Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Monster

by Berserker_Chris - Compo Entry

You are the Monster, a hungry Monster.
There are so many Sweets but the little Girls call there Mum if they see you,
so you have to eat the Candys stealth.

*edit: Changed the Windows-Link because of server problems.
Til Google Drive works use this link:
http://www.filedropper.com/ludumdare33-candymonster

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#410Humor2.85
#541Audio2.53
#546Theme3.28
#648Fun2.75
#730Innovation2.56
#748Graphics2.51
#793Mood2.36
#856Overall2.58

Comments

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:00pm

It's a cool concept, but the game just becomes really difficult by level 3 or something, and the collision detection is slightly frustrating. Other than that the game is solid!

misterwalter says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Very cute, I had fun. The stealth was well done, though I found the difficulty ramp a bit steeper than I expected. I had trouble getting past level 2.

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:19pm

The concept is really cool, and I love the sound effects. However, you move too slowly, and it makes it frustrating to play when you get spotted because there is no excape

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:37pm

nice sound effects yo

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:25am

Nice stealth mechanics man. One of the biggest frustrations had a bunch of backtracking I had to do during one of the levels. Other than that, though, I felt like you did an excellent job with this game! 4/5 :D

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Nice sounds, Good work, a little bug, keep working

Zed says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Challenging little game, with a fun idea. I dunno why these kids are so against me getting some sweet candy. THEY are the real monsters, if you ask me..

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:38pm

The yay:
- spend a short while switching through menu options because of the selection sound
- somewhat amusing idea

The nay:
- very mistmatched graphics
- slow and clunky gameplay (especially with these collisions)
- level completion menu has hardly readable text
- music is played every time you enter the menu, with old one still in background

Tips for the future:
- consistent graphics, even crude, are better than full HD mismatched ones
- more often than not, slow movement is *not* a good idea
- either align movement to the grid, or make wall collision area not larger than sprite; it's really annoying when character gets blocked on nearby air or something

Good luck with further gamedev~!

Bitterdeath says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Great main character. I don't know why but the eating noise (NOM) was a nice brake from the typical chomp or crunch sound.

purple_pwny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Love the sound effects! :x

rotpar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:25am

Fun!

toni343 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:20am

It's ok, but the girls sprite doesn't really go with the rest, the collisions were shabby and it is really unfairly difficult

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Very funny and rather difficult game. I liked audio and gameplay. Good job.

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Has potential to be fun but found myself getting frustrated with the controls and clipping to the edges of the environments - interesting take on the theme and good effort!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Stolen from little girls, what's more monstrous than that?

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:58pm

super fun.monster bit too slow.

granut100 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:01am

Fun! and with a nice GUI.

mubox says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:17am

Good game... :)
Very hard after first stage. ^^'

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:38am

Fun, but yes, the collision detection is sometimes frustrating, but I'm happy to have played it. :)

SamH says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:53am

I’m sorry, but YOU are the monster for using Comic Sans.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:55am

@SamH That was intentional

Dizzly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:12am

Veery difficult game already at lvl2. It s not bad thing because since mechanics are very simple it s good to have difficult designed games. maybe you could improve the detection with borders because sometimes I get stuck even if I should pass. I guess collider is too big.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Fun game; I really liked the stealth mechanic and the graphics were nice. I also liked the SFX but found the background audio a bit grating.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:30am

It's a fun concept, and have great audio xp

But we have some issues with the collider, the controls are a bit slow and stiff, it's hard to tell what is the sight range of the girls, and art is not very coherent (although it's nice)

With some polishment I think it would be a fun game

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Cute and hard game. Overall fun.
Concepts of graphics are nice, but take care of the color of texts. I could hardly read them sometimes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]