to appreciate that puzzle. To be honest, while I did eventually beat the game, I found it a bit frustrating that it was really hard to figure out what to click on. It made me feel like I was pixel hunting in a point & click adventure game. It would have been nice if interactable objects either highlighted, or your cursor changed. Additionally, actual mention of the controls for the game (either in description or in-game) would have been nice.

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Funny idea! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]