Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodworm

by Jonathan Whiting - Compo Entry

Be Bloodworm, and escape this place they've held you in for too long.

2015-08-24 11:33 GMT: Uploaded a new Windows build that should increase the number of machines that can run it, now only requires OpenGL 3.1 (previously 3.2). No functional changes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Fun4.43
#5Overall4.33
#15Audio4.13
#16Innovation4.23
#45Mood3.94
#52Theme4.15
#52Humor3.86
#66Graphics4.13
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Unfortunately I was unable to play the Windows version. The window doesn't pop up and it gave me no errors. It looks fun though!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

Oh man I love the art :D great work!

sydan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

This was amazing. The mechanic is brilliant. It's like snake but better. I want more. I want much more. The graphics and audio are also very appealing.

Shawn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Great sound effects!

ehtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Nice game! 3:20 to complete. I was weird at the beginning, but it was fun once you understand how to move and reverse. Played in OSX.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

This game was absolutely delicious.

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

Easily my favourite so far! Excellent design, and a really cool mechanic. I don't know what else to say, but I really enjoyed this.

Oh, and the sound effects were absolutely perfect.

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

WOW, that's really fun to play!!

my only problems are the lack of a tutorial/controls
(took me a bit to see that the vines were supports)
and the screen effect for being shot was a bit much.

beyond that it's very satisfying to play, a wonderful extension of snake mechanics!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12am

I couldn't open the windows version, unfortunately. I wish I could give you more details, but the .exe just doesn't really do anything. My OS asks me if I'm okay running the program, I say yes, and then nothing else occurs.

Arcadonauts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

I came over to play this game after I noticed you commented on mine (thanks!), but it won't open. I double click the .exe, and give it permission to run, and nothing happens.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19am

Haha I love the voice acting! So cute!
Awesome fun mechanics, and its great how it allows me to recover even though I got shot up a bunch of times.
Only the third game I played so far but I think it'll be one of the best this Ludum!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

41 coins! In around 2:40... Really like this, nifty movement mechanics and some good puzzles 'n bonus bits to access once you figure it all out. Sounds're funny too. Really great!

diegorueda says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Wow! very addictive and a great level design! The mechanics are really nice and intuitive, and the sounds are cute! Congratulations, it's a great game. I want more!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:35am

Uploaded a new Windows build that should increase the number of machines that can run it, now only requires OpenGL 3.1 (previously 3.2). No functional changes. I might try and improve on this further.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Haha I love it! Charming music and sfx, plus gameplay that is both intuitive and deep. Thank you for putting Z to reverse direction, it helps alot!

muit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:57am

Wow, incredible art and incredible idea. Congratulations

Sanguine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Super neat! Killing the dudes was very satisfying and I enjoyed growing the bloodworm. Reminds me of Snakebird. I would like the game to be a bit more punishing though, as it was rather easy now.

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

This is bloody wonderful. There aren't many LD games that focus on a novel mechanic and do it well, but this is one of them. And you still had time for decent music and art.

I mean, it feels a bit glitchy sometimes? But honestly, it hardly matters. Great game.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Really amazing game. Excellent on all parts!

mcccclean says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41am

This game is EXTREMELY delightful! Snake + gravity is such a clever idea and the sounds are just adorable. Great work!

danialias says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:35am

Wow! What to say! Probably the best so far. Fun to play, smart, and the best sounds effects ever :D. No, really, this is a very, very good one. If I have to say something, at the beginning I didn't realise I could go up using the grids. Apart from that, I'd love to play a full version of this and keep squashing those smalls soldiers :D. Congratulations!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:26am

Wow! This is my favourite entry on this LD so far! game mechanics is very cool, that trock with reversing and platfoming, whoaaa! Love the sounds but they-re not fot the game. I mean maybe will be better if you've used more shiotune sounds. Anyway, game is awesome, nicely done!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:37pm

This was fantastic, loved the artwork and sound! It took me a little bit to understand that the red background stuff allowed me to climb, but I got the hang of it eventually. Overall it was really charming and fun, I really enjoyed being able to switch sides because it allowed the game to be a lot less frustrating and more forgiving. :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:53pm

This is a great entry. It took me a minute to figure out the mechanics, but once I did I really enjoyed the level layout and how this was executed. The worm is adorable, and the vocal SFX are wonderful. Great job.

cambrian_era says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:05am

I really dug the core mechanic and the graphics and pew pew sounds worked well. I had some trouble with the controls, which, I'll be honest, were a bit tough to describe. Maybe like, more feedback (visual, maybe?) on why I can't press a certain direction might make it feel better, rather than thinking, "Why doesn't this work?" As I played I GOT the mechanics, but it took me a little bit.

andreymust19 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Nice hand-maked sounds!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This is great, one of my favourite entries so far. The graphics are great, loved the colours and the audio was fun. Liked the movement of the player but did take me a bit to figure out how it worked. Would be good to have a little intro tutorial. Great game though, nice job.

Unept says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Great take on snake/snakebird mechanics! Love the whole thing. The pixel art, gameplay, theme tie-in. I played it slowly and didn't get shot much, so it was easy to get everywhere. So my first thought was to have more dire consequences to getting shot, but in the end it balanced out, as the end coins required being longer. Plus the game would be different if I was trying for speed. So ya, great balance overall. Perhaps another enemy type would be interesting, but whatevs, 48 hours. Great job.

zenmumbler says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Excellent compo entry. The voiced sound effects are funny and the ploinky bgm didn't get on my nerves. Well implemented game of an interesting take on the snake-iverse. I got 50 coins in 2:55. Nice.

Kerdelos says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:17pm

At first I didn't understand well how the physics worked but then... Damn this is a cool gam ! good job !

Headmade says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Wow, really brilliant mechanic!

the31 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Wow, this is the best. It took me a little bit to realize why I was only sometimes falling, but I figured it out soon enough--brilliant! Would be nice if the camera didn't snap (falling seemed kinda chunky) but that's really minor of course. Freshest game I've played in a while.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Great colors, gfx, cute sound effects and pretty fun base mechanics make this a really good game :) Really reminds me a lot of Snakebird, do you know it? Otherwise you should def try it out! Contentwise it's a bit short I suppose. That's my main critique. Especially because the game is relatively easy and straight forward. Maybe a good puzzle or interesting (boss)fight would've changed that? I also want to mention that, although unsignificant, the camera panning seemed very fitting to me. I noticed it at some point and thought that it's really good as it both lerps and advances in the direction you last pressed (I think).
Anyways, good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]