Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Of All Trades

by cynicalmonkey - Compo Entry

Sometimes all a monster wants is a casual walk through the woods,if only everyone could leave them alone. This is a simple card game, work your way through the story deck of cards using your own deck and harnessing the tools at any monsters disposal, being Scary, Spooky or Cuddly.

First Game Jam of any kind here and lacked the software know how to add music, so enjoy the silence.

Sorry I didn't explain better in game but seeing comments I have written the below tutorial. I realized to late i hadn't explained it well enough but felt altering the game to do so wouldn't have been in the spirit of the compo.

Also there should of been a game end screen but something was obviously wrong in the code and again I felt patching it out wasn't in the spirit of LD. :)

*Tutorial*
Your Hand is the 5 cards at the top of the screen, each one can do one of 2 things.
1)Increase/Decrease Your Stats
2)Give you an ability to played at a later time

On the bottom row you will see 1 card and 2 sets of stats. This is your encounter card, on it are the details of your current encounter. The stats on your left are the levels you will need of each stat (scary/spooky/cuddly) to pass the encounter. The stats on your right are your current levels.

The encounter deck also contains action cards that you won't need any levels to bypass but will have an effect.

Turns.

Each turn you can play one card, ability cards don't happen instantly but give you that ability to play at a later point by clicking the buttons to the left of your. When you have played your card click the 'End Turn' button. if you meet the criteria needed for an encounter a new card will be drawn.

Abilities.

At any point in your turn you can play, Roar,Creepy Laugh or Teddy Bear by pressing the buttons next to your hand. until the end of turn it will change the related criteria needed to 0. You may play more than 1 each turn if you wish.

Endgame

The game will end when you have completed the Story Deck, there is a card counter next to the encounter card letting you know your process.

*update*

I wrote a post mortem about my LD33 experience here

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/25/ld33-post-mortem-themes-feedback-and-my-first-jam/

It also contains a link to an updated version that takes into account all the below feedback, it is not meant to replace my entry for the compo, just trying to follow up on any promise people had seen :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#443Innovation3.04
#504Humor2.62
#579Theme3.22
#779Fun2.53
#782Overall2.73
#824Mood2.23
#862Graphics2.12

Comments

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:59pm

I dont quite get how or why i got through the game. Tutorial would have been really nice!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Seems to be about reading the middle card and guessing which stats you need based on what it says, then just picking the cards at the top that give you those stats. At least, I think that was the idea. It's what seemed to get me ahead.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Overall I found this game had great promise but poor execution and found it a little difficult to comprehend and play, I didn't expect to find many card games for this theme but glad that someone gave it a go in such an innovative way, I found this a really cool take on the theme with all the different cards and everything, the visual style was nice even for a card game, Some of the cards you could play were quite funny but I think the thing that tanked the mood was no audio, I would have loved a sort of funny or bright and bubbly soundtrack for this game but no audio isn't that horrible but I do really think that it helps. Great concept poor execution but well done overall.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:04pm

i wrote the rather brief guide on the left after making the whole game and knowing exactly what i was talking about but without stopping to think wether other people would know what i was talking about, i could of explained it better but thanks for playing

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

A very interesting idea; I'm not sure if there's any strategy except keep playing cards until you get your stats up, and I think the ability cards don't work, but it seems very promising and may turn out to be a fun multiplayer card game! For example, you could have a game where you try to scare your opponent's humans with your monster before they do the same to yours...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I think there's an interesting game here, but I don't get it. Maybe the instructions are a little bit confuse, sory. If you're going to improve someday make the instructions as you play.
And the link for the game is wrong, because it says "Web" but takes you to a desktop game download. You need to change that.
Thaks!!

dhargan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

kinda hard to understand. would be a promising game with a tutorial but of course it might be not possible to prepare a tutorial for a compo game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:20pm

The game and instructions were quite confusing, however it's a neat little idea. Wish there was more to it though.

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:10pm

I found this game to be rather interesting, a lot of potential for complex play, but I can't help but feel it didn't provide too much in terms of actual gameplay. An intriguing concept, but perhaps too complex too fully form in only 48 hours.

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

great idea, keep working

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I commend you for taking on a logic-heavy game! Numbers, man.

It was difficult to play, which I'll blame on my inexperience with the genre. A tutorial or guide would have been nice but it's understandable to omit that given the time constraint.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Interesting game. would look forward to a second more vast version

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Good effort for a first time entry. Lots of positives in the game and a lot you can probably take away and improve on. The main problem I found was how difficult I found it to play. Remember, what seems blatantly obvious to you will be alien to everyone else.

Hope to see you in LD34

SilentNight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Once I understood the game it was pretty fun. Didn't seem like you could lose ever since all cards are net gain, especially since you can't go negative stats. definitely could of used a tutorial but a cool gimmick for sure!

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53am

The people who are saying it's hard to understand are crazy, it's not hard at all to figure out if you actually try. :)

Lack of a defeat condition makes this a little too easy, but the concept is neat and with some more mechanical complexity I could see it being a cool multiplayer game.

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:58pm

It took me a couple tries to understand how to play the game, but once I did, it was pretty fun. I think some audio would have been nice for the different cards and I don't know if this was purposeful or not, but it didn't seem like your stats could go into the negatives. Overall a pretty fun game and very original because it's the only card game that I've seen.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:34am

Tutorial most wanted here, anyway looks pretty cute!

daveh says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:00am

I can see what you were going for. It was a little confusing at first but I figured it out about 1/4 the way through. Some suggestions would be to have the card text be related to the story of a monster walking through the forest and keep some kind of score based on completing the story in as fewer moves.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:10am

Good innovation combining a card game with a story! Good work!

Note: You are allowed to fix bugs (end screen not showing), but not add new features. See "Additional Notes" on http://ludumdare.com/compo/rules/ :)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:35am

Congratulation on your first game jam! You should add a loosing condition for a next release

Josh Riley says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:16am

As others have said, it was really difficult to understand exactly what to do, even after reading the instruction in game. The idea is really solid, and some tutorializing (either overtly or otherwise) would go a long way. However, 48 hours doesn't leave a lot of time for that kind of thing.

I was also going to mention something about the harshness of the red color, but I see the post-compo version is much easier to look at. Great first entry, keep going!

Druid says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Wow! Simple but really addicting game! (yes, i played this game and no, i don't needed tutorial. I am used to play card games :D)

Gameplay was pretty good! Only thing what i really don't liked was graphics...

All in all, little ugly, but pretty neat and innovative game!

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:23pm

After 8 minutes of playing or so I finally understood what to do - and after that the fun started :)
You have a solid basement, now you can add more art, integrate tutorial and expand the game.

The video reviews of the games I played:https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 45:49

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]