Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

That Fateful Night

by Azure_Kyte - Compo Entry

That Fateful Night is my entry into Ludum Dare 33, and my second game made for Ludum Dare!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Va0KHKjjldk = A short video demonstrating most of the Intro

That Fateful Night (TFN for short) follows the story of young girl and an enigmatic person who just so happened to break into her house.

From there, it is up to you to locate the girl and try to stop her from snitching! If you can't though, that's okay (Because it will never happen), but you can take out revenge on her before the police arrive. The parting words at the end differ depending on your performance in the game, so experiment a little (but not too much (please don't break my game!)).

Over the past 40 hours I have had a lot of fun making this little game come to life. The concept changed a little bit over the course of development, but for the most part, it was rather smooth sailing. My favourite part of the experience was seeing and hearing the intro sequence come together. The Sine wave scream fits so perfectly.

I hope you enjoy playing!

CONTROLS:

A/D: Move left/Right
W: Enter door/Climb Stairs
E: Interact
Press LMB: Use Axe (Holding for a second gives a faster and larger swipe)
A/D + RMB: Dash (Used for evading attacks (bullets, pesky knives))

BUGFIXES:
V1.01:
- Fixed shots and footsteps being audible after death.
- Fixed application not exiting post-death.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Theme4.33
#22Mood4.08
#55Overall3.88
#153Fun3.54
#163Graphics3.79
#321Audio3.04
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

OkaDoka says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Absolutely loved it! Short yet tense, gah, fantastic job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I really loved the exploration aspect, and the fact that you can move from house to house is interesting. The rain effects are trippy yet cool. I would've thought that this game would be marked as inappropriate for some users as it is quite gory, but it was fine for me.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Cool graphics, intense little thing :D

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:02pm

@Anaglyph, I thought I had marked this game as inappropriate. Thanks for the heads up.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Great humor.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Really cool, only nitpick: the shooting during the gameover screen was annoying. Other then that, had great fun!

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:11pm

@mantis Yeah, I need to fix that. I'll be submitting a slightly fixed version soon that adjusts the volume on death, as well as fixing a bugged timer. The game is meant to exit on death and it doesn't do that at the moment, either.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07pm

So intense... Why was startled by what happened? Great impact!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great concept and I loved the thought put into it, it had nice atmosphere too. It was also a nice take on the theme.

mfagerlund says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I *really* wanted to kill that little girl. I thought it was expected of me. The Nuremberg defense, anyone? Nice job!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

Solid 5's all around. I feel the horror genre is hard to pull off and too many people take a slasher approach. Blood and guts are good for shock, but not actual fear. I felt it in this quick and simply animated game. Fantastic.

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:06am

Nice game, I actually got scared at some point lol, nice graphics. Good job.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:50pm

I think your sound design needs some work. I turned myself in so I'd never have to hear anyone scream ever again. Apart from that, it was fun in a unique way. Kudos!

jacobturn says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:02pm

the game was... very dark

dmcfarline says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Got stuck in the first room for a while as I kept trying to open the door, but didn't realize I needed to move further left, quite liked the graphics, the footstep sounds and the sudden character switch

gilborn says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:06am

Very cool, great mood / theme. It can be so fun hunting and killing a little girl :-)
(From my point of view, it would be better you write less about the story in the comment - you spoil the shock of finding the parents killed a little bit; and it was executed so good in the game :-)

ripter says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:22pm

That was amazing and dark. I loved it. I had to try every ending. :)

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:06pm

A great, intense experience. It is short but sweet, and I love how the mood is spread in this game. Pixel gore is something quite interesting, and I loved the openness of this experience. Didn't feel like a Ludum game, it felt quite finished in my opinion.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Oooh really atmospheric :p When the killer appeared it made me jump!
I like the sound when you kill people too, also nice pixel art!
Really nicely put together, goooood job!

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Followed the theme well. Great mood and story. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]