Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Vermy The Vomiting Zombie

by Gray Sullivan - Compo Entry

Theme: You are the monster.

This is the game for my first Ludum Dare!

Video games; there's always a dungeon room with a monster to fight, and to take the loot. Well now, YOU are the monster. Defend your loot by vomiting at enemies!

NOTE:
Control glitch fixed, now works properly. (Arrow keys).

NOTE:
Requires Java 1.6+.
If you get 'A Java Exception has occurred' error, update your Java.

CONTROLS:

WASD - Movement.

HOW TO PLAY:

Aim your zombie so that his puke will land on enemies. Keep enemies away from the chests! If all three chests are opened, you lose!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#377Theme3.52
#462Audio2.73
#639Humor2.31
#708Graphics2.58
#759Mood2.47
#797Fun2.49
#833Overall2.64
#876Innovation2.11

Comments

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

Well. Controls might be better (make walking and shooting separate).
IMO, enemies are too strong
AI is pretty good tho. And the game well fits the theme

fatSquirrel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

Nice tile map and graphics, generally the game looks really nice. Restarting the game didn't set me to full health. Playing as the monster I felt underpowered. The sounds fit the game well.

avultima says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:26am

This game definitely screams for some twin stick control!

Move with WASD and shoot with Arrow keys! Funny concept.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40am

Nice sprites. Warriors could be a little slower, and pathfinding could be better, but OK overall. Reminds me Llamatron :D

Jimbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51am

Sorry, couldn't play, not willing to install Java ^_^.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51am

Well, I think those warriors are more like monsters, as they were robbing the poor green creature...

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52am

Nice game :D I like the way you did it! :D

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:21am

Interesting choice of controls with the shooting. Keep up the hard work!

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33am

Very decent job for a first LD, congrats. I wish there was a ZQSD or arrows control scheme

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

Darn! I couldn't get this to run on MacOSX. What version of Java does this need?

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46am

I think having separate controls for the shooting direction would make the game more exciting, since you wouldn't just be running away all the time. I like the character designs and the animations.

I noticed a bug where an enemy gets stuck in the door and the level never ends.

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25am

I never thought I will write something like that here, but this vomit is too hard to control. Yep, I agree with previous reviewers that there should be separated controls for shooting, but nice try.

ireal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:51am

Hey, Good first try! I agree with the others, maybe have a separate way to shoot in another direction~

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:54am

For a first Ludum Dare that's not bad at all :-)
I like that you managed to create a bit of a mood with simple sprites and music.
General feel could be better but that's the kind of aspect that takes days to get right!

Sadale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58am

It doesn't run on my linux.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:59am

It has a bug in it where there is no way to know how long you last after the first round. The second round I lasted 3-4 minutes for sure but then it said, it was 62 seconds. :( Thought it fit the theme well, but the bugs made it hard to give a better score.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04am

Nice job. Vomiting wasn't effective enough IMO.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:05am

$ java -jar Vermy.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/graysulli
van/main/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:16am

Pretty good for a first timer! I'm with everyone else though, would be great if vomiting wasn't in the direction you're facing. And there's probably a few too many bad guys at once, which is why it's a good thing they seem to get stuck on the loot. And the entrance. And each other. Also I think it finally bugged from me when there was (at least one, but probably two or more) enemies stuck at the entrance in a way that they couldn't get out, but I couldn't shoot them.

Don't take all that to say I hated it though; I actually rated it pretty highly. It could just, like most LD entries, use a bit more polish.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32am

Interesting idea :D
But as some were already saying, the movement and shooting should be separate^^

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:35am

I lasted 58 seconds. Controls might be better. You could try to add in a "bite" mechanic to turn guards into zombies :P

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:48am

Good java game :)

It would have been easier to control the monster with arrow keys on an azerty keyboard.

Gray Sullivan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:19am

I originally tried to make the shooting controlled by arrow keys, but glitched and I did not have time to fix it. Just found a fix for it, enjoy the arrow key controller!

scottredrup says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06am

Didn't run for me on Windows?

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:20am

Does not run on Win10. "A Java excption has occured". - Not rated.

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29am

Couldn't run, win 8:
Java Virtual Machine Launcher
A Java Exception has occurred.

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:40am

I got it to run on Win10 after re-installing Java. Apparently broke during the upgrade, I guess.

Controls are somewhat sluggish. Only 2 men enter the arena, and I can't hit the second. Game froze.

Audio's nice.

There's no button for stopping during the game?

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

Nice entry for a first!
I think the idea was great, just wasn't developed to its full potential thus wasn't as fun as it could be.
The graphics and sound are nice though =]

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Good little game.

TestSubject06 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24am

I would have lasted longer if the puke was more frequent. Could have used a puke sound, but otherwise it was really well put together!

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

lasted 91 seconds, would be nice to have more types of sodliers. But overall I loved how they humped the chests :D

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Nice game!

Pros:
-Fun and simple
-Cool mechanic

Cons:
-Enemies AI is pretty basic
-Could improve graphically

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:17pm

No indication you had to use the arrow keys to fire (or, indeed any mention of using WASD to move).

Eventually figured it out, but could do with some instructions.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Graphics could use some work, and the enemies are a little too strong. But I had a lot of raging fun playing this.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Pretty nice. Great graphics :D

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Excellent game! I thought that this game was very good! I picked up the controls and knew exactly what I had to do instantly. This game founds its genius through simplicity. 10/10

moon519 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Good game! Graphics are good. Controls are ok, and it's very fun to shoot. Music is a bit repetitive.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Cool idea, would be nice to fire diagonaly

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:07pm

"A Java Exception occurred"

airfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:34am

Digging the graphics style here

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:46am

I'm using Java 7 and get Unsupported major.minor version 52.0 error. I'm in Arch Linux x64

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

It has the beginnings of a good game. You have a good idea, solid gfx, sfx, and a good start on music. It felt like there wasn't really much to it though. Different enemies, more than one "hit" sprite, animation on the vomit, and better/more powerful zombie would be nice to see.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36am

Nice game

aeai says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:11am

This was fun! Harder than expected.

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:19am

Pretty nice game, well done! Music volume was a bit low compared to the sfx. Would be nice to get upgrades from dead enemies, or gold to buy ugrade in a shop or something. This was pretty fun anyway :)

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice effort here. I love the pixel art and love the idea! Who hasn't dreamed of protecting their treasure trove by vomiting on intruders, right? I would consider speeding up the gameplay all around: running speed, firing speed, even the music.

mubox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Good. :)

What if the monster could retrieve the treasure?
I would be more time playing. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]