Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Harvey, Dean, and Pete's Terrible Adventure

by GenericTeamName - Jam Entry

Play as a monster and attack a village night after night. The population grows every night so work quickly. Upgrade your monster and terrorize the villagers to draw their leaders out. WASD to move ESC to pause click to navigate menus

Created by: Aaron Peddle, Landon Butterworth

Audio by: TimSix https://soundcloud.com/tim_six

*Press pause and listen to the whole soundtrack, our audio guy worked all weekend!*

**Sorry about the dev build for webplayer, just close the dev window and it should run fine!**

***Windows build only works if it is in Windowed mode***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#80Audio(Jam)3.83
#119Graphics(Jam)4.27
#145Theme(Jam)3.96
#184Mood(Jam)3.60
#201Overall(Jam)3.63
#301Fun(Jam)3.38
#330Innovation(Jam)3.28
#533Humor(Jam)2.76

Comments

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55am

great art. a little slow feeling but i like the concept.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16am

upgrade you're speed after the first night, or pick the faster character! :P and thank you :D

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:26am

Liked the style, thou the game certain boost in action/events. Really solid. GJ.

Sichuan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32am

Great esthetic. I felt speed was ever so slightly overpowered (went pure speed). Until the last boss killed me as I was about to kill him. Take 1 point in health!

I felt the control scheme was a little bit awkward, I felt rotating them by 90 degrees would be more intuitive (Up = left, Right = up, etc.). Also would like to be able to hold down the button, I almost got RSI pressing so many times with full speed.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38am

One of the best entries I've seen! The visual style was very charming! At first I thought it was turn based as the villages movement seemed to be timed with my own, and they would stand still when I did- but I actually really like the timed tile based movement. Audio guy did a great job! Lovely music all around, but that boss song was amazing. I would love a larger scale version of this where you go around harassing larger places such as villages and towns as the game progresses.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43am

The isometric style of the art was super nice! Controls could be a bit janky at times, but overall it was nice!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Loooooved the graphic style, though the isometric view made it hard to determine which was up-down and which was left-right.
The rest of the game was clean and good. Nice music, too!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:45pm

You should be able to move constantly by holding a direction, and not be forced to repeatedly tap directions. It made it very frustrating to play. Movement should be seamless and easy, but in this game it was way too hard.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:47pm

You really made it with artworks, Im not fan of this type of games but it was interesting.

Was like playing with toys somehow, gj :)

solarexplorer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Great art and sound; controls were a little disorienting at first because the grid is at an angle.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nice visuals!

philomory says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Pretty fun! The controls were sometimes the *tiniest* bit frustrating, but overall it was very good.

Vladik Plays says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Nice game. A bit slow but I like the fact that you can upgrade. Note: I can only upgrade once, but I would like that for every villager you can upgrade something once...

radmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:21am

Love the shadows, the approaching sun, and the way the music gets intense near sunrise!

scriptorum says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:46am

I've always wanted to kill villagers named Harvey and Dean. Nice art. Great music! Slow pace. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]