Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Wolf

by KingGames - Compo Entry

You are a were-wolf. Your goal is to kill all of the humans.
In this Small game you have 3 people to choose from.
However, you can only kill a person ONCE!
(Now officialy bug-free :) )
If you are still experiencing bugs, download the latest version by clicking on your OS.
You will need Java to play this game. (Most computers have it pre-installed).
Controls:
W = UP
S = DOWN
A = LEFT
D = RIGHT
If in Choose-A-Victim menu, press Space to begin the level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#686Theme3.00
#695Humor2.18
#759Mood2.47
#760Innovation2.50
#862Overall2.57
#866Graphics2.11
#905Fun2.10
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

First: Thanks for keeping the download size to an impressive 36 kb. I've seen games that looked like less but were over 100 megs in size! This reminds me in both graphics and sound (and file size apparently ;)) of good old Atari 2600 games. Still a bit of instructions would have been nice. From what I gathered I could select from 3 characters but I could only eat 2 and I would die pretty fast.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Some instructions would be nice, also it seems to be quite buggy as you die a lot and the characters sometimes walk in random directions on their own.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Bugs prevented me from killing the last person :(

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39pm

As a big Atari fan, I liked this game not just for it's graphics but it's feel in general, although the issues with what seem to be stuck inputs are really annoying.

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I think your idea was great and it fitted the theme, but it would be nice if you could explain your controls in advance because I had trouble navigating through the menu.

Mizipzor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Wow, that was... interesting. In this super minimalist game figuring out how to play is half the game. I'm not sure it works, but I will remember this one.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I got a bug where it shows me the "Bill" screen and if I press space it just get me another screen,the "You kill bill" screen!

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34pm

The lack of instructions make it hard to give the game a better rating as it is difficult to play or know if you are doing the right thing. Graphics style is nice, some music would have added to the game a lot I feel.

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:57pm

MegasDragos1, did you already kill Bill? You can't kill someone multiple times. And the stuck inputs are currently being fixed.

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Razavidn Did you walk into the top door and it stopped you? That's not a bug. Only puzzles ;)

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Sorry, I meant did it put you in the front yard

KingGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

And Phil Strahl, 1: Thanks :) All my games somehow stay smaller than a few megs, even if their Graphics are amazing. 2: I saw your comment and fixed some things :)

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:37am

Great concept, with time and instruictions I believe this could become a pretty playable game. Maybe add numbers counting down as well as the bar as well as easier navigation between menus

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Note:You can apparently still kill bill multiple times...

KingGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

Hmmm... Maybe it's because I didn't use the boolean system to make them dead until after bill... Should definitely fix that. Thanks :)

KingGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:57am

Fixed! Already had a boolean for BillDead I just wasn't using it at all :P

GameQuester says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Nice concept. Is there something after I killed the 3 people? If not, it's pretty short(dosen't have to be bad, my game is also very short). Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]