Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

YOU MONSTER!!

by MicroMacro - Compo Entry

You are James. You've always been mostly a normal kid. You grew up into a normal life, with a normal job, then, suddenly, one day, you break down. You become trapped in a maze of convoluded thoughts and memories, and for some reason, you remember fragments of your old diary you kept up until a few years ago.
Find all the pages and find your way out of the labyrinth before you get consumed by your inner demons and become... a monster.

You can use the source on any OS if you have Love2D installed (http://love2d.org/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Mood3.80
#161Audio3.42
#275Graphics3.46
#303Theme3.65
#448Overall3.15
#700Fun2.68
#760Innovation2.50
#773Humor1.80
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

Chunck26 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:02am

I really like it! I'm a huge fan of mazes so to see someone make a maze with the monster theme is great.
The music made me feel like I was being rushed or chased by something I could never see....

DarkCart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:47am

Woah... This game.. is beautiful.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:56am

Interesting little narrative game conveying a message. Enjoyed the acoustic music and that there's polish in terms of introduction and even a settings menu on the title screen. The gameplay was pretty basic, but that's okay for the subject matter. I made it out with all 5 pages with about 45% insanity so you could make it increase a bit more aggressively. Maybe not even tell exactly how insane James is down to the first decimal number, because that's a but "too gamey" in my opinion for the subject matter, you hardly can measure sanity. How about displaying something mushy like "feeling slightly odd", "feeling uneasy", "feeling paranoid", "feeling extremely desperate" instead?

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13am

[Copy/Pasted from my comment]
Interesting little narrative game conveying a message. Enjoyed the acoustic music and that there's polish in terms of introduction and even a settings menu on the title screen. The gameplay was pretty basic, but that's okay for the subject matter. I made it out with all 5 pages with about 45% insanity so you could make it increase a bit more aggressively. Maybe not even tell exactly how insane James is down to the first decimal number, because that's a but "too gamey" in my opinion for the subject matter, you hardly can measure sanity. How about displaying something mushy like "feeling slightly odd", "feeling uneasy", "feeling paranoid", "feeling extremely desperate" instead?

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

Thanks for all the positive feedback!
It's making my day!!

To Phil; I think you make valid points and I'll update the itch.io release of the game with further developments.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16am

Wow that was depressing. Great job on mood and music. Don't like the maze gameplay.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:33pm

The story is trying a bit too hard I think. But it's still a very good game.

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very nice!
I think the story wasn't as touching as I'd like it to be (after all the entire game is based around it)
lots of this is sometime the presentation. The plot was wierdly scattered and sort of unrelated enough. Like - what's the connection between his parents, his judgmental-ness and him getting bullied?
It's not as if its entirely unrelated but..
the story implies as if by default all judgmental ppl get bullied or something which is not true, I know lots of judgmental ppl who *bully* others via being judgmental and thus making social problems for *others*. So my point is: it seems as if the game tries to make you assume the worst and also the entire premise was too tragic, to the point it seemed intentional.
Graphics are good.
Theme-wise though it was related though.
P.S: Is it a true story?

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Not entirely a true story

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10am

10/5 notes!

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:47am

Ah, looks like I forgot to reset the note counter if you play again. Pardon that

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

A very nice entry, the graphics are great and help set the mood. The game does a very good job at telling a story and feels well polished with menu and introduction. The music is a huge plus as well.

Reminds me a bit of "horror" games like slender, since you are trying to find notes before going insane. A very innovative take on the theme!

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Beautiful game. It does put you in the mood. Maze is challenging enough but I would make the insanity increase a little bit faster. Liked the music and the simple yet effective graphic style.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Being a maze lover myself I quite enjoyed the game.

As other players have already said, I think the connection between notes could be improved. Being socially awkward or "too honest" are no reasons to earn the title of "monster", so there has to be something else about the character or the people he interacts with.

This entry excels in the mood category through the narrative, music and graphics and is a nice game overall.

Also, congrats for your first successfully completed LD! You should definitely go celebrate!

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I think I'm going to update this game and put the updated version on itch.io. If anyone's interested. :P

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11pm

That acoustic guitar doesn´t seem the best music option when you start, but when your insanity is over 70% it works great. Good job

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It was complete and well made, but it was quite depressing.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Had a good story, but It should have been told differently, maybe not through a maze but rather some other type of game type. The gameplay was a little bit lacking, but that is as expected from a maze. Good job for a first time combo entry though!

bradur says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:15am

The story was interesting, but there wasn't too much gameplay. The graphics were quite good and the soundtrack fit the game. Good job!

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:58am

I wished there would have been more notes on the way. The story could be opened up pretty well with little details.
Overall I liked the plot tho, well thought!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme, but I found the ending to be counter productive. When I found the last note I was all like "oh my... you poor thing" and then I entered the exit and now I get a screen that says everything is A-OK. Maybe it got to do with my personal interprenation but I think the ending should be a bit more on the sad side.

Great mood =)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:35am

I wasn't able to play the game, so I watched your playthrough instead, and really wished I could've played. I liked the story, and the take on the theme, and would've liked to have delved further into it.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:13am

Nice little narrative game here! The text shaking was a nice touch and the writing itself was very well done and believable. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]