Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Devil's Avocado

by DeadFragment - Jam Entry

For reason's unknown, you have been reincarnated as a Demonic Volcano God.
You must survive 40 days listening to the wishes of the inhabitants of the island,
whilst deciding whether to fulfill their requests or to sacrifice them.

Allow regions to believe in you buy unlocking them with resources, however
Should a region lose faith in you, you in turn lose control of it.

You also have a Boss, try to do as he says, as he will destroy you.

Please tell us what day you reached in the comments!


Created by :
Programming: Hando Space Biscuits [@handobiscuits]
Art/Graphics/bgm: Neith [@Harken_W]
All assets were created in the 72 hour limit for the Ludum Jam.


Notes -
Requires java (latest version)
Tested on Linux and Windows (though it should work on OSX)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#135Innovation(Jam)3.61
#166Fun(Jam)3.59
#231Overall(Jam)3.59
#258Humor(Jam)3.32
#323Graphics(Jam)3.80
#350Theme(Jam)3.67
#396Mood(Jam)3.31
#437Audio(Jam)3.00

Comments

johnhattan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Very nicely done. Quite enjoyed the theme even if I didn't grok the mechanic right away. Ironically, this is the second "you are an evil god" game that I played in a row. Who would've thought that would've become a thing.

Animation and graphics were very smooth. Sound was a little repetitive and didn't really fit the theme. Definitely could see sound and graphical special effects accompanying the floods and smitings and such. But there's only so much you can do in 72 hours.

Only complaint is that I didn't realize until about day three that you could rotate the entire map with the right mouse-button. That gave an entire new dimension (pun intended) to the game :)

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Tried running it, but it just crashes on my old mac, even after updating Java. The game opens, I hear about 2 notes of the music, then it just shuts down. Running OS x 10.9.5 with 2 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor and 4GB memory.

Aaranos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:30am

I really like the Flame town, so easy to please, just keep roasting them like marshmallows.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:41am

Pretty cool idea and polished look.

noom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:46am

I got sucked right into this one, not even sure how long I played, I got to day 42 before giving up though as it became a matter of just rejecting everything, doing all the resource requests, casting a global rain and ending my turn.
I clearly thoroughly enjoyed this game.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:46am

Quite a nice entry! Really liked the managing of the island! A bit confusing on the resources though (there are so many >.<) also a log with the prayers would be nice, I lost at day 36 because I kept forgetting what my boss and all those regions asked me to do ^^;

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:15am

One of the better ones I've seen this time. But even with the text instructions at the start, it's really confusing. If you're going to work on it more, I'd really suggest an interactive tutorial.

psydack says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:08am

Same JoeProgram bug/error =/

rotpar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:48am

Nice entry. Very well done.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Interesting concept. Would make an awesome mobile app!

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:27am

I didn't get the significance of the pun in the title, but the game seemed alright. I'm not much of a fan of resource management games, but I managed to survive for the 40 days. The graphics reminded me (oddly) of Yoshi's Island. Well done!

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:32am

I can't get over how polished this looks and how amusing I find the title. A++.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Pretty much impossible to play. No records of prayers. Impossible to gain faith of outer settlements. Gameplay is very basic, and there seems to be no strategy.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Awesome game! Stopped at day 15 after grinding for life force became boring. It seems that all the other resources have little to no meaning compared to life force.
Still, I played it a lot more than other LD entries.

logiclogue says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Unfortunately I had the same problem as JoeProgram :(

blubberquark says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Very well polished for a game jam entry. Missing a goal or an ending though.

pi_pi3 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:03pm

This is quite addicting. Although it's way too easy. I didn't feel any challenge. And there is no end, even though you stated the goal is to survive 40 days

Resonious says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:56am

Feels super polished, so excellent job on that. Definitely gotta write down the prayers. Amusing to play though good job.

Stending says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Visually great and really polished! Awesome entry, congratulations!

Beanalby says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:24am

I really like it, the only request i have is to be able to see the town's stats when deciding if I want to accept their offering. I can't remember who has what faith or population... Oh well, *SMITE*.

andreiichim says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:12am

Impressive. Great gameplay. I have a lot of fun playing it.
Answering prayers was a little confusing. Most of the time I forgot what people wanted. It would have been nice to have some kind of list of prayers that need to be answered.
Also, while deciding to answer a prayer or not it would have been nice to be able to check the faith of the specific island to see if I really need to accept or not.
Overall, I enjoyed it a lot.
I made it to day 24. I lost mostly because I miss-clicked a few times when the boss wanted something and I didn't get a chance to read what exactly he wanted.

Acuity says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:56am

Interesting game. I couldn't quite understand what some of the requests were ("set Stephen on fire?"), but I like the mechanics. The music was pretty good, too.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:54am

Reminds me a little of Populous. Nice strategy format. With some more polish and clearer direction this could be really solid. Would recommend.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]