Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Scabs

by bitdecaygames - Jam Entry

A 2D beat-em-up in which the player controls Scabs, a hobo who finds himself out of place in a world devoid of people.

-Controls-
"WASD / arrows" to move
"P" to punch
"Space" to jump

("S" can be used to skip the cut scenes)

NOTE: The game may crash after the final cutscene (fully white screen) so don't worry if that happens. You got to play the whole game!

-How to Run-
-Windows/Linux/Mac-
- unzip LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar.zip
- double click LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar (Mac users might have to right click and say "Open" and then select "Ok" if their Mac tells them they can't open the file since it is from an unknown developer)
(if double clicking doesn't work):
- open a cmd line
- navigate to LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar
- java -jar LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar

-Mac- (if you want it to run like a native app)
- unzip LudumDare33-0.1.2-MAC.zip
- double click LudumDare33-0.1.2 (might have to right click and say "Open")


Experiencing issues? (these options are only available if you downloaded the raw jar file)

Resolution Too High?
java -jar LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar low-res

Resolution Too Low?
java -jar LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar high-def

Workaround for black screen with bottles at bottom:
java -jar LudumDare33-all-0.1.2.jar no-shader
(this means you wont get to see our awesome dynamic lighting, but at least you can play the game)


-Known issues-
-(MAYBE FIXED) Game crashes after the end game cut scene
-(FIXED) Ball lightning can get stuck on screen
-(FIXED) If you die, you have to restart the app (sorry, we will fix this)
-(FIXED) Some users are experiencing a black screen with the health bar (a bunch of bottles) along the bottom of the screen and nothing else (we fixed this, but incase you have issues with the game, try the "no-shader" option described above)

**JAVA 7 or greater is required**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#189Humor(Jam)3.50
#196Audio(Jam)3.52
#242Graphics(Jam)3.96
#311Mood(Jam)3.40
#326Overall(Jam)3.46
#448Fun(Jam)3.16
#753Innovation(Jam)2.72
#811Theme(Jam)3.04

Comments

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

it's not working for me on my windows 8 system! gets stuck on a screen with a bunch of 40s that I assume is a loading screen.

Plomeg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:07am

Also experiencing black screen =(
i'm sad because it seems great

bowlercaptain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:17am

Graphics were great! Sounds were amazing! I couldn't help feeling like my cape was more mobile than I was, and getting stunlocked to death standing below the turret lightning was a bit frustrating, but I think that's the most brawler we're going to get in a jam timeframe.

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:57am

We've uploaded a fixed version of the jar for any users that are getting stuck at a black screen after hitting Play.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:27am

Fun game, nice style, and cool lighting and effects. Great job!

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:31am

Could not start. Raw .jar went to black screen, and every time I try to launch the fixed .jar it gives me "A Java Exception has occurred.
Was really looking forward to this one

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:20pm

aha what a crazy one. loved the intro cutscene, it had a great mood that city shot. the combat was a bit simple for me :S

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Graphics are great, love the audio as well. However I only got around 10 frames per second, and the movement seemed very slow (my PC can run games like Skyrim at around 20).

palsina says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:23pm

good job!
loved the intro, reminds me of Another World!

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Freaking awesome graphics. Everything feels very polished in terms of looks. I also really enjoyed the music. It fight the atmosphere really well. I wish the gameplay would have been a little more fast paced because it felt like dodging some things was impossible but overall very nice work.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:38pm

When I tried to run it on OSX I got a JRELoadError.

scorched says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Works for me on Windows 8.1, but crashed when I go into hole in wall to the right.
Liked the animation and intro, gameplay is also engaging. But I failed many times to position myself in front of enemy (vertically).
Congratulations!

Connors says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:42pm

I love the friggin' story behind this game, that is the most badass hobo on the planet. And also the only hobo... The mood of this game is great and I would love to see it rebuilt as a larger game. You could totally elaborate on the story and make the main character real interesting. What did he see, through his bloodshot eyes, when he got outside the wall? WHAT DID HE SEE?

The death was totally stupid and of course I laughed out loud.

PPPPPPPPBBBBLT~PP--BBT*•,;=

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:18am

The art is nice, and I like the lighting. The intro is well polished too

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22am

Interesting art style, great story, and a nice bit of fun. The gameplay could use a little polish and juice, but well done!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:42am

This was really good, I love the concept. The combat was a bit simplistic, but still enjoyable. I'm not sure if I didn't get the ending of if it crashed prematurely, but that haunting hobo face at the end was incredibly well done.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Nice and funny! Congrats!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Well presented and good looking game. I found avoiding the lightning bolts rather frustrating though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]