Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

AM I?

by DruhinM - Jam Entry

I come out of the pub, drunk. I take the wheels and start driving.
Do i become the monster then, killing people, damaging cars and harassing girls? But we do have a choice.We can hire a cab or take a lift from a friend.So the thought which ponders on, Am I the monster?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#489Humor(Jam)2.86
#624Graphics(Jam)3.18
#703Theme(Jam)3.21
#767Mood(Jam)2.78
#873Fun(Jam)2.58
#887Overall(Jam)2.79
#994Innovation(Jam)2.26

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19am

That bg soundtrack!

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

the fact that the embeded version of this scrolls around as you play only enhances the feeling of drunkenness

overall its a creative take on the theme and decent art too

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21am

I enjoy the art! Looks very nice.

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

Wasn't working for me, couldn't get past menu screen.

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:28am

Lookit me! No hands!

f2jason says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31am

Pretty fun little game, and an interesting interpretation of the theme. Some sorting issues - when driving on the front sidewalk, I sorted behind the cars. Wish there was a way to restart at the end

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32am

Wish there was a restart button! Wasn't really sure what the "strategy" was but you nailed the theme. Rest of it is somewhat bland but good!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:35am

Yes there are few sorting issues.

hdong says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:37am

Loved the your unique take on the theme
There should have been a restart button at the end
Enjoyed the soundtrack
Overall a fun, nice game

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42am

simple game with a good message :)

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43am

This background song :D
Nice idea!

gquibao says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57am

Awesome! The interpretation of the theme was pretty amazing, also enjoyed a lot the graphics!! Congrats!!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02am

Thanks everyone for the warm feedback so far. We will upload a Post Ludum link for Web very soon with the fixes, so that you can play that version too

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18am

Soundtrack is awesome.

conradte3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:22am

Pretty fun game with a GREAT message and good use of the theme. Would be cool to have some visual affects on the screen distorting things and whatnot but the graphics were still awesome. (Added a web version of my game which you commented on by the way)

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:23am

Some things here and there could improve, I noticed that if you go to the bottom sidewalk your body sprite is behind the cars, which makes no sense.
Props for touching a real problem.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:25am

Fun while it lasted, although I didn't quite get if there was a victory condition or strategy that you're supposed to do.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26am

Need a restart button!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29am

A nice combination of graphics and music. A bit short but a complete loop. Good job!

There were a few things I'd love to see improved:
Sounds: I really liked the BG music - SO: I'm drunk and on a motorcycle - why can't I hear it?
Controls: You could add to the feeling of drunkenness by making the controls even laggier?
Wheelie: Something about the wheely-ing looked off. Looks like it rotated around the center and didn't have the pivot in the rear wheel.

Again congrats on finishing for the jam!

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

Entertaining!

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52am

The soundtrack is great!

The game... Is rudimentary. Graphics are pretty good.

The dichotomy of trying to fit a social message into the game while the game doesn't reflect that message (your character is having fun, and you're "scoring" for property damage and killing girls (which is somehow called "harassing"))

I get it, but it doesn't work yet.

Technically:
There's no restart button?
I feel the movement speed is way too fast for such a small space of movement.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:55am

Awesome graphics, and great humor/idea.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05am

Tuism: Thanks for the feedback. We thought the message is, that if you are drunk, you are causing so much damage. So you are not scoring for all that. hopefully we improve it further to get the message across. Also if you are close to a girl and start whistling at her, it is counted at harass, not when you kill her

jk5000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45am

Great take on the theme. Love playing your game.

Afenda says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48am

The game does not work on unity player in my browser. Sadly

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49am

You know, I think I want that motorbike just because it can ram into multiple objects and not be broken.
Not because want to smash people, but just for study. Think of the advancements we could make by studying such and indestructible material! =P
Fun to play, good looking.
Well done!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51am

It may not work in newer version of Chrome as NPAPI plugin is removed by Chrome.Will work in Mozilla and IE. You can however enable the flag in chrome by pasting this is the address bar :chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:05am

Thanks for pointing out the most important driving lesson: don't drink and drive.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:28am

Somewhat classic gameplay, but it works. Art is pretty nice and listening to Death Grips while driving is pretty neat!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

Interesting take of the theme.
The message is really clear. Good job.

The gameplay is a bit clumsy (i can't really figure out the collisions), but overall is nice.

Cheers,
Morco (Los Pixelados team)

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice graphics. Very cute.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:45am

Windows download doesn't seem to work? http://puu.sh/jNOVC/4635362501.png

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55am

Nice game. Not a big fan of the soundtrack though :P. Decent graphics.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38am

Cool little game, would be nice to regain health over time.

superpatch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Nice concept for the theme, graphic is pretty, music is great.

sikosis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Very cool artwork, scrolling and background music.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Nice Game.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Great artwork and interpretation of the theme!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Cool game, I enjoyed how you took this opportunity to put down drinking and driving!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I like the art, interesting take on theme. Game play was decent.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Good art. Good twist on theme. BGM helped too.

Coac says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:29pm

awesome yeah~

DarthThomas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Cool game, soundtrack is hilarious. :)

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Heh, that music :D

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:09pm

The audio is amazing ! Graphics are really nice, and I must say that the concept is quite clever :)

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13pm

A FEAST FOR THE EARS oh wait i can't rate the audio

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Cool music and premise. Gets old fast though.

tayl1r says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I feel bad.

fafastudio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Too bad that sometimes, you must take a hit ! Well play though

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:44pm

I like the concept behind this and think that it was fairly well made but it did have some issues.
I liked the wheelie very much.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

drunk on the motorcycle.the message on the end is clear to me.also nice music

Daukan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nice graphics in my opinion.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

I like the Idea, very educational.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:12am

Excellent graphics, but what a weird game! lol -- I don't know how to feel about it. haha

SolomaZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:45am

The sense of being out of control was strong. And I enjoyed the music.

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53am

i like your art. great job

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:58am

This game is awesome.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:35am

i had a chuckle, the laugh reminded me of the spanked up madmen from GTA III :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:36am

Awesome music. Cool art. Nice entry altogether. I enjoyed it.

foxboard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:00am

Has a few issues. The death screen kills all the mood and theme of the overall jam.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:48am

Drunk drivers are definitely monsters. Nice work.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:53am

I truly am a monster when I make the clear-headed decision to drive on the sidewalk so I die slower.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01am

Wish the lowering of health by colliding with things was less a focus and the game was more centred around being a reckless drunkard

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:21am

That music is great.

Player still don't feel like a drunk people. Maybe you can make blur screen or harder control at some point.

Cerberus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:49am

it was really fun and enjoyable, the graphics were nice. great final message.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:10am

The music is unique and fits the mood well and I do like the graphics a lot :) The gameplay could have done with being more fleshed out though. Maybe instead of just avoiding things, he could throw his bottle at the cars or something? haha. Really good job on finishing a game.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:46am

Cool message for the drunk driving and monster theme. A bit weak on the development value tho...

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Stuck on menu screen. Sorry mate. Nice BG track though!

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Nice message and the gameplay is fun! Nice art too. I agree that it would be nice to have the gameplay fit even more in with the idea that you're drunk--maybe moving on its own or sometimes inverting controls?

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:21pm

This is pretty hilarious and follows the theme pretty well, but there's not much to do. That background music is pretty much perfect.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Great conept. Maybe you could more clearly show the hitboxes of cars and such.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I like the take on the theme, good choice. I was glad to see the bike veered off course after a while. That added to the challenge. Good job!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Haha the song, very nice entry

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Great sound! Gameplay is basic but works smoothly, no bugs. An ending condition would be good.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Fun little game. The music fits just perfect. Simple gameplay, nice graphics- Not really much else to say.
Well done.

Divitos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Very unique and fun game!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Not a fan of that background music.

The idea is good, I'd be slightly more worride about the pickup truck that seems intent on driving down the middle of the road though.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Guys the trick to a good score is to focus on pedestrians, they do the least health damage you see. The street is way more dangerous, especially with those trucks driving down the middle.

MagentaGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Funny and amazing art!!! Congrats from Brazil.

Interface says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:45am

Cool entry and interesting interpretation of the theme.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Hey it was good! I think that maybe some sound for hitting cars and people would have been good. Anyways good job.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice idea with a correct message. Good work :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very decent. Nice graphics and cool choice of tune. Could do with it being a bit clearer when you're going to hit something and some feedback when you do, I died without realising I'd hit anything the first play through.

Good entry overall. And I am now quitting drinking.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Love the education-aspect ;)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:33am

Like the art and music. Original theme 's interpretation

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:29am

Really awesome soundtrack. Shame I can't rate it D:

yuigoto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I do believe drunk drivers/motorcyclists are always monsters too, so I think it fits perfectly within the theme.

Good work on the art, some visual FX would improve the idea even more!

Controls are working just fine for me, both Web/PC versions work great. Sometimes I can't get to the upper sidewalk in the web version. :P

Nice work, really. If you expand on it, you could use it to make some educational game about drunk driving too! Which I think it's waaay better than the instructional videos I've watched when I got my license. :P

Cheers and Congrats!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Can't click play in embedded window, works fine from Web link.

Always like an educational game!

Gaga says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:57am

Great sounding and looking, really missed some feedback when hitting stuff tho.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:24am

Interesting idea, but not much to do besides drive on the sidewalk. :P

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:05am

Cool idea, the z ordering was a little off but played well.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Love it!

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:25am

That insane and great soundtrack. I like a lot the interpretation of the theme. At the beginning i get an error, an asset that cannot be loaded (music I guess), but when I die and game goes back to the main screen, music plays already. Great entry.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:06am

Thanks for playing Moon Witch.

This drunk driver is indeed a monster.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:17pm

A bit heavy-handed with the theme, perhaps, especially the "don't drink and drive" at the end. Also, the title implies that there's a way to decide not to be a monster, but I couldn't find one.

Could do with some feedback for taking damage and crashing. Wasn't sure what the difference between killing people and harassing girls was, to be honest.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I love the soundtrack! And the graphics are very good.

Jacktheviper says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:47pm

It is nice to note how the presentation and innovative take on the theme instantly made such straight foward gameplay a lot more interesting, well done.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:49pm

looks great, pretty fun to play. And there is a moral, so I feel improved.....

Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:13am

Nice art style!

careless says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Had some issues with the small I-frame not showing all of the game.

An interesting take on the theme. Crazy background music, nice artwork.

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:06pm

the game is quite original.

fdslk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Nice take on the theme, nice mood and setting too. The graphics and sound are superb. I liked the excited bike like gameplay too

Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Nice art, and okay gameplay. Good job!

NuDawg says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nicely done!

Mubox says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I liked your graphics... And the music is awesome. :D
Nice message in description. ^^'

PS: We have fixed our game, if you want to see it again. ^^
Thank you.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

That laugh is pretty infectious. Pretty solid entry although it would be more interesting to see the player character's drunkenness into play (e.g. flipping the controls from time to time).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]