Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Dragonslug

by Nek - Jam Entry

Take the role of the dragonslug and devour as many creatures as possible,you can run,you can fly,you can eat and above all you can lick.
(i forgot to add in the instructions that you can double-jump)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#290Mood(Jam)3.43
#386Audio(Jam)3.11
#393Theme(Jam)3.62
#549Graphics(Jam)3.35
#616Overall(Jam)3.11
#627Fun(Jam)2.92
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#835Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I really wanted to play this game but the installer didn't work D:

Props for using gamemaker. I gave you a really good sympathy rating because this game looks so cool. :D:D:D

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45pm

The jerky graphics, creepy audio and fleeing creatures make me really feel like an evil monster -- this is definitely the most monsterous game I've played so far!

I didn't realise I could double-jump straight away, which made it very hard -- might be worth adding this to the instructions.

(Also as a practical tip, it'd be nicer if you didn't have to install the game -- it'd be easier if the .exe and the resources were just all downloaded in a zip file.)

Big Cow says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I liked the flying animation and the double jump and its satisfying when you kill them. Not obious you are dieing when you hit something but the music is well done, moody and slightly disturbing in a good way haha.

Nek says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:00pm

thanks for the feedback guys and sorry for any inconvenience,i will fix them if i continiue the game,cheers!

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Excellent game. Loved how eating creatures restored your health, it got really intense in later levels because of that mechanic. Graphics, music, everything set a fitting atmosphere.

I also didn't realize about double jumping at first.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Buggy, but nice

jphelps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

Great job, it was pretty fun

VoxelSquare says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Those paint graphics get me going crazy. Hehehe

tGiant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:10am

wow, I really enjoyed your art style.
This is nicely done. Sound also feel fitting.

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:10am

Pretty hard and nice game!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:01pm

good game and nice animation good job

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12pm

LOVED the art and animations. I could see this being a really fun platformer with some more polish. The level design was a little confusing, but eating enemies felt great when I could actually get to them.

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:30am

There was a lot to digest at the beginning since there's so much thrown at the player. With some better pacing this would be really great.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Love the graphics. I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) youtu.be/Ly6pR3C_dVc

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:45am

Great art! If you fall down though you get stuck and cant win. Also the red bird can fly through platforms, dont know if that is intentional. Maybe add clearer paths through the levels

Nek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:27am

Yes the game has a lot of problems especially with level design,the bird is supposed to pass trhough horizontal platforms btw,i will make a post ld version soon and i'll fix most of the problems.thanks everyone for the feedback.

Nek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:28am

oh and you dont get stuck perhaps you didnt realize you can double jump,i forgot to add it to the instructions.

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:28am

Very interesting art style

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:38pm

The music is nice! The graphics is styled!
Please provide zip file rather than install file, for a jam game.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I hav a serious complaint, which is the hitboxes of the spikes. They seem to be block-shaped, and don't represent the actual spikes' sizes.
Other than that, I thought the music was very, very good. I had to stop for a few minutes when I was done with the game to listen to the music.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:54am

I love it! Simple and effective graphics and very fun!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:07am

GameMaker is awesome right? Also, cool game! really like the art style, definitely fits the monstrous theme. Jumping and killing both feel really good too

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:37am

Really good and hard game! You should write in he description above that you can double jump -_-

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:44am

I really liked the style!

glerikud says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:19pm

I don't think it's a good idea to pack your game into an installer at LD. The graphics were nice, but I had to read the comments to realize I can double-jump.

alyphen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:47pm

It's pretty dark, the music is really well done, the graphical style choice is nice but it feels like a lot of the sprites were rushed.
I'd say for improvement, a graphical touch-up, some smarter level design (rather than just running around and eating everything while avoiding spikes, make it so you hasve to think to get around them) and more interesting AI (as opposed to just running away when you're close and running towards you if you look the other way) could be good.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Creepy, jerky graphics elevated the mood nicely, well done!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Please, no installers in the future

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice game! good job!

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:39am

A platform game with special art and audio. Fun.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Nice simplistic graphics and music really set the tone. Not bad, fun to play! :)

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:43am

Cool art style, it adds much to the atmosphere!
Please, check the video of me playing and commenting: https://youtu.be/CEXUUzwEAa8
Your game is at 6:14

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:15am

This was a very interesting game! Liked the graphics a lot!

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Awesome game, some levels are hard others are easy. I love the creepy atmosphere of your game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]