Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Get Caught!

by astrophics - Jam Entry

- Use the <ARROW KEYS> to move and jump.
- Press <LSHIFT> near a pedestrian to steal some of their money.
- Keep your police heat down as much as possible!
- Try to steal the required amount of money in 60 seconds!
- Try not to get caught!

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and I am not too proud of it because I only
got about 18-ish hours to make it. I would have worked on this game longer if I had the time to do so. If my family hadn't decided to go on vacation this weekend then I would be in good shape. Anyways, if this game does terribly, I won't be suprised. Next Ludum Dare, I will hopefully produce something way better. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Fun(Jam)3.76
#267Innovation(Jam)3.35
#313Overall(Jam)3.47
#329Mood(Jam)3.38
#644Theme(Jam)3.29
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

yuigoto says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:28pm

First of all, congrats on your first LD entry! :) Don't worry you if had just a bit of time to work on your game, you DID it and that's already really good! Next time you'll do it with more time! ;)

The game is quite fun, even though simple. Controls are functional and I think the time required to get the "feel" of the game is quite right.

When there's two guards behind me it becomes a no-win scenario, though.

And criminals are all some kind of monster. ;D

$22.59 was my record! :D

Cheers!

moon519 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Good game. Especially if you didn't put a lot of time in it! No seriously, it's pretty fun. Sounds are good, graphics are ok I guess (simple but efficient), and the controls are ok too.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Good game. I was first confused pressing the right shift key that made a sound but did not steal.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:17pm

This was the best game I've played yet in this jam. Very well done. Challenging too. I ended up kinda cheating by just very rapidly stealing from one person to get the dollar. I'm gonna keep this one on my computer to play in my free time. Very well done; 5 Stars across the board!

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:28pm

I've been playing your game more sense yesterday. I've gotten a whopping high score of $6352.09! I love this game!

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Really good! Congrats!

Flaid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I like the concept of this game! The gameplay is good, and the graphics are charming.

The only thing I can say about the game is that it could be more challenging as you go on. I'm sure that was your plan had you enough time.

Overall, really nice!

hdong says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:43pm

A pretty noice game especially since you had a time restraint!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Managed to steal a hefty $245,035,259.52 after a few attempts. You can repeatedly steal from the same person, so with clever jumping and a fast trigger finger, you can really rack up the score. Great fun, just wish there was more to it.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I was skeptical at first, but this is actually really fun. I you can just mash the same person repeatedly(except it turns on sticky keys on windows) Great first entry!

xWarZonex says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Pretty neat game, I thought it was a cool concept and well executed, But having to use the shift key really kills the game, because if I press too fast, my sticky keys turns on.

MrThee says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I'm surprised you didn't want to be judged in Sound because of all the games I've played so far you've done the best job in that category. They all feel right and do a great job of sending giving the player feedback. The core gameplay loop is effective and great job with the checkpoint scaling! (though once I started pickpocketing ~$100 from people off the street I was beginning to question the effectiveness of the game's abstraction). Overall, this was well-done and I really enjoyed it :)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Simple and fun! i liked the sound effects and the pixel art too! Liked the way you did the percentage of "caught". Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]