Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Area 17

by SpringCabal - Jam Entry

We've released a post-jam version which includes an FPS fix among other things. Check it out if you have FPS lag with the original.
=======================

Oh noes! Your spaceship has gotten stranded on a planet with the FILTHY humans! Unfortunately on your voyage, your shipmate went out for a stroll on on this backwards planet causing you to delay your honeymoon plans.

No matter, biomass is biomass! It just might take a little longer to harvest is all, but that's about all this lifeform is good for anyway.
We may be able to extract some knowledge from some of the less mediocre apes, I've heard they wear lab coats.

Area 17 is a fun and fast paced shoot em' up and then abduct them for spare parts game. You must abduct humans in order to get enough biomass to upgrade your ship while trying to find your missing beloved stranded on the ground. Unfortunately, while you've narrowed their location down to a fairly small area, you're going to have to find them the old fashioned way.

Prime your lazers and shine yer probes! It's abduction time at Area 17!!! Yeehaw!

SpringCabal's second Ludum Dare entry!

Authors:
Anarchid
ashdnazg
ForbodingAngel
gajop
GoogleFrog

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#110Fun(Jam)3.71
#186Overall(Jam)3.66
#351Graphics(Jam)3.74
#364Audio(Jam)3.17
#373Innovation(Jam)3.21
#589Mood(Jam)3.03
#665Theme(Jam)3.26
#684Humor(Jam)2.52

Comments

Patomkin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Looks really good! Really shows the invested time. If only it didn't lag so much :/
P.S. 5/5 shields are overpowered ;)

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Very good game, I had a great time playing it! =)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Quite laggy, but awesome. Great work!

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I played through, really good game but lagged on my PC too, but witcher not. Yeay :D
Whatever, this is an enjoyable, real time robber. GG :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Wow! Super fun hoovering up all the little humans. Can't wait to see more from this game. Hope you are going to develop it further. Wish it was a little more difficult. And LOVE the black hole for human collecting. Great Job!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:16pm

I have old machine and it lags little bit. But looks beutiful

DarkStar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:17pm

great game lots of fun

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

It's just to much fun, converting all those humans into biomass ;) Great game, although a bit easy.

tal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Great game! but need mission not just killing stuff...

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:49am

That was so much fun. I wish there was more "end game" gameplay to it, since you get there so fast. Lots of potential for a fully polished game here. :)

Novaki says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30am

Incredibly fun game! I didn't think I'd end up playing as long as I did. Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:25pm

A bit laggy, but great game! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/tto3rRaLBXQ

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:25pm

addictive game >_<

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Finally a game I can't believe was made in just 3 days! It's a complete product. In 90's you could sell this game (with era-appropriate graphics) at full price. Fun gameplay, good visuals.

The only two complaints from me: first, it's not clear where is the end of the game. Does it ends when some invisible timer runs out (or did I miss it?). Or does I need to collect some pre-defined amount of biomass? It just isn't clear. The other thing, the game's a bit too easy, though I suppose you can ramp up difficulty with ease if you add more levels with harder enemies in post-LD version.

All in all, a great game, the best I've seen in this Dare yet!

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:03am

Great game. This would be a great mobile game. Good job !

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:18am

@ChaosCult
Technically there's an end of the game when you beamup a green alien, but it's very hard to see and it's really not clear. The game is more of a sandbox.
Regarding difficulty - it is indeed too easy which is something we'll fix in the post-LD version. The difficulty could've been higher seeing as the game isn't punishing at all (no upgrades are lost on death).

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:40am

And obviously:
@All: Thank you ^^

farnsworth2 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Impressive work! An upgrade that leads to the end goal would have been a nice addition, I had to fly around the island several times to find the alien. Obviously more enemies, more upgrades, and a menu of some sort would be good to have too, but there's only so much you can do in 3 days.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Really laggy ):
I hope you'll come up with a better/less-laggy version, because the game is great!

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Totally awesome. Well done.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:54am

Very nice the tech tree system. Games difficulty also scales well. About the music I gues it s a little bit annoying after a while, but completely in the mood for an alien spaceship

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:11am

We were able to play it this time unlike LD 32! I like upgrade system a lot. It felt a bit too easy to farm a lot of people without needing to attack other bases. This lend often to super-safe gameplay that may not have been as action-packed as intended. To be fair, I was having frame-rate issues, so that could be the reason.

jofra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:41pm

this game have a lot of content for an LD entry! :o
Gj! very cool game.

superfreak says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Impressive amount of material for a jam - felt like a fully fleshed and very polished RTS game. Awesome work look forward to seeing more in the future :)

Shadowfury333 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:59am

I've made a video showcase of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNGe4KTdVN4

Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:19pm

My teammate already rated this but wow, it's so good I couldn't resist sharing a little more love. This is really top notch fun. So many fantastic ways to gobble up the puny humans. I think I've already played more of this game than any of the other 120+ we've played and reviewed. I played the post LD version since our team already rated on the original. Great job!

SpringCabal says ...
Sep 21, 2015 @ 8:20am

Hey, I'm glad you enjoyed it!
We've made some additional changes that address the low health regeneration and "base sniping"/"hit & run" aspects of the game and will probably make at least one more release in the following weeks :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]