Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Legs

by alex bergin - Jam Entry

Move your spaghetti like limbs using Q+W on the left and O + P on the right. Try to knock over as many buildings as possible without falling over.

Play in Chrome or Firefox for non-blurry pixel art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#278Humor(Jam)3.28
#304Innovation(Jam)3.30
#386Graphics(Jam)3.67
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#583Overall(Jam)3.15
#656Theme(Jam)3.28
#781Mood(Jam)2.76

Comments

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:24pm

A little confused on how(or if) I was being scored. Very QWOP, nice graphics!

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Scoring reset confused me at first - re-read the description and now I get it!

Chatter says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Felt like I was massaging the building at first, but then I finally got it down!

HACKhalo2 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The art is really cool. But that lifeless stare... it looks into your soul...

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I love the graphics. After a few minutes of playing, I think I got the hang of this game, I can now consistently knock the buildings over.

NineBears says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:34pm

3D squid QWOP, 10/10

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:35pm

QWOPTOPUS?

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:38pm

this game may make it to top 100!

Love the art!

mincrmatt12 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Good game, It has the controls you seemed to be aiming for, and it look nice. A suggestion from me would be to make it that building falling over = 1 point, buildings being destroyed = another point, but thats just my opinion. Anyways, great game

mickanio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Love the graphics and the leg physics.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Ahahaha great game :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39pm

This game is just phenomenal. Amazing aesthetic!

Roboboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I was yelling at my screen at one point, trying to get the damn thing to not fall on the ground. Amazing job! Played this for like 30 minutes without getting past a score of 2.

orange08 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41pm

this is a nice idea but it needs a bit more variety...

petersmyth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:47am

super super cute

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:10am

So hard but very hilarious little game. Finally a game where I'm a monster who doesn't try to harm anyone!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46pm

aha nice octadad feel X)
nice colors

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

There is a surprising amount of flailing limbs in this game. Fun mechanic, it didn't seem like you were able to fail though? Love the art style, would like to see more of this.

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I loves these kind of games. Great job :)

jwin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Took a while to get the hang of if, but it's pretty fun to play around with the physics. And the spider guy is pretty cute.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Nice, I've been seeing a lot of these physics-based awkward to control sort of things and I tend to enjoy them. This one has a method for me that tended to just work in most cases. That was holding the 'O' key to keep one set of legs up and moving the other set of legs in large swooping patterns to sort of "fly" and push off the ground. It's very elegant looking once you get it down haha.

Knocking over the buildings tended to be mostly "rubbing against it until something happens" at first, but once I got my octo-swooping method down I was flinging my arms into buildings like a champ.

The game description says you knock stuff over until you fall over, but from what I could tell there wasn't really a fail state in terms of falling over. Being on the ground is just kind of the natural octopus state, so as far as I could tell you couldn't really mess up. Which is fine by me actually.

Oh also, really nice art and colors used. It's simple but does a good job. I really wish there were some audio in here somewhere. The silent flopping around just felt like it needed something.

LeReveur says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

I spent much time to figure out how to use controls, and why I was losing my hardly taken points, but I finally managed to understand both. Nice graphics and animation.

mewnica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53am

adorable game! un-intuitive, funky controls are always lots of fun to play with :) graphics fit perfectly!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:05am

Surgeon simulator spider edition! Didn't manage to do much other than knock those blocks over and have all legs on top of my head :)

terop2 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:06pm

pretty nice. had some difficulties with the controls at first. But the 3d graphics looks amazing.

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:13pm

very funny game, i like it, but i have to train more for the control. Overall very funny thank you for this laugher

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Hilarious, even if there isn't much to it it's cool. Graphics really work too! My best score is 3, though I could probably get more if I were patient enough with my award winning strategy of "only drag myself along with o and p". Too bad there's no audio, and it could use a bit of context... :( (title screen, end game state, high score tables?)

dydx says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:31am

Nice concept, really cute character. Very cool to see a game made with three.js and coffeescript :)

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:31am

Funny QWOP game! Didn't seem like I could ever fall over though.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:24am

I really liked this, it was fun to play and looks nice. I found that you only really need one set of legs, also my score kept resetting to zero.

alex bergin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:45am

thanks for all the feedback everyone! score gets reset when the body hits the ground unsupported by legs

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Damn man. Really nice work.

"score gets reset when the body hits the ground unsupported by legs"

I was wondering about that! That's a great mechanic.

Maybe you could add a red angry-styled treatment to the character on hitting the ground? To super punch the 'dun dun dah' aspect.

Oh man. The simplicity of the world is like - a huge drawcard, but I could definitely see tiny little pixel people running under-foot.

Great work man!

superfreak says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Ridiculously endearing and unwieldy octo-cute :) some backing audio and sound-effects would have upped the cutie / fun factor but overall a very polished entry!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Cute game!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:48am

Did figure how to control daddy long legs pretty quickly, but sort of loses the charm as a consequence of it. It's honestly a pretty easy game. Didn't especially find it funny, just another clumsy simulator (thought that probably boils down to taste, I admit).

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:33pm

not a fan of QWOP style of game but very original game play and cute graphics.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Cute, fun, simple game. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/fxtKngYPsCg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]