Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Out of the Loop

by iapc - Jam Entry

Since last time, our team has shrunk quite a bit. Only two (of four) remained this time. Despite this, we decided to go for a story-rich game. And thus the decision to do a text-adventure seemed logical to us.

This game tells the story of a man who wakes up one day, without that much of his memory left. It's up to you to find the pieces and put it back together.

One oddity: words that don't belong are ignored, instead of giving an error.
This means: if you say: Walk Toothbrush East, then it's interpreted as Walk East.

Remember, don't rush text-adventures, you will miss vital information and / or items.

Innovation compared to other games in the genre is mostly in the realtime elements of the game. Some elements of the game are realtime, instead of just reactions to your typing.

You may want to use the help command. That should point you on the right way.

Last-minute update: some shortcuts added and some lines added to the help file.

IMPORTANT: use + object does NOT work. You have to write it the other way around. Also, if you need an item to progress, having the item is enough, after that, you can just use a simple walk / go command. The same thing applies to the Elevator.

If you're stuck on the first level, the key to the elevator is stuck on rubbish.

We added a post-Ludum Dare version, with great improvements to language detection. The story is kept the same. So if you want to experience the story, without getting annoyed by some oddities of a poor text detection system, use that one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#748Overall(Jam)2.97
#753Innovation(Jam)2.72
#892Theme(Jam)2.88
#974Fun(Jam)2.41

Comments

Perkovec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15am

I'll try everything, but the game doesn't understand anything...

tc4mpbell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

Wandered a bit. Could go through locked doors (?). It didn't recognize 'use', which seems a common verb. Or 'unlock'. Wasn't quite sure what to do with the key, then. Seemed the elevator wanted it, but couldn't figure out how to... use it.

Shortcuts for directions would be super nice, too! (n,s,e,w)

Chadivision says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34am

I played this for about ten minutes...obviously not enough time to fully get into it, but I like it. Most of the commands seem intuitive, and the dialogue is well written.

The only suggestion that I would have would be a few things to save on typing. For example, if you could type "e" instead of "east". Also it would be nice if there was a keyboard shortcut to clear out all of the text without having to backspace.

I plan to come back to this one once I get a chance to rate some more games.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37am

I got pretty far, 'til I decided it'd be a good idea to try and kill the guard. Pretty engaging for a text adventure, although I found the number of hallways and such a bit overwhelming.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38am

Well I'm stuck in the loop but it was fun running around.
I wonder what's in the kitchen :O

bonnup says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46am

A great text-based adventure. The gamespace made sense mentally and the real-time elements are appropriately stressful. Loved it.

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46am

Last-minute upgrade: some more synonyms for turning on light (just saying lights now works), and using N,E,S,W now works.

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:58am

it doesn't seem to want to go east or west, and help seemed to break after a little bit.

ryanisaacg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

It doesn't recognize door while in the first room.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Incredibly advanced project and you took it on incredibly well. Good work!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Very well done. great job. Cool idea.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:21am

Very well donde with mood here. You reminds me when I was a child and expend a lot of time with this type of game

mantis says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Love text adventure games! :)

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I liked that this was text based. It's the only one I've seen so far, but there are way too few options which can get quite frustrating mid-game.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:34am

Awesome! great mood got to the end and then died on the guard. cool writing, cool story.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]