Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

LD 33 The monster and your city

by 2011petia - Jam Entry

That's my game to the LD 33
I hope you enjoy
------------------------------------------
please leave your opinions on, and please
mark it

Programs that used:
-Blender V2.71
-GIMP 2.8
-Cantasia Studio


Ludumdare # 33
theme: You are the monster

thank you

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#612Audio(Jam)2.48
#882Humor(Jam)2.00
#1009Graphics(Jam)1.82
#1026Fun(Jam)2.29
#1032Mood(Jam)2.10
#1122Overall(Jam)2.09
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

Juin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Sry, but i don't get what i'm supposed to do? I don't get how to win.

2011petia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:04pm

You have to destroy the buildings

Downtown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Really liked your music, and the sounds were charming.

I read your comment about what to do first so I knew to destroy the buildings, I think it would be good for that to be indicated in game some how. The game play seems straight forward and fun, but it needs more more user feedback when you attack the buildings and a clear end goal.

mariti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22pm

caught in building nine.

geckojsc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Nice work! I like the idea but it feels like the game needs some more polishing, for example:

- cooldown on the helicopter bombs (a single helicopter can kill you really quick if you run back and forward underneath it)
- better colour palette (e.g. green on grey is really hard to read)
- clean graphics (currently they are blurry, have compression artifacts, or have white borders around them)

That said, there are some nice touches, like the shaking camera movement, the parallax, and the puffs of smoke when you destroy a building.

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Took me a couple of seconds to realize that I had to stomp the buildings, but once I got that I was having fun! I would have liked to see a scoring system in addition to the health, so I could compare how I did on successive runs. The main monster sprite also had some graphical issues on the sides. I was also kind of dismayed at the fact that I hit an invisible wall on the side, I expected to keep roaming the city forever!

Besides those, it was a fun game for a couple of run throughs. I enjoyed it!

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10am

It's really hard to avoid that bombs!

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23pm

It took me a wile to get what I have to to do win. The music is very charming.
It would be nice to try some color schemes websites (maybe Paletton) to help you with game colors in future projects. I suggest Triad (3 colors) or Tetrad (4 colors).
Overall it's a fun game :)

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:18pm

YESSS! DESTROY!!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]