Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Sacrifice

by foxboard - Jam Entry

The Sacrifice is a management game where you, along with the five noble families of the Village, decide on what needs to be done in order to survive the island's harsh seasons.

Alongside these tasks is a dark secret that the Village has upheld for decades, one that is more crucial to its survival than anything else. It requires an iron will to do whatever is necessary to protect the Village, its secrets, and life itself.

Done for Ludum Dare 33: "You Are The Monster"

Code by Jongwoo Kim (@kitfoxgames)
Art by Eric Lahaie (@aurahack)
Writing by Aurelien Folie
Sound by Francois-Xavier Bilodeau

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.88
Coolness57%
Mood(Jam)4.63
#4Audio(Jam)4.54
#15Overall(Jam)4.27
#48Innovation(Jam)3.94
#115Theme(Jam)4.01
#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#609Humor(Jam)2.65

Comments

Dodechotomy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Fantastic game! Lots of cat slappers apparently. No idea if it's winnable, but I ran out of food after about ten seasons.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37am

Hard. Very hard, but I enjoyed it as hell.

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

Nice work! Would defo pick up an expanded mobile version.

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Very very cool. Really well done, great job!

Aumni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49am

Really awesome game! I really liked the how the graphics and audio conveyed the mood. The gameplay was really interesting too, especially with all the cool writing. Good work!!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03am

This is probably one of the best game developed during this LD33.
I love the art style! It's GREAT!
And the gameplay is frustrating and enjoyable!
This whole product reminds me of Darkest Dungeon!
Well done guys! Great Job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

W O W! You guys have love our artist. Very very well done! We love setting, graphics, music...

It's hard but inmersive and invites you to replay.

Very nice work guys! Congrats!

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Wow, thanks for making me feel like a monster. Ugh. Great game, great tie-in to theme. Wow.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Visual style is amazing, it fits very well to the game. It becomes a little bit repetitive and feedback is not that readable but still, awesome entry. Dat mood. I had a revolt by the way :)

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

The graphism are amazing! Congratulation!

scorched says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Excellent music, graphics, and narrative style! Though I don't get how choices correspond to consequences by their description. Also +1 for Slavic god name :-)

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Amazing art and mood ! The game is a bit frustrating but there is a lot of contents, that really nice ! Congratulations!

RiaDelva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:31pm

The art is amazing! and I also loved the idea. Great work!

daydalus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31am

Very great work here. The graphics and style were amazing - reminded me of a dark Lovecraftian graphic novel. The gameplay and survival were pretty difficult. Might be nice to have some more information about the towns strengths / weaknesses - forageability, building score, etc. Loved the procedural character design (names, avatars, personalities, etc)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:11am

Cool city (town) builder with a dark theme. I would love to play it with a bit more variation from season to season. Great job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:43am

Fantastic game! Art loking really lovely ^_^ The mood is great and game really fit the theme! Enjoyed this one!

Atridas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:03pm

What an interesting one.

First, Art and Audio is superb, really really got me into the mood. The gameplay is different and I enjoyed it.

After some "seasons" the game turns repetitive. And I didn't understand if I was playing "bad" or it's just impossible to win.

Also, there is no way to close the game, I think :-/

Overall, very good experience. :D

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

This was awesome!

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:10pm

The graphics are literally ridiculously good. I love how you convey so much detail in such a limited palette.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:18am

Wow. Beautiful and cruel. Absolutely loved it.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:25am

I felt in love with the graphics as soon as I saw the screenshots. The intro music really helps setting the mood of the game and overall the gameplay is solid, although it is not clear if this is an endless survival game or if there is a way to win.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Everything about this game is perfect. I'll be showing this to my friends at our next tabletop evening!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:10pm

The atmosphere is amazing. Sometimes felt like the numbers weren't adding up after each season, but maybe I'm missing something. Really cool game.

t4u says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Liked the idea. Both art and sounds are nice. Everything keeps you in mood.

1. I would like to have greater control on what is happenening (as I feel I lost out of the blue)
2. I would like to speed up animation on click during sacrifices
3. Accept button sometimes overlays text.

PS. Any inspiration by wicker man?

Overall: Strong points are graphics, innovation and mood

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Awesome game, makes me wonder if there is a way to beat it though. I kept on losing despite my actions.

pereubu says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:20pm

fantastic visuals for a jam game, and a great concept too :D

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Tricky, it was difficult to make decisions! I felt as though I didn't have much impact on the eventual outcome, but I suppose that was the point. Incredible visuals and audio, so full marks for those and mood!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The graphical style is impressive, it is very polished for a jam game. I really dig it. Maybe after a while, the two color graphics start to hurt the eyes a little though. The mood is out of this world, I really like the world. The game is very punishing though, it is very hard to balance one's resources. Also i feel it is a little repetitive. But those are minor annoyances, cause I think the game is very very good.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:57pm

This was made in 3 days??? Oh my god, this is a great game!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Fantastic! Has a nice Darkest Dungeon vibe.

randoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:13pm

This game's mood is amazing. Nice job!

intXparts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:50am

Beautifully executed! Everything is just phenomenal.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:34am

Really nice polished graphics and gameplay! I loved the concept too.

madmaw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:53am

Fantastic game. I didn't win, but I kept coming back for more

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:07am

One of the best game of this LD for me! Nice writing and characters generation.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:56am

Oh my god this is the most beautiful game I've seen so far...

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:59am

PRAISE CHERNOBOG! Please don't sacrifice me on his altar..

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:02am

Great art works!
Though I really cannot figure out how to win, every stat drops fast even if I made them go up.

01101101 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:44am

Exceptionally polished game! The art is amazing, the music is good, the gameplay is original and engaging... Really solid work here, good job guys!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Excellent visual style - check
Clear gameplay - check
Moody music - check
Chernobog - check
Impossible to win - check

You found a recipie of winning on LD :o)

aviktorov says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Very solid game! The art style, the music, pretty much every aspect of this game is amazing. You made a great Ludum Dare gem, well done! :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:13pm

My people became unhappy and revolted, so the elder god woke up and killed us all. 10/10

Very well designed and fantastic to look at, I really quite like this entry. I'm not too fond of resource management games on the whole, but I like that you use the framework to show that this type of society is unsustainable. Great work, keep it up!

jofra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:37pm

There is no winning when you have to sacrifice that much :o
Really cool game!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Very impressive graphics, music and mood. Gameplay-wise, it could certainly use more variety and options, but of course, limited time and all that; I'm sure you're aware of that point.

It seems impossible to do well, but that was probably intentional. The game seems to be "cheating" though, in that the bars that fill up to show your progress between seasons don't seem to be nearly as full when you get back to the main game screen. Case in point, in my last attempt I failed due to "running out" of houses even though the shelter bar had only decreased a little that turn, and it was not empty. Maybe the game is just made to make you lose after 5 seasons... though someone mentioned playing for 10 seasons? No idea how they would have managed that.

ANYWAY, excellent effort overall. :)

Gornova says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Simply amazing, I like the idea when you get food and shelter to people, no one investigate about missing people...

grywhttl says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:04am

Excellent game, and looks amazing!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:47am

The art style simply blew me away. Gameplay is solid and understandable, but I felt that my shelter and food disappear for unknown reasons. As in, I produced 24, ate 14 and the bar still lower. The sacrifice/popularity/usefulness mechanics are great :)

FrederickK says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:41am

Hum, I'm not sure if I get it.
I mean, it is a game to hold as long you can, right? Then the twist is that you have to kill someone of the community each round, each having different drawbacks.
But you normally don't have much idea of what those drawbacks will be, maybe intentionally.
I've found "kick my kitty" very funny lol, the art is great, well chosen colors, the music is fitting and the animations are very smooth, I want to call it a fantastic game, but I can't. I'm really not sure of what I was suppose to do, but I liked what I did. So...just great game I guess?

Mase says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Beautiful graphics.

It might be nice if it was possible to win...
As others have noted, the bars seem to stealthily fall by a certain extra amount each season... it was a bit of an anticlimax to see the game end abruptly due to this. I didn't feel like I had enough control over the game. However, it probably would've become too repetitive if it lasted much longer.

Overall very impressive for a 3 day project.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:26pm

A fabulous art-style, although some elements could stand out a bit more (like the icons below the houses when you assign a job). It's very hard to balance the requirements, a bit of a slower introduction into the game play would have helped. It's a really interesting concept, and the audio is great too! Great work!

cbstegeman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very unique style and really cool concept. It was hard to tell how different sacrifices affected gameplay. But this could turn into something very cool with more post-LD work!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Is it even possible to survive?
Great atmosphere.
The city sim management is quite simple, but the sacrifice selection moment is magific.
Congrats because the game idea is one of the most original I've seen around.

General says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Finally I found a strategy game! It's really well-made, here's how I played http://youtu.be/S-puJwH9Sq0
Your game is at 13:15

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:28pm

I dont know if i can win this game, it feels repetitive but the graphics and music are great.

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Wow, really nice. Loved the writing, and art style. Everything was top quality, and a really neat concept.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Art style is amazing! Really strong entry, congrats! ;)

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Great concept with very nice aesthetics, but I felt that the feedback could be greatly improved. I kept producing more food than apparently was eaten, but it still declined and I finally lost. Choosing who to sacrifice didn't seem to matter. I got a different message once (rumours have been quelled), but saw no effect.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:11am

Holy crap! That was beautiful and amazing! Sound design was really great, minimalist and effective. I feel like you might have taken a page from Red Hook in terms of the overall feel. I really liked the procedural personalities of the potential sacrifices. This is one of my favorites overall.

Tselmek says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Really well-crafted and polished game. The graphics and audio forms altogether a really unique atmosphere. Felt like there was no win condition, but Kudos for making such a nice game!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:57am

It's gorgeous!
I don't really know why i failed though

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Lovely graphics, fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:28am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam! :) Sadly, I could not add a Ludum Dare 33 trophy to your profile because you have not posted anything on the Ludum Dare website, so your profile is privated. If you do post something, please email me with the subject Ludum Dare 33 trophy at Jupi@Jupiterhadley.com so I can give you the trophy you deserve!! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]