Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

From The Jaws of Death

by demogorgon - Compo Entry

Run with the worst of them in this infinite runner platformer with a twist.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#375Humor2.92
#457Innovation3.00
#572Overall3.00
#683Fun2.70
#686Theme3.00
#744Mood2.50
#809Graphics2.35

Comments

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:09pm

I did not see the bar on the top right corner at first, made a lot more sense during the second run. What engine did you use?

demogorgon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:57pm

lcarpentier, It was written in Javascript and HTML5 with homemade collisions. Yeah, I guess I should have made the health bar more clear, thanks.

ksanochka says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:53pm

gameplay is a little bit glitchy

Shaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Same as Icarpentier didn't see it on the first run but second run made heaps more sense :D

I really like the colour changing outline too.
Well done.

Aelius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:12pm

You should have disabled audio in the ratings.
I think the game would be better with slower scrolling but some kind of constraint when falling behind in Hardcore (like loosing health).

vlamaster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

At start I didn't understnad what the point was (because I started hardcore), but story mode cleared it up a bit. Nice concept, I like the idea of stopping him in order to wait for lava. You could build up on this with powerups (maybe some that let you fill the bar a bit).

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I like it. Pretty cool and fun to play.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Interesting idea with controlling both the guy and the heavenly cloud of healing. Had my difficulties with story mode cause the guy was moving so frantic. Also, the health bar should be a little more pronounced because at first I had no idea how I was doing (poorly, it turned out) So very innovative but I don't get the connection to the theme, though.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

It is a brilliant idea, but the man running is a tiny bit glitchy, but neat little game!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I would have preferred to control using the mouse instead of arrow keys.
The ending was surprising and genuinely funny.

Zupoman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Nice idea. The game was a bit monotonic though, it could use some powerups or maybe a progress bar. But I loved the plot twist ending. :)

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I appreciate that you tried to deviate from the standard infinite runner concept.

It was difficult to figure out the first time, but I believe I got it. Could use a tutorial page with quick instructions.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Bizarre game, but pretty fun to play. I wish there were more gameplay to it though.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

The random photo seems out-of-place stylistically, and theme feels a little shoehorned in, but it was quite an interesting (and challenging!) concept to try to control two players at once! Pretty cool.

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Did not realise that you had to use the keyboard to play. Like the surprise ending

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The gameplay is simple, but I love the interpretation of the theme.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I feel it is rare to see a platformer where an AI is doing the platforming and you are doing something else. This is a creative change of pace. It was tough at first since the player jumped so quickly, but I managed to beat the story mode.

Your garden (or yard or whatever) is pretty!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:25am

I rarely see things like this. Good work.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:43am

strange cool game. Hardcore mode is a fun addition.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Saf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:43pm

The game is tough at first. Good job on the story front. Nice entry for the limited time.

zuurr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:48pm

overall i like it. I thought it was an interesting take on the theme and i thought it was balanced well. that said, since you were complaining about not getting enough feedback on irc, i'll give you more feedback.

generally i didn't feel like i knew what was going on. i feel like it was frequently unclear whether what i was doing had any effect on the dude running. in fact, i'm still not sure about that. the loosing condition was not obvious at all to me (was it the dude falling behind?).

other minor issues were that the camera was fairly jarring when it would move from moving to stopped (a lerp here would help). and that on the win screen it says "undefined" for a split second before it closes (ah, javascript).

demogorgon says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Thanks zurr. Yeah, there was a healthbar on the far right, but it was too unnoticeable. The camera jarring was intended, but perhaps not a decision. I can't remember why I didn't remove the split second of undefined, pretty sure I flat out forgot to. If I were to do it again, I still have no idea how to make it feel less like you are getting tossed in with no idea what you are doing. People naturally skip through instructions, so perhaps I could have done a tutorial. Thanks, you made me think a lot about how I could have done things better.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Too bad it does not have sound, it would have added greatly to the game!
Otherwise very well executed! Relly liked how the guy would perform worse when I was not "covering" him.
Maybe it would have been a good idea to make the camera a little more dynamic so it would always stay ahead of the dude.
Also: Really nice plottwist xD

Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]