Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

50 DKP Minus!

by Archonthewizard - Jam Entry

50 DKP Minus puts the player in the shoes of an MMO World Raid Boss....Monster! Defend yourself against hordes of online MMO players trying to get credit for your kill to get a chance at scoring some epic lootz.

Controls:
"A"/"D" or Arrows to move LEFT and RIGHT
Automatically shoot down while not moving
Once learned, use any of your 4 skills by left clicking on their icons

Features:
Epic Boss Music
Partially formed talent tree
Choice of skills (assuming you like one of the 2 options)

This is my 2nd Ludum Dare Entry. I worked solo using C# in Unity 5.1. I entered the jam only because I can't art. I got the art and audio from the interwebs (most the asset store).

Last time (Ludum Dare 32) I was extra cautious and gave myself way too much time. This time I barely finished the game, and unfortunately wasn't able to polish it much. But I'm hoping to finish it soon including a mobile version. I welcome ALL feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#137Fun(Jam)3.64
#186Theme(Jam)3.88
#236Overall(Jam)3.58
#401Mood(Jam)3.30
#477Innovation(Jam)3.06
#741Humor(Jam)2.36

Comments

candlesan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55am

So much fun! Loved the ability design and enemy design.

ArKoWhale says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:09am

awesome game, but when you make an enemy that is looking sideways go back they don't change the direction they're looking at.

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Very cool take on the theme. Upgrades were super fun. Thanks for making it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Pretty fun hey. Shame that I won't get loot after the raid cos' of 50 DKP minus... ;D

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I liked the graphics and music, but sadly I cannot rate those. However I do find the upgrades and the different enemy types.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38pm

A really fun game, I played this one a lot. The gameplay is simple with a lot of variety and very solid execution.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Very fun! This is an interesting game, I can't say I've seen one like this. Really good, played this for much longer then some other games.

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Cool entry! It gets much more interesting once you have some power ups! The lower levels seemed a bit slow, which made the grind for upgrades more painful. I really like this idea, it definitely has some potential. Nice work.

Nek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:25am

Very addicting game,good job.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:42am

great idea nice audio and graphics very good game i liked it

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:42am

Hey nice game I really liked it. Hey check out my game I'm the one that asked for the source code on your stream.

Demy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I could not move anywhere. Dragon was just standing at the place and after mutiple pressing on the arrow key he finally started walking... anf just went to the left side and didn't move after that, no matter what i pressed. (Mac, Safari)

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Nice submit, really enjoined playing this, kept me for while ;) Well done.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I had to play this game based on the title alone. (More dots!) The new skills were cool, and the different enemy types made you strategize. Great work for 72 hours!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Amazing you managed this game in just 72 hours!

iossif says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:40pm

lovely entry! so simple yet awesome with the correct setting. well done.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Sweet little game, played right to the end (summons op!). Nicely done!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Love the scaling of the difficult and the ability powers. Very nice

faemir says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:48pm

This was one of the best games I've played from Jam 33 yet - it's very fun, feels polished and plays really well. You should be really happy with your result!

glimaleite says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:11am

Oh man, I loved it. I liked the gameplay, I liked the skills, and I gotta say, you really put a lot of good stuff in so little time!! Congrats on the great job!

tweedle says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:12am

Really enjoyed this game! Super addicting, and loads of fun!
The skill tree and progression system kept me playing way longer than I should have. Great work!!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:37am

Wow...You did a good job here. The upgrades were awesome! I have been playing more than I thought!

Coruja says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great game, very nice concept and very impressive for a 72h Jam.

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Nice little game, the gameplay is simple but effective.
Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:13am

Wooooa Nice!
I like the gameplay, smooth, enjoyable and deep!
The music is great! And the graphic too!
Well done!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:25am

Fairly basic mechanic, but executed well

Love that you went the skill tree route, definitely cool.

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:53am

Well, I very much liked this game. I do indeed feel like a final boss or something. The enemy variety is huge, the skills and upgrades mean that you can raise the stakes drastically. The way this game deals with death is fantastic - immediately try the level again but with the XP you earned. And it's a very satisfying game to beat. 5 stars for you.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:59am

Really fun! The upgrade system was really entertaining to explore. It captured our attention for way longer than we anticipated. Great job!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:28am

This had been the hardest game for me to stop playing so far! I'll be back tomorrow to play some more. Nice work.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:16am

I like the concept of playing as a raid boss, and the level up system with skills is impressively done as well as the art. Gameplay is kind of slow, though, and needs more feedback for the player.

Atridas says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:14pm

More DoTs! More DoTs! I loved the game and played it through the end! Felt like a boss (pun intended).

Check our game, we took a very similar approach to the theme so I think you'll like it ;)

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really liked the game. It felt quite well balanced but still challenging.

ghostlyguru says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Enjoyed it. Good concept and execution. Think maybe the pace is a little slow.. but thats my only feedback and thats just to give some feedback because its nice to give feedback.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Playing the Webplayer on Map, the cursor to drop spells are gigantic, and do not indicate the correct location the spell is going to be dropped. Any ideas as to why this happens? It's pretty annoying.

Other than that, plays like a nice tower defense game. Good job on the spells. They're really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]