Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

COP RED

by dizshok - Compo Entry

"Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster..."

-Friedrich Nietzsche


Terrorists attacked the science lab and a cyborg-cop "Red" is sent to deal with it. But his mission - kill all bandits, not rescuing hostages ...

Something like that :D
============================================================================
A,D - Movement
Left mouse button - Fire
Spacebar / W - Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#460Fun3.03
#494Graphics3.03
#626Humor2.33
#632Overall2.95
#645Mood2.70
#856Innovation2.17
#907Theme2.18

Comments

BuddaKaeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:19am

actully you can destroy some blocks where you can jump down into the void... don't think that's a feature :D

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:17am

BLOODY exciting :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:15am

Love the feel of this game, great shootting, gibbing and movement. I also like the mood and feels it has a good amount of character. Didnt work out what the red box was for above your head and didnt see the link to the theme! Was a fun few minits

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

Good game but the theme is not respected, where is the monster ?

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I like the story but the intro was too long.
The instructions say “right mouse to fire but it is left.
I had to quit after falling through the ground.

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

The game overall was very entertaining.
But the game had very little connections with the theme

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Decent entry, but I don't see the theme here. Shooting felt a little off from where I was aiming also.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice to have destructible terrain but I got stuck in the area with 3 barrels and 3 bad guys on them. Can't seem to shoot or jump my way out of there. Adrenaline level is good, collision checks a bit less so :)

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice mechanics and graphics, I love the bullet effects . Unfortunately, I had some game size bugs (game window was too big) and I wasn't able to shoot bullets horizontally while on the floor.

gingerBill says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I like the graphics and gibs flying everywhere.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Great that you have destructible terrain and feels fun - although many scientists died. However there seem to be many bugs, in my opinion a post-compo version might be worth the effort, as it is a cool game, but when I enter new rooms everyting explodes and the scientist die - I replayed a couple of times to make sure its not debris or bullets that is flying around. Also have problems with window size.

Coac says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Make some checkpoints, it's a bit difficult. Or make an easy mod for the people like me xD
But the graphics and gameplay are awesome, the FX are great, very rewarding !

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I got stuck in a dome :/

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Well done!

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice one, but I think the connection with the theme was a bit weak. but it was exciting nonetheless !

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

I like the bullet effects and destructible terrain. I had trouble aiming where I wanted at times, and the game was scaled larger than the window.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Very fun little shooter, though it's a bit hard. I liked the shooting mechanics, the destruction and especially the gibbing.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

"Do not kill scientists" the game said. I had already killed two. Heh.

MrFreakys says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:50pm

It's fun, but it's not innovating.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

great idea and good animations :D good game

Acerio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41am

Great game! Love the graphics! :)

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:31am

Gameplay is great, graphics and blood look awesome, would be helped along with a soundtrack/sound effects but a solid entry and an excellent effort. Well done.

Cerberus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:38am

it looked really good, love the mechanics and gameplay, the controls felt good. great job. love the pixel art.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:28am

A-D for movement feels weird on azerty keyboard. you should allow arrows too. or Q-D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]