Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Museum City Boat

by geckojsc - Jam Entry

As a rare species of monster, you are locked in a glass cage in a museum, for tourists to come and see. This is clearly no place for a monster like yourself to be!

"Museum City Boat" is a game about rampaging through the streets and doing monster things, like smashing cars and chasing people.

I'll leave you to figure out the 'boat' part.

Controls:
Move the mouse around and see what happens :)

Challenges:

- Cause 12 points of damage to infrastructure
- Beat the game without being seen by any cameras or people
- Fall into the sea (the game is not designed with this in mind, but it can happen!)

Mac/Linux download requires LÖVE 0.9.2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Audio(Jam)3.94
#87Fun(Jam)3.79
#104Humor(Jam)3.75
#215Overall(Jam)3.61
#231Theme(Jam)3.82
#275Mood(Jam)3.47
#304Innovation(Jam)3.30
#395Graphics(Jam)3.65
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

architect404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

fantastic soundtrack! cute game, satisfying to destroy the environment, nice touches like avoiding the cameras, just wish the actual rampage was a little longer. nice work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Adorable game!

It would work better if it was a little longer, but great work!

Very satisfying destruction, and I love the "Wee" sound effect when you destroy things.

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Yeaaah ! Destroying everything ! The music is really good !

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Good game, played like 4 times, i can´t fall to the sea.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Really cute and unique art style, I löve it! The concept was funny and fit the theme well. Overall a great entry, good job!

The game has an insane amount of polish, so many small details that just make it feel very satisfying to play. Specially nice to see the amount of suitable audio that is in the game, something that is usually neglected in game-jams. I also enjoyed the statistics that you get in the end.

A really great entry!

geckojsc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Thanks! The audio was all recorded/synthesised/processed myself (I was literally in the kitchen at 1AM going 'rawr' and knocking glasses together).

My only regret is not being able or finding the time to make a 'glass smash' sound :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Very nice! Definitely one of my favorite games for the jam. Loved the character and sound effects :D

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47am

The game is very well made. The camera especially. But the gameplay, artstyle, and sounds are adorable. Very nice entry. :)

Karai17 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:08am

Cute game, I liked the wiggly guys. ;)

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Very cool game!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

So cute! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/tto3rRaLBXQ

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:48am

Quirky and fun game! Really like how the music changes when you exit the museum. I think it's hard to play fluently when you control everything with the mouse.

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:21am

The music is really good. Very well made game, specially the smooth following of the camera. Good Job!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Man, only downside was that it was too short. :[ Well done!

Indiestry says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:40am

Everything looks so adorable, and the music is well fitting!
Nicely done!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:43am

Great entry, good job!

Resonious says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:06am

Haha, this is great. Feels pleasantly unconventional.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:09am

Amazing soundtrack!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:06am

Very nice. I really like flipping cars in this game. It took me a while to discover that I could duck. I like how the game taught me that via a tank that wasn't passable until I learned that skill. It felt right and not frustrating.

Cool art style and sound and fun to play; nice work.

Stending says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:11am

Great entry! I loved the musics, the polish! Nice little physics too!

GFM says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Really cute game! That songs fit perfectly with the game's mood.

One minor complaint is that I'm not quite found to mouse controls... This game could be perfectly mapped to keyboard or gamepad controls... But that's really just a personal preference...

Insality says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:17pm

This monster is so cute!Interesting controls, but very short game
anyway, i enjoy this! good job

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Loved it, was a cute little game. Great art style and overall aesthetic, fun gameplay, just wish it was longer! Nice work!

Wertle says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Any game that has an achievement to destroy abstract art is the game for me!

The shuffle animation was so adorable that I couldn't stand it, and the main character looks like a delicious chicken mcnugget.

I think being more explicit about the controls would have been a good idea since it took us a while to figure out the ducking mechanic. Overall really short, but really fun to play. Great game!

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Annoying controls and fairly short, but had a lot fun playing this entry! Control explanation would have been helpful :)

Nov 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I included your game in an article of my favorites and added a trophy to your profile! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-1-uzbzpjci

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]