Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kaiju no Ai: Aisuru no Monogatari

by Hizu - Jam Entry

Destroy the city being a monster.

A Game that you control a little dinossaur caller "DinoCrodo".
And Destroys the city to find the True Love.


Developers:

Jonas Ferreira
Nicolas Zaparolli
Rubens Muller
Leonardo de Souza

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2056Coolness24%

Comments

guiguis1 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:09am

Nice gameplay guys!!! it's a funny game :D

FrederickK says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Overall pretty great!
Loved the ending HAHAHA! Very cute! :D
Good job guys!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03am

Nice gameplay with three types of attacks and the last stage with runner.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:25am

Cute character design! Even though the jump wasn't used for anything, it was nice to be able to flip around while walking forward. I liked the use of classical music (Girl from Ipanema in particular made me happy), but you might want to mention when you borrow game assets in the description, so people don't consider them in your score.

The time-pressure of the last stage made it a nice boss, and I had to be careful of when to use my special attacks. It'd have been nice to have that pressure in all the levels, maybe faster in later levels; without that, there wasn't really anything providing a challenge, you know? Bug-wise, in full-screen mode the game didn't take my aspect ratio into account, and I couldn't see everything despite it being smaller-res than my monitor.

Nice work, and thanks for putting this together! I had fun.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Very good game! simple and solid fun, well done =D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:53pm

A fun arcade-y game - the jumping had a mind of its own at times, but otherwise easy to pick up and play!

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I loved the music and the Street Fighter-esque level selection screen -- they were awesome!

Would've been nice if the difficulty ramped up a bit more gradually -- the first two levels seemed impossible to lose, and the last one was quite challenging.

Nice ending, too!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Controls are frustrating. I'm fine not being able to move and attack at the same time, but why does moving BLOCK my ability to attack? Also, you should note that the game has to be run at 16:9 resolution instead of 4:3 - the final building in the first stage is invisible otherwise.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:11am

Very cute game! Art is very nice, though not very coherent (monster is very detailed while the rest is pixelart). The final stage was really fun while the others were too easy.
Jumping was really unnecessary (though the animation was cool), and it would be nice to attack while attacking, but it was cool to have three different attacks!
One thing that I thought was weird was that the buildings are not exactly in the same plane as the monster.

Anyway, it was nice game!

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:08am

I love the audio and it is fun overall. Controls confused me for a while but I finnally got through.

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Intense! Classic monster action

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]