Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Three Bags Full

by EmptyThroneTeam - Jam Entry

In this game, you play as a tired mother who is trying to keep her family fed, happy, and alive. Shear your sheep, purchase items from the shop, and keep the darkness at bay. As the game progresses, you will encounter temptation and evil that asks you the simple question: is your comfort worth more than the lives of your family?

Please enjoy this game, this is our first Ludum Dare entry and we are very proud of what we've made in such a short period of time. This game features branching path dialogue, resource management, and charming art right out of a storybook.

KNOWN BUGS:
Food does not update properly with the conversations. Please use your imagination.

CREDITS:
Game Design, Writing, Direction: Robert J. Rappoport
Art: Jonathan Ying, Parker Fox, Rhiannon R.S.
Programming: Devin Stiert
Sound Mixing: David Muto

Built using Unity. Played through Unity Web Player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Graphics(Jam)4.67
#23Mood(Jam)4.31
#37Overall(Jam)4.10
#78Theme(Jam)4.10
#85Audio(Jam)3.82
#107Innovation(Jam)3.70
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Sound indeed never loaded for me (tried a few times), this would be perfectly legal to fix during the voting period. So far (up to day 4) its' been clicking on sheep and clicking on sad people. Nice drawn art style.

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Well, the storyline was interesting enough for me to want to play through it, but it doesn't seem finished.

Very pretty game, too.

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Very Good Game I really Like it :)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Wow, for such a short time period you guys did a STELLAR job. Some nitpicks though. The kids are really passive, so it was a bit alarming to find i could feed them to the monster since the motivation to do so isn't really there, despite being poor (that's a pretty drastic action for some money). There's also a bug where I click on two sheep to sheer them, but the mother stops mid-action for both of them and I get no wool, and the sheep shear animation continues to play.

Despite this I gave you five stars. I love coming across games that push the medium and this definitely does that. And made in 72 hours, holy crap!!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Great entry. Good mix of tough decisions and day-to-day grind. Art, sound, playstyle, all were good. Well done!

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:39pm

it was hard for me to get into but really well polished. great job ^^

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:41pm

The story is super creepy, but I don't know exactly what was going on. One of the best games I've played so far! And the hand-drawn art is awesome. 5 stars!

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Excellent! It got me hooked!
I played a first time and got the bad ending, and then I played it for a second time and became a king of sheep shearing business! Once you buy the golden scissors everything comes out quite easy!

Keep up the supergood work people! You rock!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great story! I was annoyed that after the second sacrifice they broke in the fence anyway, but to quote Darth Vader, "I have altered the deal. Pray I do not alter it further." Nice art. The fade to night looked a little funky, and the night conversations were a little slow to click through one line at a time, but otherwise an amazing job.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:07pm

I really like this. I actually felt compelled to go along with the monster's plan in my first play through. This was a very well told story.
The art style was nice and I loved the design of the monster.
My only criticism is that it felt a bit slow at times.

Ilana says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:53am

Really loved this game. Totally loved going through it as the "bad mom" at the beginning, loved the fact that the daughter pairs up with another lady, and love how much money I was making by the end with the golden sheers :P.

Minor quibbles: buying food didn't seem to change the family's mood at all, and also teaching the daughter to shoot or use a sword didn't seem to be a way to make them defeat the monster, which I think could have been a good ending too.

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Almost perfect. Great job.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Great game! Beautiful artwork. Love the sound effects and the strategic management dynamics. I hope you are going to develop this further! Saw it while @Split82 was playing it and had to give it a try. Great job!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Really good game first time I played it and got bad ending but it was a good playthough I'm hopping for a sequel.

Cheers,
<Alin Putinelu> (of Los Pixelados team)

Dianouille says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It's really nice to see something different ! The mood is perfect, the art is nice, the story is well made and the sound matches the mood very well ! Sometimes it was a little slow but you did an awesome job !

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:27am

amazing graphics and interesting game : )

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

The art is great and the story is interesting enough. It's cool to see the decisions one must make each day. Pretty solid entry.

Oct 8, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Really nice graphics, great story. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/0AIZTu6ja8E

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:29am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]