Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstrous Bosses

by Drauthius - Jam Entry

Synopsis:
Finally it's your time to be the boss and make the decisions. The only problem is that your employees are lazy and slow. It's up to you to micromanage them to make sure that they keep working. Once you've sapped all their energy, it's time to fire them to free up your budget so you can hire new employees, and continue earning your company money.

Background:
Created by my girlfriend and I during 72 hours. This is our second Ludum Dare, and we spent more time on the graphics this time around. We wanted to add more mechanics, but couldn't think of anything good in time. Feel free to add your suggestions and opinions. :)

Tools used:
Code: Lua & LÖVE 0.9.2
Graphics: Adobe Photoshop & Aseprite

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#301Humor(Jam)3.22
#341Innovation(Jam)3.26
#455Theme(Jam)3.55
#466Overall(Jam)3.28
#532Mood(Jam)3.12
#563Fun(Jam)3.00
#572Graphics(Jam)3.30

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

404 broken link. :/

GrizzlyGenya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

broken link.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:32pm

meh broken :C

tompudding says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Great idea! Loved the music and the art too, the evil boss was suitably monstrous. The energy bar looked a bit hard to read for me (red green colourblind), but otherwise it was easy to understand what was going on. I would liked a few more options, maybe ring an employee to chew them out? Increase the price of the coffee?

mitkus says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Good take on the theme. A bit too fast for my taste, but a really nice game.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Great game indeed!, very funny and addictive. Good job! ;)

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:24pm

I had a lot of fun with this! Great job!!

Pomb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I like the mechanic of people depleting their energy but why do they regain energy? Cool idea though

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Great concept, great program. This is a wonderful game. = )

superfluous says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I really liked the idea behind this, but I was not good enough at it to get too far into it.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I really liked this game :-) Played very smooth , just couldn't keep my workers busy enough and got myself fired. Want to get good enough to be Diablo ;)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:41am

That was really good. It was a bit rough at times because it felt like the click boxes were a bit finicky, but its a fun game that felt like it would be right at home as a mini-game in the space quest franchise.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Thanks for the comments. We ran out of time to add more mechanics or depth, but feel free to come with suggestions. :)

They regain energy because they're slacking!

undef says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Great idea! Very innovative.

Jerre says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Very funny Idea. Graphics nice. The game over came too unexpected for me every time

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

jk5000 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:07pm

A great idea that is well executed.

Demy says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Cool idea! A little bit hard to control everyone when you need to fire someone at the same time.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Awesome entry! Extremely well polished, loved that even the workers were technically monsters. :D

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Reminded me of actual work. Very good!

Daukan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Nice game! I like the idea and the challenging gameplay. The music was nice and the graphics and style was good. It reminded me a bit about Pink Floyd The Wall.

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Pretty simple, I like the premise.

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Not too sure whether I should laugh or cry. I worked for someone like that up until recently.. ANYWAY, enough about my life story. I loved this submission. Make a full game of this for HTML 5 and you will be praised by the many stressed out employees

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I like the background music :-), game idea is also fun. Cool entry!

local minimum says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I liked this game, and pacing would have been nice too for me, but I couldn't fire the employees. Having that blinking red bar I put them next to me over the door, I tried the way they were coming in, but I couldn't get rid of them. So that way it felt like it lost some game aspects to me. Unfortunately. But in all other aspects. A nice game. If one could reorganize the workers by difference efficiency philosophies, hire motivational coaches to come "cheer" them up etc. Those would be cool bonuses of bad-bossing.

ManuSaiz says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Hilarious, I liked it a lot!

reiknight says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Just awesome. You only use the mouse but one of the best games of this ludum in my opinion

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Good concept. Interesting graphics and music. It was just a little bit to fast for me. (increasing the click boxes on the stations and workers would be a good addition).

CiderPunk says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:59am

Cool idea but some of the clicking felt unresponsive, e.g. half the time I couldn't drop an imp in the firing office

careless says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:36pm

A nice idea, very hard to manage more than like 3 workers. Got very tough very quickly. A unique take on the theme.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:47am

Great idea, but the downtime of firing a monster is just a little bit too high - it happens too often and the others are idling at that point, leading to your own demise. With a little bit more polish would be absolutely cool :)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Nice entry! Character design is funny!

nassi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:00am

Nice concept. Would've been cool to have a bit more feedback and polish on the state changes of the employees. Managed to get to 330-something points on my second try, still a long way to reach the top of the leaderboard.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Would have loved some clearer UI explaining what was going on, the workers just seemed to stop working without any real indication, took me 3 tries to realise this was why I got gameover. Could have used a bit more interaction than just clicking and dragging, but I guess that might just be down to the type of game it is. Controls also got a bit annoying when you couldn't click workers or sometimes it wouldn't let you drag them. Still, a nice idea with some nice graphics. Good job.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:02pm

I love the game personally. The idea of working with corporativism, and the connection of bad working pratices with monstruosity, makes me hope neither of the authors of this game has had any bad experiences in a corporative environment! The metaphore alone makes the theme shine personally. Wished it was somewhat clearer how the monsters react to the work positions, and also that there wasn't the gap in time for the handling of workers while firing, I feel it breaks a bit the flow personally. But nothing that makes a great idea less interesting, a great entry you two!

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Really like music and the graphics but I felt like there could have been more of a difficulty ramp, it was initially very difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]