Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

kid.isCaptured

by RobotMeal - Compo Entry

Ludum Dare #33 COMPO submission, "kid.isCaptured".

Theme: You Are The Monster

You're a monster that captures children!

Use ARROW keys to walk.

Use SHIFT to dash and use SPACE to grab, but be wary of your cool downs!

Once captured, drag the kid to the CLOSET!

Get out before the NOISE level gets too high! Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#53Theme4.14
#309Humor3.07
#399Audio2.88
#400Mood3.09
#423Fun3.09
#503Innovation2.94
#558Overall3.03
#632Graphics2.77

Comments

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Fun game, kid three was really quite hard.

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:09am

The game is nice. The graphics make it a little hard to see the character, but overall, a nice game. :)

TimWright says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:29am

Very good. I like that the kid escaped one time. Very good balance. Not too easy, not to hard.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:30am

Funny enough, the third one was the easiest for me, after I finally learned the controls properly :P Cool game!

Aun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:30am

Fun game. I had difficulties with the last level. Is the "kid.iscaptured returns false" wanted ?

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:41am

Liked it, had a hard time with the first level. I had the feeling that you shouldn't be too precise to catch the kid but just a little before him, right?

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:10am

Nice, little game. Pretty hard, but it kept me playing till I beat it, so good job. You should try adding obstacles to the rooms.

sorlok says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:23am

Very cool idea, but it was super hard to catch the kid (and collisions were frustrating). Would have loved to see a more gradual learning curve. Loved the mood!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:23am

I liked that you made it so easy to re-try the levels, instead of having a game-over and having to beat each one in sequence. It made it much easier on me, since I had to rely on luck to catch the kids! :)

pkenney says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:28am

Cool game - was fun running and dashing around, but wow was that kid slippery!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:46am

Neat game idea from the theme. It feels like a game that wouldn't really work with other themes.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I couldn't catch the kid once! I am able to dash to where he is and grab him but it doesn't seem to stick. I tried and tried!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Fun game! It was tough catching the kid. I relied on just luck to catch him, mostly because of his movements were so erratic. The music was nice, but that one sound effect at the beginning of the level was a bit piercing. It kinda fit at the same time, though.

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:27am

Very nice little game.

I found it very hard to catch that damn kid. Presentation of menu's was very well presented

Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Really fun! Kind of difficult but it's an awesome concept. Nice job!!

Blanky says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Fun little game. Well done! I found a non breaking bug after completing lvl 2 before level 1. Level one's text said that I received xxx for completing the lvl, level 2's text said I that I will get xxx.

boardtobits says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Cool, simple idea. You could make more levels by introducing obstacles and things, or stuff that could be knocked over to increase the noise.

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:48am

I swear that kid is made out of butter.

Flaid says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I'm not exactly sure how to catch the kid... I did it a couple times on accident, but it seems like I couldn't quite grab him other times.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]