Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mike The Mediocre Meteor

by peecestudios - Jam Entry

Engine: Godot Engine

Sound: Audacity

Graphics: Gimp | Neo Texture Edit 0.64

-----------------------------------------------------------
Try not to die wile dodging and blocking balls of fire

SPACE - shield (only works for a few seconds at a time)

WASD = move


My high score is 62, good luck

-----------------------
Name four.[os].zip
-----------------------
Made in less than 24hr
not by choice, but by
schedule #marchingband
-----------------------
LINUX USERS:Linux Doesn't Extract for some reason, I'ma Keep Working On it. (Probably Godot Deciding to kill itself)
-----------------------
MUSIC REMOVED FOR SANITY REASONS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#593Audio(Jam)2.56
#752Humor(Jam)2.33
#761Mood(Jam)2.79
#785Fun(Jam)2.70
#803Graphics(Jam)2.77
#842Innovation(Jam)2.59
#864Overall(Jam)2.82
#1048Theme(Jam)2.33

Comments

ksanochka says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:58pm

interesting game :) well done bro

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Is that evil Otto from Berserk? :o Is he back? Cool job :D

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:54am

Could not extract the Linux zip file

fmdud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:03am

Not bad man. Works great on mac!

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:03am

Thanks, I'll Work on it

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49am

Awesome game! Quite difficult, but also addicting.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13am

Solid entry! Decent audio, nice particles and visuals. Well done!

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Nice little game.

The Linux-Zip seems to be a little small for a game made with godot, so I guess it can't be extracted because it's incomplete (the zip-file).
However, I was still able to run the Windows one with wine.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I like player movements

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:55pm

simple but effective! scored 112 :)

MagentaGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Nice Job guys. Congrats from Brazil

ripter says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I had fun. Using the shield as a weapon is really interesting!

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:44am

hahaa i lasted 1 or 2 longer! noice!

Sadale says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:38am

Try things like lmms or fl studio for making music. It's probably a much better then using audacity because audacity isn't designed for music composition AFAIK.

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:24pm

nice game bruh!!

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:41am

Nice and interesting, I enjoyed it!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:43am

Very simple and fun, overall a pretty good entry, well done!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:52am

Nice idea. Maybe if bouncing in the border it could have been more dyncamic. Music is too much

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:59am

Got REALLY slow with a whole bunch of the enemies on screen (for reference, got up to 77 points). If you'll allow me to get defensive for a second, it's definitely not my PC (OC 2600k/OC 780Ti). The music quickly got grating (so much so I had to mute it). It might sound like I'm full of complaints, but it was a fun simple little game, and pretty good for less than a day's work. Especially the particle effects, I'm not sure I could pull that off in such a short time.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:08am

I like the concept, but it was really difficult when three of them all block you in, but your shield doesn't last long enough to hit them all. Outside of that one thing though, it was pretty fun.

spindizzyMR says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I don't know why but my interest perks a bit more when I see a game made in something besides the status quo stuff like Unity.

Looked like something starts to hit performance on my computer if I get too many suns at once, guessing all those particle effects?

Nice work for 24 hours.

zeid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:25am

Simple but enjoyable, as mentioned the particle systems start giving my computer a hit.

McFood says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:12am

I got to 61, it was pretty laggy at that point, because I'd mostly been avoiding instead of destroying.

This was a fun idea. and the shield timing felt just right.

Good work!

philomory says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:37pm

I'm not really sure how this is supposed work? The shield-weapon didn't seem to work for me, as far as I could tell.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I got a score of 82 :) but it was running very slowly. For particles, it can be a good idea to create a certain number up-front, (say 1,000) then reuse the objects when they disappear and when new ones appear. An advantage of this is that you can stop them spawning if there are already too many on the screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]