Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Investigator and the Case of the Red Herring

by constancecchen - Jam Entry

A point and click whodunnit about Investigator, an alligator who investigates cases. Investigator and his sidekick the Trauma Llama look into the death of the Sunk Skunk, found floating down the river by the docks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.67
#4Humor(Jam)4.72
#5Overall(Jam)4.39
#75Theme(Jam)4.11
#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Oh my god, this is so super-awesome, and no comments? Best adventure/detective game in the jam so far, good work! (The twist was totally unexpected and jaw-dropping BTW).

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The graphics style was awesome and quite original for the jam as we don't see that many games that aren't pixel-y in their aesthetic. The story was well made and kept me interested throughout. The writing was very solid and I had no issue with it. I loved the characters' destinct personalities and their names especially xD The music worked well to set the atmosphere. If I had a few things to say in terms of criticism would be potentially some sound effects and there being more of a game to this. It was more of a visual novel, which would have been fine, but you include the whole clues tab and everything but we never really get to use it. I understand time limitations but I still felt the need to address that. Other then those two things, it was a well written, interesting and lenghty entry with loads of charm!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Lovely entry, graphics and audio were really good, they create a great mood. Story was interesting with lots of charm, but in the end gathering clues felt just as a gimmick to advance the story forward (was the title/tavern name a pun on this?), and the player has no agency in how it unfolds in the end. Regardless, this is a very solid entry, congratulations!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:31pm

OH MY GOD!!! This is fantastic.

gillenew says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Great game, it was the most enjoyed that I played on this LD for now.
Too bad for the trauma llama :(

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Great game. Love the music and the art alongside the core mechanics.

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:01pm

this is awesome !!! definitely full 5 stars

walaber says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:02pm

really fun, nice job. good writing and a fun twist at the end :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:21pm

The puns.... oh the puns

JackDegree says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Cool game man!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:24am

Ahh this was a good one. Didn't expect the ending, haha. Love all the art.. and the puns, of course! Great entry. :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Love that awesome p'n'c mood! Congrats with the great entry!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Never in all my life have I seen so many puns in one game, I had a ball with this one. I'd have rated you well in all the categories you've opted out of as well. Good job!

LeoM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Very nice !!!
Is it the following of another game ? I want a link ! ^^
Probably one of the best adventure/point and click game I see so far.

schnerble says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Excellent work! That's the first graphic adventure game I've seen on LD (but I guess you've done others in the past) - and it all comes together very nicely :) It worked better in full screen for me, because in the embed the clues came up in scrollable text boxes, but that's not much of a worry. Great stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]