Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Giggles, the friendly clown

by Sanju - Jam Entry

There are little things in this world more hideous than a street clown.

Attract the walkers, doing some tricks, and smash them when they are close enough. But be fast, otherwise this situation will lead you to an insanity state.

Controls:
Z,X,C: Do tricks (when sane)
Arrow keys: Move (when insane)
Spacebar: Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#135Humor(Jam)3.64
#244Theme(Jam)3.80
#331Audio(Jam)3.24
#344Mood(Jam)3.36
#365Overall(Jam)3.40
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#449Graphics(Jam)3.55
#462Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

thristhart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:47pm

I never figured out what the difference between the tricks was! Gorgeous visuals and the audio does a great job at setting the creepy, insane mood.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51pm

I don't know if psychedelic is the right word here but it was the first one that came to my mind after completing it. I'm still quite speechless after that flying monkey.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I did not really understand how doing the tricks works, it is not very clear what pressing the Z/X/C does.
Very nice presentation though, and nice idea with the "insanity endgame"

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

There I was thinking - oh cool, a weird rhythm action game. Then I went insane.

Make more of this, it could be truly amazing.

Sanju says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40pm

@Fantasieleben, @thristhart

The thing with the tricks is that when you perform one particular trick it attracts the walkers that have clothes of one certain color.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13pm

2spooky 4 me!

But also nice graphics, and sound!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Urgh I hate clowns but love this game. It was actually really dark XD

Louspirit says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I loved it, the game in general and the insanity mode is a good idea !

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:23am

Short and sweet, with cute graphics. The slight frustration of tricking coming out so slowly in normal mode really contrasted insanity mode. Insanity mode for the win.

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:59pm

I really like to squish people with my big clown hands. Good job!

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:43pm

The web link pointing to Dropbox did not load. However the integrated version in this page did. It's an interesting game I enjoyed much :) Great work. Only 1 problem I had in the gameplay: It's hard to hit the enemies when you are in insane mode.
It's always good to see more C2 games in the jam (we made ours with it too).

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Wow, awesome game man!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Awesome game, I still find clowns creepy!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:39pm

I liked the graphics and the audio, but I wasn't really sure what different tricks did. The Daytona-like 'oh yea' sound made me chuckle.

However, the insanity mode light effect really hurt my eyes, you should slow it down and explain more what the tricks did.

Now I need to get the image of this clown out of my head *shivers*

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Very fun, very funny (especially the sane mode). Graphism do their works.
And the maniability is well thought.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:57am

There's something strangely fun about luring someone in with a trick and then smashing them like a grape! ;) I'd say you nailed the theme and the mood!

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:48pm

3000! Yes great stuff :D

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Quite creepy. I like the audio and you set up a great mood. The gameplay was confusing though. It was also tough to hit people.
Overall great job!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Hilarious and beautiful !
Flashing screen is a bit hardcore but the game is great !
*Oh yea-ah!*

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:40am

Haha, this game definitely would not help with the fear of clowns! The trippy music was pretty great in the insanity mode, and the game made me laugh as I was running around squashing people.

It was a little hard to aim and time the claps in insanity mode, but I think maybe that's just kinda part of the difficulty.

Not sure what the different tricks did, if anything.

ruerob says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:56am

This was really creepy! Nice work on this game! The only thing I have to mention is, that it was a bit hard to get any attacks in insane mode!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:50am

Great looking game! I figured out each trick works on a specific color of walker after a bit. Fun little game! I liked the "OH YEAAHA", I wish there was more audio. Clear instructions on controls, simple focused mechanic. Great entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Scary clown D:

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:08am

I've heard that since clowns are a popular fear, people like to say they're afraid of them even if they're not, just to be a part of the group. This game creates an actual fear and might induce trauma on a mass scale. Graphics were solid and I was overall impressed!

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:18am

Wow. That clown is crazy! It's quite a crazy game!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:52am

A stress relieving mini game. You are insane and your entry is great. Take some stars, son!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Love the evil clown. I just love the craziness. Fun and crazy game.

JayProg says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:12pm

This is one of the better games I've seen. This should come with an epilepsy warning! I really liked the concept of the game and it is well executed. The graphics/audio combo makes for a really eerie and retro atmosphere that I really dig. The weird ocean/boardwalk setting is just weird in a good way. The sound effect of the clown is disturbing. I would expect some kind of goofy laugh, but the "OH YEAH-UH!" is somehow scarier. Great stuff! Would make a great arcade cabinet.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Ah, a scary clown game. XD Well done! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/De5lc4U-4hg

lion123 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:59pm

The best part is the "Oh yeah!". Also, the epilepsy warning might be needed here.

GFM says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The title screen is pretty great, as is the background... But the rest of the graphics are pretty inconsistent... There's no single style in them. The floor seems to be a texture mapped to a 3D plane, the passersby are really pixelated and the clown is in a higher res pixel art with outlines... Although each of those are great, they don't mesh well...

The audio was great at setting the game's mood! You guys also did great getting how scary a clown is... XD

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:32pm

This clown is so creepy

Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:40am

Ernesto Sevilla xD

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:37am

Difficult to get very far, but still fun nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]