Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fifty shades of chalk

by Deadeyejoe - Jam Entry

[GAME MADE IN 48H]

Hey guys, my name is Laurent, I'm currently studying Game Design at Bellecour Ecole in Lyon, France.
With my fellow, Kévin, this 33rd Ludum Dare is our first Game Jam and I hope you will enjoy our game. We thought the game jam was actually 2 days long so the game is quite short, but no doubt that the next time our game will be better and longer:)

Our game is an eccentric platformer in wich you must satisfy the hunger of the monster you play. Please, don't hesitate to let us know your feedback and once again, enjoy !

EDIT:

input :
Q/D - A/D (moove)
Space (jump)
Left Shift (sprint)
Enter (reset)
Esc (quit)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#135Graphics(Jam)4.22
#353Innovation(Jam)3.24
#353Overall(Jam)3.42
#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#465Humor(Jam)2.90
#479Mood(Jam)3.18
#494Audio(Jam)2.88
#519Theme(Jam)3.46

Comments

Guuts404 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Awesome game ! The gameplay and the aesthetic are really cool :)

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

LOVE the art style. Fun game too.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55am

Reminds me of spacepants. Great idea :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:10am

Web link took me to a download page, however I enjoyed the game.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

@AnaglyphCoding

i remove the web link thx :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25am

I loved the graphics!

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31am

Amazing art, and good music, good job! :)

FiSilva says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39am

Great art style and nice simple mechanics :)

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58am

Loved the art style, music and overall, very fun

DarkCart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:11pm

The title's pretty amusing. Love the art style.

Shawn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I unzipped the file, but I couldn't get it to run on OSX.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:43pm

The art is amazing :D
And it is an interesting idea^^

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

No checkpoint ? Hardcore. Especially loved the art !

Ornii02 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:00pm

YEES ! I FINISH THE GAME ! The boss was very funny :D

Awesome dynamic and simple game, good style art and overall, GREAT JOB !

joe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:02pm

The OS/X and Linux links point to the windows version

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:08pm

@ajopart and joe

i edit that i remove OS/X and Linux link

Romaing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Good idea, and the art is pretty good!

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

great art, nice audio and fun platforming concept. good work!

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Nice ! Enjoyed it a lot ! The only thing I would have asked is to have an option to restart the game from the level in which the player died, instead of starting from the very first everytime (for a definite amount of time). Overall Good Job !

NexusBreaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14pm

nice game i like the art stlye and the unusual movment

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Cute artwork, downloading!)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14pm

The controls are quite janky but overall you did great!

z.sebastian says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Love the art :D

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I really love the graphics, fun gameplay too

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:43am

Awesome game, The difficulty made it really fun and the art style really took it over the top. Great job.

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55am

I really liked the art style here, although I found restarting every time I died, combined with the difficulty level, to be a bit frustrating.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:28am

I was drawn in by the art style. First thing to bother me even before opening the game: You might want to use something other than megacloud to host your game, like an actual video game portal. Then, the music was absolutely horrendous. The game is still called "test_grayscale" in the task bar and the keys showing the controls in the first screen are Q and D? These aren't even opposite of eachother. I'm sorry, but I don't think this is up to par.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

@Madmaw , yes now i realize i should made a checkpoint or life system.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:42am

@Pizzamakesgames.

Thanx for your feedback.
Its my first LD and next time i will do better.
Q/D and A/D also works ( azerty and qwerty keyboard )

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Nice game with simple controls that worked really well. The chalk aesthetic was a great touch. Only thing I'd suggest is an option for alternate keyboard controls cause Q & D aren't natural for some people. Fun game :)

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:57am

@ Franklin's Ghost

A/D works also :)

(Q/D its for Azerty keyboard)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Finished after 1 hour, that was nice and veeery hard! I love the gameplay, with an amazing simplicity. For a game made in 48 hours, it's beautiful! :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I liked the game and the art, although I found it a little frustrating to have to start again every time. I enjoyed what I played

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Very nice game! I love artistic style :)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Very nice art :) I was a bit disappointed by the rigid controls and punitive progression though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]