Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Distinguished Porn Story

by B216 - Jam Entry

Game developed in 72h by two 15 years old guys in a basement eating Doritos.
Support English and fucking French with no Google Translate.

A unnecessary game by:
Benoît "B216"
Romain "Kcejalppe"

----------------------
Our story begin a long time ago, when Lenny was still a children. Lenny was certainly a brilliant kid in pee-school, his results were always good and he would always
make his parents proud... That's what Lenny though until a new kid came in his class, that new kid was that kind of kid that is always thinking he's over everybody else,
always bullying other kids, stealing them their snacks at breaks. But he wasn't really a kid... It was more like a dorito-shaped person, and as weird as he was,
he was still being accepted pretty well by the others... Maybe because everybody feared him, his name was Spinati.

Lenny sure had some fights with Spinati after he joined his class, and Spinati sure was very strong... Always shooting yellow squares at his opponents to attack and
always spinning like crazy to defend himself from being hit. Those fights were like happening every weeks, but Lenny knew he could be stronger than Spinati. Once,
he'll show Spinati that he can be strong too.

Lenny and Spinati eventually moved on to school, and there... Oh boi, the rules were slightly different. They sure continued to fight, but they always had to stay after class
to explain the director why they fighted (again). And it continued like this for few years... Until that one day... Spinati did something that Lenny never though he would do.

HE STOLE HIS COLLECTOR EDITION OF BUSTIN JIEBER'S MOST POPULAR ALBUM OF THE MOMENT (2005)! and disappeared like nothing after that.
That day, Lenny sweared Spinati was going to pay for this.

10 years later,
Lenny grew up, but he didn't forget what Spinati did to him. He was more than determined to kill him and retrieve his album from his beloved singer.

Join him in the crazy Distinguished Porn Story adventure and help him defeat Spinati and his army of multi-colored guys.



Distinguished Porn Story est à propos d'une personne lambda, qui possède une envie redoutable de tout foutre en l'air. (Un envie redoutable de traduire).

==== CONTROLS ====

WASD (Or space to jump) / arrows keys and mouse to shoot.
Xbox360/Xbox One controller is supported!
Note: If a controller is plugged, the keyboard does not work anymore!

ZQSD (Avec Espace) / les touches fléchées et la souris pour tirer.
Supporte les manettes Xbox 360 et Xbox One
PS: Si une manette est déjà branchée, le clavier est désactivé!


Macintosh users, I don't have a Mac so I can't build the game. Sorry!.
Utilisateurs de Macintosh, je ne peux pas compiler le jeu car je ne possède de Mac.

PS: Ce jeu est moche, con et sans originalité. Notre idée était trop vague à cause du thème. On ne voulais pas faire un X ème jeu dont le joueur est un monstre, changer un mignon sprite en truc "moi, moche et mes champs" pour respecter le thème. Donc nous avons choisis de faire n'importe quoi.
En: Fuck this shit, i'm out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2178Coolness17%

Comments

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I didnt´t know at first, that I should use mouse to shoot. I was expecting something else :). The tremor while shooting is a good feature. Thx for the game!

applejam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I liked shooting in this game. Everything else was pretty bad. I think if you had more time you could make an a lot better shootemup. Good luck in the future.

Toccio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:54pm

It's kinda relaxing

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Nice and gory!

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Wow, really flashy. That was a lot of fun, major props for the excessive amount of blood. Found the boss rather difficult as with all the flashing lights it's hard to distinguish between your bullets and the boss'.

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:06pm

So when 15 year olds don't have any ideas, windows crash...
Thanks, I'll keep that in mind when I start teaching.
Anyway, it's not bad! The w key didn't work, and the boss was a little annoying, but the shooting with the flashes and the sound was fun.

Kcejalppe says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Kcejalppe here!

Thanks a lot for your comments and reviews, it's true that we had some motivational problems while making the game but we made it to the end!

The game might not be a beast but we tried our best on this one.
It was our very first game jam and it was really nice, I really hope B216 will look forward with me to do another jam in the future.

Thanks again for playing!

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:30am

This is kinda harsh, but I tried to point out exactly what were my issues with your game... I hope this feedback helps you guys in future jam! :)

So... I think there was too much screenshake and flash when shooting. Instead of making it more fun to play, it was simply annoying and made it harder to see the boss' bullets...

Also, the boss is too big and shoots too fast for you to be able to stand close to it and dodge the bullets. So you must stand away from him, which disable you from knowing where he will shoot from and forces you to dodge simply by having twitchy, split-second reflex...

The audio was also really loud... Since I was constantly shooting (why wouldn't I, on the boss?), the audio was simply repetitive and annoying...

Still, congrats on finishing something! Just finishing a game in 72h hours requires lots of motivation and hard work, so props to that!

Hope to see you guys around next time!! =D

Kcejalppe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:06pm

@GFM

Hey! I want to thank you very much for pointing out the big issues with the game, I surely will help us not doing the same mistakes next time. c:

To be honest, we had big issues while making the game, we don't have any experience from game jams nor any real competences and we had matters with motivational issues quite a few times. D:

We will surely do another jams in the future, maybe not the Ludum Dare one but we won't stop there. :)

Thanks very much for helping us like you did and for playing our game, it is very appreciated. :D

Kcejalppe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:07pm

My bad, made a mistake at the first sentence: it will surely*

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]