Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Something Purple

by Andrew - Compo Entry

There are critters. They eat things. All things. Clicking gives them food, that allows you to move them around the various areas. There are timers as well. And things may happen.


Some of the effects have broken with the webGL build, they seem fine with the regular unity web build though. Other builds as well as walk through videos (for both endings) coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#80Innovation3.75
#158Mood3.54
#216Graphics3.60
#291Audio3.11
#365Theme3.54
#398Overall3.20
#668Fun2.73

Comments

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37am

Really interesting idea. there were a couple of camera / graphical issues which kinda made some of it either a little dizzying, obstructing, or confusing, but other than that it was pretty cool.

notajetski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

That shader is pretty cool, but it's a little hard to see what's going on sometimes. I wasn't able to figure out the 4th level due to camera angle.

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

@notajetski I added a youtube guide to the easy ending in case anyone gets stuck. :)

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Really liked the graphics and audio. The idea was quite interesting but the camera sometimes made it hard to fully understand what was going on. Good work overall.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

I love the shader, and the reversed music fits the mood perfectly. I managed to reach the bad ending easy enough, but I didn't have the patience to try my theory about the good ending. Some spots could be a little cleared (what that lower platform is connected to, on the second level, for instance), but overall I found this a rather interesting experience.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Overall I thought this game was quite nice, the gameplay was interesting, the whole thing where you had to evenly distribute the food if you wanted them to survive was nice, I though after a while though the gameplay got quite repetive and boring but you wouldn't have had time to add the features necessary to fix this with this kind of game, I thought it didn't hugely suit the theme but that's okay, I absolutely loved the dark with a bit of purple and simplistic art style and the audio was nice, the darkness and the dark soundtrack made the mood excellent, nice game well done overall.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

I'm sorry, I don't understand... I have tried very hard to understand how to pass a level without killing any (unless we just have to do nothing and wait for the time to pass by), and I didn't. It's quite pretty, animations are very nice, music is a bit annoying, but most of all I'm frustrated because I didn't understand :(

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

@Gryll wating for the timers to tick down is actually one of the valid ways to reach the good ending ;)

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Interesting graphics, but what I liked most is the way ending makes you feel as if your actions made this game fit the LD 33 theme.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I want to say that the graphics are my favourite thing in this game. The gameplay is very cool as well. This is a game I will return at!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Graphics and music were very cool. I liked the multiple levels as well. It was a little difficult to see what the actual objective was, though, and I couldn't figure how not to have the monsters kill each other.

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

The shaders/outlines looked pretty awesoe, the camera angle is a bit off in some levels. Overall it's an interesting game. I was trying to get them to kill each other with the smallest amount of food, but then it wasn't the goal.. I'm a monster!

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:02pm

@AndreSilvs Now that you mention it, I might add some stats for speed running/ most click-efficient carnage.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25am

Feeding time!) GJ

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:26am

Very good graphics and mood. The operation which makes lead by food was fresh and fascinating.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29am

Really like the shader and the audio fits perfectly. Felt a bit vague on what exactly was happening though, but not in a frustrating way.

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30am

The game concept itself was pretty interesting, and I really loved the style it used for the characters, just showing their outline. I think that there were a lot of well done elements, like the pathfinding and the set up of the environments. The outline style made it difficult to play occasionally since there was no sense of depth at times. The gameplay mechanic was interesting at first, but it felt like it quickly grew stale and didn't add any layers. I personally felt like the background music didn't really match the game and set a different mood to the game than I was expecting. However, I felt like you managed to get a pretty complete game package in the time given and I think you did a great job.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:58am

The visuals and the music make it very mysterious, liked that. I was a dummy and completed every level just by making the dudes eat each other and got a monster ending oh no.

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I really liked the audio! Nice pathing. I am a conscientious monster feeder :-D

Also: added a slower post-compo version of my game per request :3

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Some trouble with the camera, but really interesting concept. Didn't manage to get the second "teleporter" but manage to fed them enough :D

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

I really liked the twist but the "good" ending requires the most boring gameplay.

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02pm

@Rongefilet true to life wouldn't you say? ;)

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:31am

this is tripy af, and kinda(extremely) creepy. It's so great .

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:55am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

n8b says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Have I to kill other critters and keep mine the longuest I can, or have I to save all critters? Not clear!

But very strange and beautiful, and so it's perfect for the theme.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:20am

Well executed, but a bit confused about what you need to do. I got to a level with floating little squares and couldn't pass that one. Contoured look and reverse music was cool!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Cool game. Liked the style. Camera angle makes bit confusing a bit at times, but very well put together overall.

MaesK says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Great idea, and nice shader as well.

lemer says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:10pm

VEry good visuals. Good work!

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:49am

Couldn't hear the audio others mention in Firefox/WebPlayer.

Love the look of the game, although there was one level with a low-down camera where a couple of purple things seemed to run on thin air rather than a platform.

I fed them all to each other because, well, who am I to stand in the way of nature?

Realize2D says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:32am

really cool! the graphics were peculiar but a good fit.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]