Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Final Boss

by Felipeddest - Jam Entry

Everytime the final form of the last boss is a giant monster with floating hands, now is your chance to control it.

Pixel Art Graphics by Bruno Cesar (fb.com/bcstudio)

Intro Cutscene by Lucas Guimarães

Boss Programming by Felipe Tasca (https://twitter.com/FelipeTasca)

Hero IA Programming by Carlos Tasca

Music/Sound Effects by Juliano Zucarelli (https://www.facebook.com/Ozukamusic)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#64Theme(Jam)4.13
#185Graphics(Jam)4.09
#205Audio(Jam)3.50
#250Overall(Jam)3.55
#336Humor(Jam)3.15
#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

guigcosta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

Very fun game, awesome art

PauloAguiar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Really nice original content!

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I have that hero a nice challence, then, er... well... um... I let him won, yeah. Not that I wasn't skilled enough to beat him or anything.
----
When the hero is at the exact center, there is no way to attack him.
The good parts of the fight are when trying to attack him on one side and he evades towards the other side, then hitting him with the other hand if you are fast enough :p
This boss needs more attack patterns :p

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Pretty good! My only complaint is that when the hero is directly beneath you, you can't hit him.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Really nice entry. I loved the Mega-man references (and the artwork absolutely lives up to those games) and how it actually felt like playing as a boss. It took me a few tries to beat it, but I got it down in the end. A few more boss-style attacks would've been nice but it was still very fun.

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53am

Nice entry! This was a really neat interpretation of the theme. The pixel art was fantastic, the audio was solid. Really challenging, thats a good thing! The into movie was a little off-putting compared to the rest of the games aesthetic, however. Nice job with this!

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:00am

Thanks guys ! Nice that you liked it!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04am

Fantastic use of theme. The game got very intense towards the end. Amazing job! Btw, I made a smaller window size version of my game like you asked if you want to try it out.

Daukan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:54pm

You have really made a good looking game.

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Really good idea and amazing art, but controls not so sensitive as it should be.

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:04am

I don't like when the hero goes right between your hands and you can't do much. But this is actually a super cool entry. Overall I enjoyed it.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:25am

interesting idea, though I wish I had more attacks

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:17pm

if I was the hero, I would stay just below the boss' head ;)

bombjack says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:56am

arrrrghhhh.. unskipable into... Nice entry anyway. Like the art very much and the gameplay is original.

Kai20 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:17pm

mega boss ;9 great visuals

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]