Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Whimsical Monster Mind Melting Fun-Time

by Tango172 - Jam Entry

Run around as UR the monster, who is being held captive, locked away in a deep prison cell. Possess the guards to aid in your escape. This is our first LD Jam entry and was made as a team of three.

Google Drive:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3X_HWu1us6nRzg3MWJYeWZxZ2c/view?usp=sharing

GameJolt:
http://gamejolt.com/games/whimsical-monster-mind-melting-fun-time/88042

*NOTE*
I apologise in advance for any weird AI glitches.
******

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Innovation(Jam)3.44
#613Fun(Jam)2.94
#703Theme(Jam)3.21
#935Overall(Jam)2.72
#992Mood(Jam)2.29
#1006Graphics(Jam)1.89
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:41am

The game mechanic is great! However, the game could have been improved considerably audio and graphics-wise. Also, the AI could block your movements in very tight corridors. Still, nice start to LD! :)

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:42am

Simple but funny!

Benier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

Fun game mechanics and plays great!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:17am

Very cool. I enjoyed it. The ai seems to get bugged at some point on the 4th level where they seem to want to go two directions at once. Taking over the dudes was a lot of fun though. Well done!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:26am

The guards kept turning around quickly making it impossible to sneak up on.
I found the game challenging and was enjoying it until I realised I could out walk all the guards. Then it became too simple.
The ending was nice.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00am

Played it on the web through gamejolt and the controls text was very difficult to read. Luckily it's not hard to pick up and figure out though! I also played the windows version and it worked as expected and of course looked better full screened.

The concept is solid and I like the idea of having a sort of body-snatching stealth mechanic. The execution of the idea felt somewhat rough though. Not bad by any means, I'd say it's definitely a good base to expand on, but it feels like it still needs more work and polish.

The guard patterns and level design were pretty straightforward. It kind of seemed like there was some struggle to try and keep the design interesting and there's some very noticeable repetition in some areas. On the plus side the possession mechanic redeems these flaws somewhat and I enjoyed navigating through areas just killing all the guards along the way. In these kind of stealth based games I tend to not take my chances leaving someone around to catch me ;)

The art wasn't very attractive to me in general. Lots of very small repeating textures and parts that don't necessarily look like they fit visually together. For instance, the floor texture and lighting underneath the player have a smooth look, but the walls look very flat and harsh in comparison. It reminds me of an early pc game look and retro in a "hasn't aged well" way.

The sound is also pretty basic. Again, like the art the sounds have a very old feel. There aren't many of them either so they can get somewhat repetitive (especially the possess/unpossess sounds). A looping ambient 8-bit track might have helped make the game feel a little less empty audio-wise.

I did a random search for ambient moody 8-bit stuff and found this as an example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2T2oBTbilyM

Also, there seemed to be a bug where if you pressed x to leave a body prematurely the transition from body to player would play again when the timer WOULD have run out. It's not game breaking, but it was fairly noticeable since I pressed x pretty often to leave guards early.

- Dylan

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I enjoyed the game. The mechanics are simple but they work well. The difficulty is challenging and the level design is interesting.
There's still a bug with AI getting crazy sometimes. They glitch very quickly and look in every direction at once, making them impossible to sneak on.
Otherwise that's a cool game. Great job!

hoqjed says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I left a comment earlier, but returned back here on a whim and noticed some people were complaining about the bug where they guards rapidly look two different directions. I just wanted to mention that my method for taking out those guards was to approach them directly from their sides, rather than trying to get behind them, and it consistently worked.

Also, the bug seems to be an issue where the guards are trying to move to a position but constantly overshoot it. To fix that kind of bug you could probably do something like...

if (x < goalX - guardSpeed) {x+=guardSpeed;}
else if (x > goalX + guardSpeed) {x-=guardSpeed;}

not tested, so I might have made an error, but the idea is to create a zone as the goal rather than a specific number.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Simple but fun game! Good idea!

ghostlyguru says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Had fun with this. I liked the mechanic and concept.

Blobo says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Great concept! my only complaint is that you can easily outrun the AI, which in some cases makes the entire mechanic rendered useless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]