Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Wolf Comes Out at 18:00

by Stephen Patrick - Compo Entry

Your town has recently been beset by a series of sheep-disappearances. The villagers have started to get suspicious about what might be causing these. Some even think there's a werewolf about.
There is. You are that werewolf. Every night you transform, and the populace won't treat you nice. You need to keep yourself fed and healthy long enough to survive their suspicion.
Features 4 different endings.
Controls: Arrow Keys or WASD to move, Mouse to interact.

M to mute the music.
(This only works if you have pressed start already, sorry!)



I've been informed that this runs very slowly in firefox, and yes that seems to be the case. From my experience with this engine, I would recommend using Chrome for the time being. I should have (at least attempted) a port to help the efficiency problems in Firefox within a few days. Thank you to Empyrealhell for pointing this out to me!

For those who have commented about crashes who might want to try the game again: here are the crash-bug-fix updates:

(all times for updates CST)

Update 1: 8/23 9:06 PM Game no longer crashes on bullets firing.

Update 2: 8/23 10:16 PM Trying to speak to gravestones no longer crashes the game.

Update 3: 8/23 10:47 PM Trying to speak to someone after failing to kill more than 25% of the town in one night (but killing somebody) no longer causes a crash.

Update 4: 8/24 3:45 AM Efficiency improvements to help out Firefox users. Not significant enough for a good experience, but significantly better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#337Theme3.59
#509Mood2.94
#541Graphics2.94
#721Overall2.84
#811Fun2.47

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Playing in firefox, the controls don't seem to be working correctly, sometimes they don't do anything, other times they go off like five times in a row, so you can't really control the character at all. It looks fun, I'll be checking back for when you get the control issues figured out.

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Pretty cool!

Pros:
-I love the art style
-Cool mechanic, never seen it before

Cons:
-Hard to understand at first
-Music is kinda annoying :P

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:33am

Sorry, the music is kind of cool but I can't figure out what to do. I tried to click on people to eat them but it didn't seem to work. A bit skittish the movement. At least I could play it in the browser. Cool that you used CraftyJS. the fog of war and opening doors, that must have been figured out ahead of time, cause why work on that logic for a 48-hours competition! The sheep are cool.

jaegerpicker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35am

It's fun and surprisingly big world to play on. It's cool. nice job! The controls felt a little hard to use.

Dege says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37am

Great work, nice concept and good realization (games playable from the browser are always great).
I don't know if it's intended but you can feed indefinitely from a dead body of a villager or from his tombstone. Also sometimes the map don't move around when you walk around the corners.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

overall, good work, it had a nice concept and fit the theme well. Unfortunately the controls were pretty laggy which got in the way.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

Wonderful graphics. Great mechanics, but i loved the pixel art.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24am

Neat idea, but I'm passing on rating it since it was nearly unplayable for me on Firefox. Super laggy. The mouse cursor also seems to be offset by about 2 squares for some reason.

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

So the game crashed on the second day when I tried to talk to a gun dude. I'd also mention that I was able to sit on a single villager corpse and eat it repeatedly all night. So a few bugs to iron out I think.

On the plus side the music is nice and atmospheric, and the game overall seems to be pretty fun, although there is a lot of waiting around involved.

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01am

promising

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

A fun game, the idea behind it is really nice. The clicking thing is a bit weird some times but nothing annoying. Good job.

bentglasstube says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31pm

The controls were pretty awkward with having to click on things while using the keyboard to control. It was hard keep the mouse in a useful position while moving across the screen. Definitely an interesting concept though!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I liked it a lot! Very cool idea

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Movement is pretty finicky. I like the game's concept, though.

Move127 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

The controls are difficult to get around. The art is pretty good.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:36am

It's a bit buggy, especially the controls. But I like the idea.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:46am

So the controls are supposed to be: Arrows or WASD to move, click to interact with something nearby the player at an angle according to the click position. Is this not happening for some players?

UncleChris says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23pm

I like the game, the art style was very good. I died of hunger my first night, cause I didn't realize that I could break walls or trees.
The theme was right on.
The music was a little annoying, but mutable.
I think it was pretty good game over all.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Controls were a little buggy, sometimes they worked and sometimes not. I got the idea and it's pretty neat, only the execution is not that spectacular. You could make free movement and a visible effect for interactions.

Saf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Good game! Loved the open world feel.
The music feels good at first but gets repetitive. I wish the controls were just keyboard.. The mouse makes it hard to control.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]